We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I Want To Go Back”
other traveler has booked this property
5* luxury with the best accommodation, pool and view on the island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5* luxury with the best accommodation, pool and view on the island
The beautiful coral stone seats by the Gazebo and what a view An incredible nightime photo. Tropical Hideaway and the Penthouse covering the entire top floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
5* luxury with the best accommodation, pool and view on the island
The beautiful coral stone seats by the Gazebo and what a view
An incredible nightime photo. Tropical Hideaway and the Penthouse covering the entire top floor
What a view and all from the privacy of your own outdoor living area.
The moon bar with the swinging chairs for that magical moment
The Infinity Pool is tiled using natural stone pebbles and is heated for all year round use
The stunning Gazebo daybed as viewed from inside the Infinity Pool
The clear waters of the Infinity Pool with it's coral seats and natural stone pebbles
Princess Margaret Beach. Beautiful white sand, unspoilt, safe. A short 20 min walk or 5 min drive
The sunken Pool Bar, the Infinity Pool and another beautiful sunset
The Gazebo daybed has incredible views and is a favourite amongst guests
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing sea views
The Pool patio has plenty of room and is furnished with sunloungers, parasols and floor mats
The lovely open plan bathroom is very private and boasts some of the best views on Bequia
The Penthouse Suite is beautifully furnished and has a lovely hammock
Beautiful Bequia Island as viewed from Peggy's Rock.
The views are always changing as small ships and beautiful yachts pass by
Evenings at Tropical Hideaway are as beautiful as the days are
What a view! The stunning Infinity Pool, the World's largest sailing ship and a beautiful sunset
The World's largest sailing ship as seen from inside the Gazebo
The Penthouse Suite has a huge bed and an adjoining open plan living area
The Penthouse Suite has a beautiful ornate spiral staircase leading down to your own private gym
The very spacious and  luxurious furnished open plan living area
The Penthouse Suite offers absolute luxury, total privacy, incredible views and plenty of space.
Dine Alfresco style with the best views in Bequia right in front of you
The Infinity Pool being filled with water. There are many seats and ledges to sit on and relax
The Infinity Pool has the most amazing views
There are many interesting yachts and sailing boats to look at
One of my favourite views. Sunset over the Infinity Pool. Simply breathtaking
Another fabulous sunset taken whilst sharing cocktails with  new made friends.
The night time ambience at Tropical Hideaway is stunning
The views and colours are forever changing
The World's largest sailing ship as seen from the Infinity Pool
Looking up at the Gazebo and Barbecue area from the path down to Hibiscus Cottage
This is actually a real sunset taken from inside the Infinity Pool
The view from one of the Infinity Studio veranda's
This stunning photo of a busy New Years Eve was taken from inside the Infinity Pool
Evening time in the Infinity Pool
Curved coral stone steps lead down into the heated waters of the beautiful Infinity Pool
Stunning views of the Infinity pool with the Caribbean Sea behind
Be careful you don't float over the edge
Views are always changing as sailing ships come and go
The views looking over the infinity edge are amazing
Looking over the Infinity Pool from inside the sunken Pool Bar
There are lots of places to sit and lie, in and around the pool.
Looking at The World cruise ship right on our Infinity Pool edge
The clear waters of the Infinity Pool with it's  natural stone pebble seats.
The beautiful evening ambience at Tropical Hideaway is as good as the daytime views
The view from one of the Infinity Studio veranda's
Beautiful sailing ships come and go giving us an ever changing view
One of the sunbathing mats on the pool deck
Kayaking on Princess Margaret Beach
Princess Margaret Beach. Beautiful white sand, uncrowded, unspoilt and safe.
The lush tropical gardens in front of the Penthouse gym.
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Princess Margaret Beach. The best on the island, pristine, safe and totally unspoilt
Good snorkelling can be found on the headlands either side of Princess Margaret Beach
Princess Margaret Beach. Crystal clear water, pristine, safe and unspoilt
Lovely Fay selling some of her souvenirs on Princess Maraget Beach
Snorkelling is good around both the headlands on Princess Margaret Beach
The pontoon at Jack's Bar. Princess Margaret
One of the two diving and snorkeling shops on Bequia
The World famous Frangipani Hotel on the recently restored Belmont Walkway
The recently restored Belmont Walkway connects three of Bequia's finest beaches
Ever changing views and ships and sailing yachts come and go
Stunning accommodation, breathtaking views, Incredible sunsets and beautiful sailing ships
Visiting yachts come & go amongst the everchanging colours of the Caribbean sea
Ever changing views and ships and sailing yachts come and go
The Penthouse Suite is simply stunning and will not dissapoint
The lovely open plan bathroom is very private and boasts some of the best views on Bequia
There are several hanging and rocking chairs in the Penthouse Suite
Your view whilst preparing meals.
The beautiful moon bar is the perfect place to have breakfast.
Dine Alfresco style with the best views in Bequia right in front of you
Ever changing views and ships and sailing yachts come and go
Looking down over the pool is simply stunning in the evening.
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing views
The beautiful evening ambience at Tropical Hideaway is as good as the daytime views
Having drinks in the Penthouse Suite watching the sun set. Magical.
Tropical Hideaway and the Infinity Pool with the sun setting
The Penthouse Suite has a well equipped private Gym with the latest 'Life Fitness' equipment
Beautiful and luxurious furnishings throughout
Indoor living area with spiral staircase leading down to the private gym and entrance.
Martin and Julie your hosts on Princess Margaret Beach
Tropical Hideaway has 5 amazing boutique properties
There are numerous boats to have a day trip,  go fishing or sightseeing to a nearby island
Getting married on Princess Margaret Beach is a dream for many
Tropical Hideaway and the Infinity Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Richmond, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stacy D
Northwood, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Want To Go Back”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Hideaway from Jan 12-24th. It truly was the vacation of our dreams. Martin and Julie Mansfield could not be better hosts. From even before we arrived, until it was time to leave, they were welcoming and helpful. We stayed the first 4 nights in the infinity room and the last 7 in the penthouse. The rooms and views are even more beautiful than on the website! We had never stayed at a place so lovely or been shown such genuine hospitality. The Tropical Hideaway sets the bar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merchant7...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Find”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Perfect setting, perfect location, perfect ambience, perfect island, perfect hosts= perfect holiday at a perfect price

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie P
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You wont want to leave”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Tropical Hideaway has to be the best accommodation on Bequia. The individual cottages and penthouse have all been designed, to be private, but to also maximise the breathtaking views over the bay. The stunning infinity pool with swim up bar and stone seats is an ideal location to while away an afternoon. The gardener Marlon keeps the grounds immaculate.
The Penthouse exceeded all expectations. Its beautifully designed with quality furnishings. On the ground floor there is a well equipped gym. A spiral staircase leads you up to the large outdoor living area with hammock, swing seats, internet TV, large sofa area, leading out onto a curved private balcony overlooking the infinity pool and the bay. The kitchen has everything you will need. I loved the open, but also private bathroom, which is situated to the side of the living area. There is a large walk in wardrobe, and the biggest bed I've ever slept in. I cant fault anything about Tropical Hideaway, its perfect!
The beaches, restaurants and town are a 20 min stroll down the hill. All the information you will ever need about the area, best grocery stores , takeaway menus, taxis etc is all in the welcome pack. You can also order bottles of rum, cases of beer wine etc from Martin and Julie to save you carrying it.
If you are looking for a laid back casual island, but with 5 star accommodation then look no further. Im sure the owners have missed a zero off the price, so book now before the realise!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ree1161
NEW MILFORD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

"We had the pleasure at staying at the tropical hideaway in the penthouse suite from November 15th through November 24th. There is so much to say, I don't know where to start!!!! I had been speaking with Martin and Julie for a few months before we arrived. They couldn't be any more helpful and informative. It was my birthday and we were so excited to go to Bequia! When we arrived, we were met by Julie at the airport and instantly we knew how warm and friendly she was. When we arrived at Tropical Hideaway, we were met by Martin and given the "grand" tour. The kitchen and refrigerator were stocked with sodas, beer, water, eggs, bread, lettuce, tomatoes, coffee, tea, sugar, milk, etc, and even a bottle of wine. As far as the penthouse, the bed was huge and comfortable and set up that you could close the doors and put on the A/C if needed. The bathroom took a bit to get used to since it has no doors... not a problem if it is just the two of you, but if you have company, a little awkward. The penthouse was immaculate and decorated beautifully. As far as the view, it was so spectacular! You felt like you were in a postcard! After they showed us around, they invited us for a drink by the pool where we chatted for over 2 hours. I felt like we knew them for years! The next day was my birthday, and we ventured out (rented Julie and Martin's car) and went shopping. Doris's is by far the best place to shop for groceries. Almost anything you want from the states can be found there. Knights is also okay, but I wouldn't even waste my time there, just go to Doris's. She is very helpful and nice and has frozen meats from the US, produce, etc... One stop shopping! When we returned back, we hit the pool.... Breathtaking!!!! The view looked fake... felt like we were frozen in time.... The pool is beautiful beyond belief and we really didn't feel like we needed to leave for any reason! At about 3pm, there was a knock at my door. It was Julie and Martin delivering a gift from my son..... All baked breads from the Upper Crust Bakery with cinnamon rolls, breakfast meat, etc..... Hand delivered! It was beautiful, with a beautiful card, and then Julie said it was only part one and she would be back before we went out for dinner. What I didn't know at that time was that my family was driving her crazy!! My sister had called her in advance to talk to her about a special birthday dinner and Julie took a lot of time with her. The morning of my birthday, my son called her and she organized everything he wanted! At 5 pm, the door bell rang again... enter Julie... with 2 bottles of wine and cheeses, italian meats, etc!!! We had seen her at Doris's that morning, but didn't know she was there to pick up items for my son's gift! Unbelievable! Who does that? This is not a hotel.... but you wouldn't have known it.. They truly love what they do. During our stay, we didn't do much. We ventured out 3 nights for dinner (Bagatelle's, L'Auberge's, and Frangipani's...) The dinner at Bagatelle's was okay (overpriced for quantity), L'Auberge's very good, but out favorite was Frangipanis(pasta dishes excellent!) Julie and Martin also helped us organize renting a sailboat for the day and accepted our invitation to come along... They put us in touch with Hervay (sp????) who was a peach! So much fun (let us drive the boat, kept us out until sunset, just great all the way around!!) We sailed over to Mustique, had lunch at Basil's bar (very good, great rum punch!), then took a taxi over to macaroni beach! What a beautiful beach and secluded... no one was there! We hit a rain storm on our way back, but the "captain" was great and Martin drove the boat while he navigated... Before you know it, we were through it, the skies cleared to the most magnificant sunset you can imagine! We broke out the cheese and crackers and had a little party... What a fun day! We invited Martin and Julie over for dinner one night with another couple we met that were on their honeymoon and had a fabulous time. The kitchen is well stocked and what we didn't have, Martin and Julie brought with them. They even let us borrow their lobster pot. The nicest thing was that even though the house belongs to Martin and Julie, they really hadn't spent anytime in the penthouse. It was really fun having them there and the hours passed very quickly. Most days, we just hung by the pool... no reason to leave... We needed a relaxing vacation and that's just what we got. If we ran out of anything like liquor, beer, wine, mixers, etc, Julie and Martin have actually starting selling it at the same price it would cost you in town, so there was no need to leave. If Julie was going into town, she would always let us know in case we wanted to go....... The only issue I had was that I get bit very easily... mosquito's and insects seem to love me! My husband didn't get bit at all, but being the penthouse is open aired, they seemed to find me! They provide "off" for you and gave me a spray for the penthouse and that seemed to help. It was finally time for us to go home, very sad to leave, but I feel like we met extremely nice people and will see them again! I could go on and on about Tropical Hideaway and Martin and Julie but I would take up pages! It's a fabulous place with fabulous staff and fabulous owners... nothing else needs to be said!!"

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLoni
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the tropical hideaway penthouse suite at the end of July and had the perfect honeymoon!

Starting with the suite:

The penthouse was absolutely gorgeous! The views overlooking the bay were stunning. My wife and I have stayed at many 5 star resorts with views but this one was definitely the best. The balcony has an over 180 degree view of the ocean and the pictures on the website honestly don't do it justice. The suite and patio are completely private. Inside the suite, the bathroom and outdoor shower were really nice. We also really enjoyed going through their library of really cool travel books and photography books. A really cool highlight that we didn't get to enjoy enough was their digital library of hundreds of movies that you can watch on the outdoor patio. Martin and Julie even offered to put any movie on the bigscreen TV by the pool so we could watch a movie in the pool at night. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to try this out, but it sounded like an awesome experience. There is a kitchen for those who wanted to cook themselves. Overall, a perfect suite, they really have thought of everything and I can't think of anything to complain about!

Regarding the property: The tropical hideaway is a complex of a few villas and rooms owned by Martin and Julie who live on site. The pool is shared among the few villas but the pool is definitely large enough to accommodate all the guests. The pool really was the highlight of the tropical hideaway. The pool was an infinity pool with 270 degrees of infinity wall and view. They also had a swim up bar, multiple stools and a poolside daybed. It really was the best designed pool I've ever seen. We had a great time making drinks in the swim up bar and sipping margaritas in the pool!

Regarding the hosts: Martin and Julie really were great hosts! They were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Even though the tropical hideaway is a vacation rental and we didn't expect them to accommodate any of our needs, Martin and Julie were frequently asking us if we needed anything from the grocery store or if we needed a ride downtown etc. They were also extremely helpful in helping us plan activities around the island. We had a great time getting to know them and hearing their interesting stories and can't wait to see them again next time we visit Bequia!

Regarding the island:

If you're looking for the quintessential laid back Caribbean island or "how the Caribbean was 30 years ago" then this is the perfect island. My wife and I have visited many Caribbean islands, and this one was the most idyllic so far. The locals are very kind, the beaches are gorgeous and the restaurants were good. My only negative comment would be that this isn't really an island for partying or clubbing as it is pretty laid back and quiet. But if tranquility and off the beaten path relaxation is what you are looking for, then this is perfect.

Overall, 10/10 stay, by far the best accommodation we have ever seen. Amazing experience and great hosts. Definitely come here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the great hosts.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarrib...
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite 8/25 to 8/31. We had another week booked in Mustique and we did not want to leave. YES! It was that fantastic. The suite is beautifully decorated and equipped with most everything you will need for your stay. A starter welcome package was provided by Martin and Julie and was most appreciated. It consisted of everything that we asked for and more.

Trying to find something negative to say is very hard. The only problem that I encountered with this room was the lack of privacy in the bathroom area. It is an open concept so keep this in mind if you need extreme privacy.

Please do yourself a favor and stay here. You will not regret. However, we really don't want to compete with you on future bookings because we will most definetly return again and again. With that said, we have already booked our February vacation there.

It doesn't get any better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt R
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Value Anywhere”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

More so than any other place we have ever stayed, the Penthouse Suite at Tropical Hideaway met our every need...and a few needs others may have but we don't.
First of all, the suite is huge. If offers the convenience of allowing my significant other to sleep late while I get up early and make coffee without disturbing her. It has a full sized kitchen with a big refrigerator/freezer, full utensils, pots, pans, gas cook top, microwave etc. The place is BETTER than the online pictures you can look at. Everything there is quality. Floors, wood ceiling, appliances, largest bed on Bequia...everything. The morning, and especially evening views, from the balcony are wonderful. It's completely private from other guest bungalows and rooms.
I have to warn you that the price you pay for such space and openness is a few mosquito bites during the rainy season. If you hate the things like we do, probably best to use the spray they provide around the kitchen and bathroom areas before you head down to the pool. We did and it helps a lot. But the bedroom is completely screened in and fully air-conditioned. All you have to do is have Martin close the slats in the jalousie shutters to keep it nice and cool in order to sleep a little later if that's what you want to do.
What I particularly liked, other than the fact everything was so new and functional, were the small touches like the drying rack for towels and clothes, and the really comfortable hammock. If there's a small thing you need I didn't mention, it's probably there as well.
For those of you who are more technology oriented than we are, there are more movies available on the big Samsung TV in the living room area than you can get on Netflix. Better movies too! Plus there's another TV in the bedroom. I confess that we don't watch TV much while on vacation, but you might. It's not the handful of local channels and the pay-for-view movies most resorts offer. It's much, much better. There's music as well if you want it.
We did have a few issues with the individual internet modem in the suite, which worked sporadically. But the guest wi-fi (always good to have a backup in the Caribbean) worked perfectly. Two systems you can access equated into no problems and internet service is critical for me.
We loved the place. We absolutely adored Martin and Julie. We loved the cats and the dog. For us, it was just wonderful to mix a few drinks in the totally modern kitchen and sit on the veranda, go down to the pool below for a late or early swim, and totally relax. Please see my review of Tropical Hideaway as well since I don't want to repeat myself. Somehow TA has the Penthouse Suite and the resort, itself, listed separately.
Bottom line, we got back home two days ago and I've already booked a return trip in February. Some quick advice...a couple of years from now it's going to be hard to get a holiday booking. Better go as soon as you can.
We've pretty consistently paid A LOT MORE MONEY for A LOT LESS ROOM and A LOT LESS QUALITY than this. It's a stellar value for your money. And we're not the only ones who immediately realize that.
In fact, I almost hate to write such a good review because I know I'll be competing with you for a booking once you go there.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The way Martin and Julie treat their guests.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$385
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing