We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preikestolen Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strand Municipality
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Preikestolen Camping
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

By far the most expensive campsite on our trip and it doesn't even provide some kind of sheltered area where campers can cook or spend some time when it's raining. Check out time at 11 with no exceptions and the fact that the ground was more sand and dirt than a real lawn for tents made this stay by far the most disappointing. The closeness to Preikestolen is definitely taken advantage of.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    51
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice campsite but for us too large and way too expensive! Toilets and showers are clean. Free hot shower. Free wifi available. Excellent location to visit the Preikestolen or take the ferry over the Lysefjorf.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Jolanda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This campsite is situated not far away from Stavanger and very near the famous Prekeistolen (the Pulpit Rock). It is a perfect base point for exploring Lysefjord.

Pros: Camp and all utilities were very clean and new. The warm warm shower is free of charge (biggest pro). The reception and small shop was open till 22.00, free wifi was provided.

Cons: There is no kitchen, so you can´t cook your meal indoors (biggest con). The ground is rocky, so you have to really look for a good place to set up your tent.

Room Tip: You will need a tool (e.g. small hammer) to put pegs into the ground when setting a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the largest campite on our tour of Norway - and we tried it even though both the Lonely Planet and the ANWB (Dutch ADAC) cast some doubt about its quality. We generally walk around a campsite before registering and decided to stay. Likely it is the new management (Dutch I expect given the number of Dutch staff) that brings this campsite back to life. It has a large area with non marked spaces, for tents and trailers. Most RVs end up on the sites closest to the reception building - likely for the wifi and satellite reception.

When we arrived it was dry after a couple of days rain and the fields where a bit soggy - but as there are no marked spaces, you can adjust easily and find a good spot.

Another clever action was the expansion of the washrooms. One of the remarks of the guides is the lack of sufficient washroom space, but through addition of two large containers with showers and toilets - no issue anymore. Free hot showers - which I think are a necessity for any campsite.

Location is its biggest advantage -just a couple of kilometers from the entrance to the Preikestolen trail. There is a bus stop outside the campsite as well.

Room Tip: I would drive down a bit on the grounds as the fields further away offer more space and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Unsurprisingly given that this site is adjacent to Pulpit Rock, it was the busiest we encountered on our camper van tour. Nevertheless it is huge and exceptionally well organised. The latest Lonely Planet Guide casts some doubt on the camp ground but I suspect it has since had new ownership and investment. The reception area, cafe and shop are excellent and the service particularly helpful. It had a nice atmosphere and is highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strand Municipality
7.8 mi away
Lilland Hotel
Lilland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
18.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Airport
Scandic Stavanger Airport
#1 of 5 in Sola Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
12.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Byrkjedal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Verkshotellet
Verkshotellet
#1 of 1 in Jorpeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.0 mi away
Florli 4444
Florli 4444
#1 of 2 in Forsand Municipality
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preikestolen Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preikestolen Camping

Property: Preikestolen Camping
Address: Preikestolvegen 97, 4100, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Strand Municipality
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Strand Municipality
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Preikestolen campingsite. Our campsite is the nearest to Preikestolen in Ryfylke. We have a wonderful place with large areas to stay and first class and clean facilities. During the main season fresh bread (and rolls) are for sale. In the restaurant hot meals are served, including a Norwegian speciality, also small pizzas, coffee, tea, beer, wine and soft-drinks etc. There is also a shop for requirements such as milk, butter, cheese, etc. souvenirs, and real Norwegian sweaters. Surrounding activities: Golf, fishing, mountaintrails, horseriding, boattour on Lysefjord etc ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing