We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER RATED & OVER PRICED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spa-hotell Velvaere
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I booked a spa weekend as a surprise for my wife's birthday. What a dissapointment, firstly the place was very understaffed, I think I saw the receptionist/bar woman/waitress around every corner I turned. No wireless Internet in the room, when we asked if we could connect to the Internet in our room we were given a cable which was about 300mm long, it did not matter anyway as the socket in the wall was broken. We stayed for 2 nights & our room was not cleaned during our stay the cleaner came at 15:25 on the Saturday but she finished at 15:30 so we just got new towels. The room was very sterile with zero charm & my iPod has a larger screen than the TV in the room. The spa was also a dissapointment, they messed up our bookings, when we checked in on the Friday we asked what time our spa treatments began on the Saturday? They told us 13:00. We arrive at the spa 13:00 to be informed that we were late, it started at 12:30 & they were booked up the rest of the day so we did not get the full spa treatment we had booked 2 months before. The staff informed us this is a common occurrence, no apology. It is such a shame because it is such a fantastic location the only saving grace was the food which was very nice & the bed sheets very soft & comfy. I do not mind paying hard earned cash for good service & high quality but that weekend cost me over 10,000,- nok & I can honestly say it was not worth a 1/3 of that price. I will certainly not be recommending this spa/hotel to anybody I know.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel's focus is on female-oriented spa treatment and relaxation, but most of their guests are actually there on business and conferences / seminars. It would be desirable if the hotel also focused on these guests. There is no WiFi in the in the rooms, and no desk / chair where you can sit down and work, and inadequate lighting. No dustbin in the room, only a small one in the bathroom. The location by the fjord is great, and my room was impeccably clean. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom - a gadget I rarely use, but I needed it here, as I had to walk along an open porch to get to the breakfast room - doing that with wet hair (after your morning shower) in minus 5 degrees C was not tempting. This open porch could - and should - easily be glazed in. As I was part of a conference group, we had set lunch and dinner. The meat for the first lunch was far from juicy, and the portions very small. For dinner the food was fine, but portions still small. The waiter did not ask us what we wanted to drink, and when people asked, they were told that they could order drinks in the bar, if they wanted anything else than water! Would be pretty chaotic if 50 persons left the table simultanously for the tiny bar, while food was being served! - so most of us settled for water. I have never experienced anything like that before, even in the low-service country of Norway. One of the waiters was stinking of old sweat, both days - should be quite unnecessary. The reception and conference department was understaffed, but they did their best to help us. Prices in the bar were stiff, even for Norway. Did not use the spa facilties / treatment, which were available for stiff prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigmundm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night while at a business meeting at the hotel, travelling from UK. Location was fantastic for our meeting. The inspirational views from the 'penthouse' meeting room added to our meeting in a positive way. Service was great, rooms comfortable and food was superb.

If I come back sometime with my family we would certainly try and come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnowls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Carina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bereist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hjelmeland Municipality
24.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 26 in Stavanger
475 reviews
24.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 26 in Stavanger
875 reviews
24.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 26 in Stavanger
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Lilland Hotel
Lilland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tau
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spa-hotell Velvaere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa-hotell Velvaere

Address: Vaagavegen 44, 4130, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Hjelmeland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hjelmeland Municipality
Price Range: $135 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa-hotell Velvaere 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the fjord in Hjelmeland in Ryfylke, situated along scenic National Tourist Route Ryfylke (Road 13). 60 Hotelrooms/apartments with seaview, included 30 rooms with a balcony. Indoor and outdoor restaurant with local food. Small beach, private harbour / marina, boat rental. Spadepartment with over 40 kinds of spatreatments. All guests has free access to the spabath which includes a small heated relaxingpool, massagepool, cold water pool, steam sauna and finnish sauna. Children are very welcome but because of the quiet zone we have llmited hours for children in spabath. Popular activties in the area: Mountain hiking, Fishing, Bycicling. We are located near famous attraction such as Preikestolen/Pulpit Rock, Trolltunga and Kjerag. Only 1 hour to Pulpit Rock. A Perfect Place to stay if you want to visit many of Fjord Norways attractions. Stavanger - Appr. 1,5 Hour with car Preikestolen/Pulpit Rock - 1 hour with car Trolltunga/Hardanger - Appr. 2 Hours with car Bergen - Appr. 5 Hours with car Kristiansand - 4,5 hour with car Oslo - Appr. 7 Hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Spa-hotell Velvaere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing