We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food but poor surroundings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridgewater Arms

The Bridgewater Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $80
Cuisines: British, Pub, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant and Pub Food at its Best in Beautiful Teesdale Come and enjoy delicious pub food, highest quality restaurant dining or taste the best of Timothy Taylors fine ales in historic surrounding at The Bridgewater Arms, Winston in Teesdale restaurant and village pub. Our excellent cuisine, varied menu and wonderful ambience combine to provide you with a memorable dining experience. If you like eating out, good pub food, an interesting restaurant menu, the best seafood around, tasty real ales and fine wines, then try dining out at The Bridgewater Arms at Winston.
Darlington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but poor surroundings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a table for two in the Restaurant to celebrate a special birthday but upon arrival were told our table was in the bar. This was very disappointing as the ambience in that area was far from romantic plus the fact we felt overdressed to be eating amongst drinkers. Such a pity as the food was exceptionally good however we are unlikely to return because of our experience

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 45Chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    32
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I took my family here to celebrate my son passing out of infantry training at Catterick. My father has eaten well all around Europe and said this was the best meal he had had in England. We all agreed! Staff were welcoming, and the pre dinner real ale was in tip top condition!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steelytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I don`t really like leaving negative reviews, but because other reviews are so good I think I should have my say. It was not so much the food as the ambience and reception we got. We sort of felt as though they did not want us there and we couldn`t wait to leave.
We had been trying to book a table in this restaurant for ages. It is always fully booked. Finally we managed to book a table for 4. Quite frankly - wish we had not bothered. Firstly the bar is very small and very busy. We were squashed into a corner while waiting for our table and making our food choices. The menu is on a blackboard in the bar ??????
When we were taken to our table we were stuck in the corner of a tiny little back room on our own. Obviously the "regulars" were being well looked after in the main restaurant. We all felt quite uncomfortable and neglected.
Now to the food- although it was tasty- the presentation and the service left much to be desired.The food was just put in front of us - no words spoken. My friends had the Lobster Themadore and they said it was very good. I had the Osso Bucco which is served with Risotto and it just looked like the dog had been sick on the plate, although it tasted OK. As for the cheese board , it was tiny for the price they charged.
All in all , we had a very expensive, uncomfortable and not very pleasant evening.
I think if you are a local or a regular you get a much friendlier welcome, but I am afraid we will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vixen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food better location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

great food good staff and nestled in the ashridge esate

recommend you visit

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fine dining at pub prices, a true English gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you're not local it takes a bit of driving to but the place is worth it. I believe the restaurant is a converted old primary school and its originality is not reserved just for the building. The food is locally sourced and regularly updated on a large blackboard by the bar, beside the huge open fire. Predominantly sea food based but it caters for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The food was absolutely stunning. Cooked beautifully with flair and precision this was easily better quality food than most top end restaurants. The chef really knows his onions and every course was beautifully balanced and fresh. The scallops were awesome but to be fair every meal was divine. Stunning British food, served in a quirky old English building by pleasant and knowledgable staff in a relaxed and informal environment. What more could you ask for. Top marks to the Bridgewater Arms. Class act.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridgewater Arms also viewed

Hutton Magna, North Yorkshire
Darlington, County Durham
 
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
East Layton, Richmond
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Bridgewater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing