We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kjeragbolten Adventure!”
Review of Kjerag

Kjerag
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kjeragbolten Adventure!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Norway (Stavanger) in particular to visit Kjerag and Preikestolen. We went tp Preikestolen on the first day and attempted to go to Kjerag on the second. Because it was so late in the season, (they close the road to Kjerag in winter) the buses had already stopped going out to the trail so we rented a car.

It is a two hour drive to the trail head, however the first time we tried, we got almost there (about 30 minutes more), but there was a road closed sign and a man next to it. Come to find out, the week before there had been a rock slide that cover the road and they were still fixing it. He said the road was only open at 7-8 am and 4-5 pm. So we decided to go back and try again the next day. So moral of the story, keep up with local news to make sure all roads are open. There is a ferry that you can take all the way up the fjord, but it was completely booked because of the road closure.

The second day we got through at 7 in the morning. The drive is lovely, though a bit scary at times. We got to the trail head and it is 100 nok; however, we did not have any coins and it is coin only. Also, the restaurant and park info was closed so we didn't end up paying although we intended too. We had no way to do so. We even waited until 9 am to see if someone would come, but I think because the season technically had ended...everything was closed.

The hike is quite strenuous. It going practically straight up for a good bit and then flat and then up again and so on. We hiked in tennis shoes that had decent grip, but I would suggest something more like hiking boots as it can be slippery. The day we went was gorgeous...no fog...clouds...just the beautiful sun. There are chains to help, but beware that some of them were loose. We pretty much used them only when absolutely necessary and always tugged on them first just to be sure they were in there good. The trail is very well mark with red "T" (Turistforening). When you come down the crevasse, you see the boulder suspended. It's pretty amazing. Walking out onto it was more scary then actually standing on it because it's so narrow. We had a blast though. And We did it!! It took us a good 5 hours roundtrip. Definitely bring a snack and water. It was so worth the hike and feeling the accomplishment! Another must-see in Norway!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Tasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    45
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing and scary”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been to Kjerag 10-15 times, and I still find it absolutely amazing.

The hike to the Kjerag boulder takes 1,5-2,5 hours (maybe more), depending of you fitness, The hiking is going up very steep hills, and it can be pretty hard. It is high mountain, and pretty hard hiking, so you need good shoes, hiking boots is the best, and you need to check the weather forecast before you go and be prepared for a change in the weather.

The scenery on the hike is great, the view of the fjord 1000 meter below is amazing, and if you have the guts to go on the boulder you should do it. I find it scary, but have been on it a few times anyway.

Season, depend on snow, normally the end of May to end of September. Public transport on bus is only from mid. June to mid. August. Check with tourist office in Stavanger. Parking fee is in 2013 Nok 100,-, but there is not any fee to hike in the mountain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank pasto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kjeragbolten - Hop On”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

An awesome, absolutely unbelievable place to visit. It is a boulder stuck between two mountains, suspended approx 1000 mts above an abyss. Looks over the Lysefjord. Need to hike more than 3 hours each way through a rocky and steep terrain. They have chains at certain very steep areas. Good hiking shoes and an extra water proof jacket are a must because you can never tell how the weather is going to be up there. Best time to visit is peak summer Jun/Jul, so you have the maximum chanceof avoiding rain and a wet terrain. When you reach the top you have to hop on the rock and get a picture, to make all your friends jealous. When I looked at the 1000 mtr drop I backed out for a while but after about 15 mins of chickening out I did hop on finally! Totally worth the hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumit-trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Hike”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you like climbing mountains, this would be an excellent choice ! This hike offers everything nature, beauty, emotions when you are at the top. A must go place for hikers. A ferry from stavanger or driver from stavanger to Lysebotn which has quite few cabins and hostels offering accomodation and fantastic views. A climb to Kjeragbolten starts from Oygardstol which is about 15 minute drive from Lysebotn or one can take a taxi or even walk (7.5km)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nammi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Kjerag is an incredible hike. If you are trying to decide between Kjerag and the Pulpit Rock, I would recommend Kjerag because the trail is much less crowded and equally as scenic. The hike is quite strenuous so bring lots of water. I took a turn scrambling onto the Kjeragbolten. My knees were shaking the whole time but it was completely exhilarating and unforgettable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kjerag also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Forsand Municipality, Rogaland
 

Been to Kjerag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing