We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Private with Breathtaking View”
other traveler has booked this property
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Hibiscus offers absolute privacy, amazing accommodation and breathatking views Hibiscus cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The incredible view from Hibiscus Cottage. It doesn't get better than this
Hibiscus offers absolute privacy, amazing accommodation and breathatking views
Hibiscus cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
The pool is solar heated and has several seating and relaxation areas
Jaw dropping views that will simply take your breath away
A birds eye view of the Infinity Pool
The stunning Infinity Pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea with Hamilton Fort on the right
A nightime view of the Infinity Pool and Tropical Hideaway villa
Al fresco dining on the patio is simply stunning
This stunning photo of a busy New Years Eve was taken from inside the Infinity Pool
The sunken Pool bar has incredible views over the Infinity Pool and the Caribbean Sea
Another beautiful sunset as seen from the Gazebo
Princess Margaret Beach- stunning. 5min drive or 20min walk to the islands best beach
The crystal clear, safe and warm waters of Princess Margaret Beach.
Good snorkelling can be found on the headlands either side of Princess Margaret Beach
The amazing vaulted ceiling in Hibiscus Cottage
Hibiscus kitchenette is spacious and very well equipped
Al fresco dining on the patio and what a view
Beautiful accommodation with equally impressive views
Princess Margaret Beach. Beautiful white sand, uncrowded, unspoilt and totally safe.
Hibiscus Cottage is well furnished, spacious, light and airy
The Infinity Pool has stunning views over the Caribbean Sea
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing views.
24' glass fronted patio doors open to reveal a lovely verandah with incredible view
The lovely vaulted ceiling in Hibiscus Cottage
The largest sailing ship in the World as seen from the Gazebo
The lovely Gazebo is the ideal place to relax, read or just look at the incredible views
The Infinity Pool is solar heated for all year round use
This stunning sunset was taken from Hibiscus Cottage veranda
Views overlooking the Infinity edge pool are amazing
Stunning views of the Infinity Pool and the Caribbean Sea beyond
A birds eye view of the Infinity Pool. Taken using a drone helicopter
A photo of the Infinity Pool as it is being slowly filled with water
The bedroom area is well furnished with quality oak furniture
The lovely view on Hibiscus veranda as the sun goes down
24' of glass patio doors open up to the most amazing views
Looking up at the Gazebo and Barbecue area from the path down to Hibiscus Cottage
Hibiscus Cottage has a well equipped kitchenette
The Coral stone seats and pebble tiles are a wonderful feature of the Infinity Pool
Another sunset, another day and another incredible view
Another stunning sunset with the largest sailing ship in the World
The recently restored Belmont Walkway joins 3 of Bequia's best beaches to the harbour
The Belmont Walkway. A firm favourite for many visitors to Bequia
The evenings ambience at Tropical Hideaway can be stunning
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest
Beautiful white sand and a pristine empty beach. What more do you want
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Good snorkelling can be found on the headlands either side of Princess Margaret Beach
Excellent food can be found at Jack's Bar, Princess Margaret Beach
The pontoon at Jack's Bar. Princess Margaret Beach
Look out at the beach from Jack's Bar
You could be here looking at these incredible views
The pool deck has plenty of sun loungers, parasols and sun mats
The views are always changing as sailing ships come and go
What a view. Simply stunning
The night time ambience at Tropical Hideaway is stunning
This is actually a real sunset taken from inside the Infinity Pool.
The place to be.... Sunset in or around the Infinity Pool
The Gazebo day bed has stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the Infinity Pool
Floating in heaven as one guest said
Evening time in the Infinity Pool
Martin and Julie your hosts on Princess Margaret Beach
Lovely Fay selling some of her souvenirs on Princess Margaret Beach
There are numerous boats to have a day trip, fishing or sightseeing to a nearby island
Getting married on Princess Margaret Beach is a dream for many
One of the two diving and snorkelling shops on Bequia
The world famous Frangipani Hotel on the recently restored Belmont Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Richmond, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AbigailSh...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very Private with Breathtaking View”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Hibiscus Cottage is very private being located on its own below the pool. There are over sixty steps down to it (and up!) but the extra effort is well worth it when you see the uninterrupted view for the first time down to the wide expanse of Admiralty Bay below. It is superbly appointed and feels very spacious with patio doors across the whole of the one wall making the most of 'that view' We found the kitchen area handy for making the occasional sandwich or toast and local honey for breakfast, but equally the facilities are there if you wanted to prepare a full meal. The attention to detail is exceptional, everything has been thought of from excellent wifi to a very useful washing line behind the cottage. You could spend hours just sat on the balcony gazing at the view, if it was not for Tropical Hideaway's amazing infinity pool. Yes Bequia is hilly, very hilly, but round every corner is a different view, or someone with a friendly wave and smile. We enjoyed walking to Princess Margaret Beach, Lower Bay, Friendship Bay and Port Elizabeth then getting a taxi back to this little piece of heaven in the Grenadines. Finally there is Martin and Julie who are superb hosts always on hand with help and advice to ensure your stay is memorable. Tropical Hideaway and Hibiscus Cottage is very hard to leave and you will want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwjfoster
Alburgh
2 reviews
“Best of Bequia”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

In the case of Tropical Hideaway I'll break my habit of never leaving reviews simply because it really is deserved. The hosts have created a superbly situated and appointed guest house with several room options and a large infinity edge pool that commands expansive views over the main bay. The location is both convenient for Port Elisabeth, beaches and restaurants but also quiet. I should also add that the personal service provided including airport pick-up and drop-off was exceptional.
The cottage we stayed in was very well presented with all the facilities we needed ( except eggs cups!). The whole of Tropical Hideaway is clearly well maintained with professional staff and a gardener and it shows. My wife and I have stayed on Bequia a number of times and know the island well. Quite simply in our view Tropical Hideaway offers by far the best value and I think the nicest place to stay on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, facilities and view.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
549Paul4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A wonderful place, very peaceful. Hibiscus cottage, where we stayed, is very private and has an amazing view. The steps keep you fit! Everything is well-thought out and tasteful, and an extensive welcome pack is provided (food/drink).You’ll probably have seen from the photos that the pool is stunning. The gardens are also lovely. Although the island is small we enjoyed renting a car through the owners for flexibility – e.g. popping down to the market for fish when the conch is blown. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billbaril...
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attention to Details!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our 10th Wedding anniversary at Tropical Hideaway with Martin, Julie and their Daughter Corrie in May and could not have been happier. We spent 4 Nights in Hibiscus Cottage and 5 Nights in the Penthouse Suite, Originally we were only staying for 7 nights but enjoyed our stay so much we asked if we could stay a couple extra nights and like everything else, Martin and Julie were very accommodating. The cottage it self is located at the bottom of the property and is by far the most private of all the rooms. Its a great room with a beautiful covered porch with an amazing view of the bay. You find your self staring out to sea for hours at a time. Its a bit of a hike up to the pool but worth every step. The Penthouse was amazing. Its located on the top level of the main house. The view again is outstanding as it is from every single room on the property, The finishings and decorating are something from a design magazine. Open air Shower, Stone seats , Hammocks, Swinging basket chairs, Exotic woods from all over the world, imported 150 year old wagon wheels for windows etc etc. We have stayed in rental homes in Turks and Caicos, Costa Rica, Belize, Key West and Puerto Rico and this home is by far the most amazing place of them all. The details and thought put into the construction of this home can only be explained as amazing. Its by far the best pool in all of Bequia but I would say its near the top for the entire Caribbean, They have a king sized covered day bed with a plasma TV, They have a swim up bar with a fridge and sink. There are seats and benches all over the pool ensuring you are always comfortable. We were lucky enough to have the chance to meet Martin and Julies Daughter Corrie. If she is home while you are at the house be sure to get a massage or spa treatment from her. We hired her for a private guided island tour that was a major highlight of our trip. That tour went so well we ended up spending 3 or 4 nights on the town with her and her friends (who are some of the nicest people we have ever met) I could go on forever but then I would just be spoiling the surprises that await you if you book your stay with the Mansfield family. Dont worry about the owners actually living on site as they are very attentive to your privacy and take it so seriously they actually have passage ways around the property so they dont disturb you at the pool if they need to get to the other side of the property. If you need advice on meals or places to go just ask, They are a wealth of knowledge. The house is a short drive from town and there are several taxi services available, We didnt rent a vehicle at all while were there and wont when we return next year. There is so much I could write but believe me when I say "if you go to Bequia and stay at Tropical Hideaway your vacation is in great hands". Feel free to PM me with any questions... Now Stop thinking and book your stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the pool...
Liked least: Leaving....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAPALMERA...
CURACAO DUTCH ANTILLES
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“JUST PERFECT !!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

really !!! we had a splendid stay in the cottage with view on admiralty bay and margareth beach, surrounded by trees, so quite, all the windows open, no sound , just blue sea in front....afternoon sun, sunset, each night so different, i think you'll never find better , especially on BEQUIA.....congratulations to the owners for what they achieved......you really have everything in the cottage.....
we are filled with energy after our stay at this place, don't wait to book....go go go go.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and quiteness and the kindness of the owners
Liked least: perfect stay, nothing to add
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H
Deer Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I Don't Want to Go Home ... Ever!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

As we sit at Basil's on St. Vincent awaiting our taxi to the airport we agree that we don't want to go home. Bequia (a short ferry ride from St. Vincent) is in a word ... idyllic. Tropical Hideaway is clearly one of the premier properties on Bequia. The Mansfields (owners) are charming to the core. Their good company coupled with a truly beautiful property high in the hills above Admiralty Bay make for the perfect Caribbean escape. The views are simply spectacular. The accommodations are contemporary and very comfortable. Hibiscus Cottage offers a private experience perched on the leeward hillside. The local Bequia inhabitants are a cheerful and fun people eager to share their island home of which they are quite proud. There are plenty of restaurants and grocers so whether you eat out or dine in you will have many options from which to choose. Taxis are plentiful and relatively inexpensive so you do not need bother with auto rentals. Having visited Bequia many times and achieving notoriety as repeat visitors to Tropical Hideaway it is safe to say we will return ... again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liming in the infinity pool with the owners and other guests
Liked least: Nothing - everything was outstanding
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janey033
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“" Fabulous "”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful find. We stayed here for 9 days and had a wonderful time. The accomodation is immaculate and nothing has not been thought of. Martin and Julie are lovely and have thought long and hard as to what people want on holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and they are very knowledgable of things to do. Tropical Hideaway is well named !! Thats exactly what it is.The pool is beautiful, the views amazing and the company if you so desire is great.We travel extensively and this is probably one of the first places that ticks all the boxes.Nothing has not been thought about in great detail and thatis a rare find these days
Bequia is a beautiful island and the people are lovely. So laid back and easy going. There is as much or little as you want in terms of things to do. So my advice book quickly whilst you still can You won t be disappointed with a vist to Tropical Hideaway. We stayed in Hibiscus cottage but all the accomodation here is just as good .All the extra s ie collection and drop off to ferry, fridge full of food and drink and invites for rum punch all add to the wonderful experience Thanks Martin and Julie You got it so right

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole stay
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$286
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing