We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational...”
Review of Surama Eco-Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surama Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surama Eco-Lodge
Lausanne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Inspirational...”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived without knowing exactly what to expect, and certainly without any wild ambitions of seeing wildlife but from the start we were blown away by the lodge and story behind it. The fact that an entire community with no experience of tourism can come together and produce an experience like this is nothing less than inspirational.

Be aware, rooms are basic but more than functional, food is excellent, wifi is free, (something I still can't find in many European Business hotels) and most importantly the beers are cold!

Gary, our extremely capable guide, walked with us from dusk until dawn pointing out wildlife and talking us through the community history. We felt privileged to learn so much. The one thing that impressed me was every time he explained why they'd made one change or another it was due to customer feedback, if only every proprietor could be so humble!

The real highlight was the river boat trip in the morning, make sure you experience this as well!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jhansfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
28
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Surama Eco village for three nights. We made clear to them before we arrived that we really wanted to see the giant rivers utters and the harpy eagle. However, the guide we received was young and inexperienced. We did not manage to see any animals during our stay. This was a big disappointment. The transportation cost to Lethem was really expensive and other surama people hitchhiked with us and still we had to pay for the whole trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tompanilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at Surama. This is a well managed lodge in a wonderful location. We were most impressed with the wildlife viewing and the genuine hospitality of the local Amerindian community is truly a memorable experience. We would love to come back to spend more time
Doug and Ulai Thailand

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent 4 days at Surama during January. The facility is very professionally run and in a beautiful location surrounded by wildlife. Jackie and her team at the lodge are all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and is eaten in quite a communal style which we appreciate. Our guide for the time was Junior and he was both knowledgeable and friendly and he was happy to change our schedule as he found out more about us and what we liked to do in particular. He clearly loves his role and his enthusiasm for the wildlife in the area is infectious and he is clearly very proud of his community and their history. Our day on the Burro Burro river was exceptional and we very much look forward to returning to Surama on our next visit to Guyana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve_an_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you want to visit a true "eco-lodge", Surama is it. The terms "ecotourism" and "eco-lodge" are greatly overused in the tourism industry, but Surama Eco-Lodge fits the definition of ecotourism better than any place I've ever been. In addition, this lodge is very well run by the Makushi Amerindian people of Surama. These villagers graciously open their arms to share not only the beautiful savanna and rain forest where they live, but they also welcome guests to tour their village and learn about their way of life.

We arrived in Guyana without our luggage and spent our first week in the country with only the clothes on our backs. When the folks of Surama heard about our plight, they graciously collected a bag of clothes for us to wear. That is a gesture we will always remember, and it sums up the generosity not only of the residents of Surama but of all the people we met in the Rupununi.

Surama Eco-Lodge is the model for other eco-lodges in Guyana, and when we were there, they were training young people from nearby villages to help them either improve or start eco-lodges in their own villages. The accommodations at Surama are very nice, and the food is wonderful. Lodge manager Jackie Allicock and her staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our guide, Milner, was very knowledgeable, funny, and patient. He guided us through the village, up Surama Mountain, and for a boat ride down the Burro Burro River.

No visit to Surama is complete without meeting Sydney Allicock, a member of the Parliment of Guyana and a force behind the success of the Surama Eco-Lodge. Sydney is a brilliant man and a wonderful story teller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmunsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Though the accommodations are VERY basic, those shouldn't be why you visit. Spent a few days trekking in the rainforest with guide, Milner. He was very helpful and entertaining, he even caught a poison dart frog with his bare hands to insure everyone got a good look at it. I asked about his hands, he said, "No cuts so it won't do anything if I wash my hands quickly." Which he did. Sleeping in hammocks outdoors was wonderful. If you are a city person and hate the outdoors don't go here, if you like the outdoors you will love Surama.

Bring lots of cash, no phone service means no credit cards and no ATM in the interior.

Room Tip: Go on the nature hikes and sleep in a hammock in the jungle, the lodge is nice but the jungle is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really could not give more than average and that might have been stretching things a bit, but Guyana wise it certainly was a cut above average maybe even a cut and a half. There was nothing particularly special about Surama. Just a place to stay. They do have beer which in very hot Guyana is a big plus. There are nice hammocks to relax in during the heat of the afternoon in the upper story of the main building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surama Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surama Eco-Lodge

Property: Surama Eco-Lodge
Address: Surama Village, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Rupununi > Surama Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Surama Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surama Eco-Lodge is a community tourism project operated by the Amerindian community of Surama in Guyana's Rupununi district. Offering basic but clean and comfortable lodging, the Eco-Lodge is the perfect place to learn about Amerindian culture while exploring the pristine Guyana rain forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surama Eco Hotel Surama Village
Surama Eco-Lodge Guyana/Surama Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing