We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
142
30
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
30
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingjunior suitewould return in a heartbeatluxury hotelset menucar tripnorwegian stylefishfjord countrykind of placesister hotelnew buildingenjoy your staymodern amenitiestwo nightsfjord viewamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Having recently stayed at ‘Storfjord Hotel’ I must say how enjoyable our visit was. Set in beautiful surroundings it is a traditionally constructed wooden building. We have stayed in many Hotels in Norway and found this one to be by far the best.

We had a ground floor double room with a medium sized balcony overlooking a wooded area. This was ideal for my husband who is partially disabled. The décor was perfectly in keeping with the rest of the building and we experienced a wonderful nights sleep. I normally judge the quality of a hotel based on cleanliness and the bathroom facilities & this hotel certainly matched my expectations.

Breakfast took the form of a small buffet which was more than adequate. With only a few rooms in the hotel it is unreasonable to expect anything more lavish. Evening meal was certainly an experience. Being vegetarians we had thought that this would be a problem. However, the chef created a menu for our consideration, which we had that evening, and proved to be delicious.

There is a quiet lounge area where you can take coffee after your meal which also has an extensive collection of local literature. An ideal place for relaxing and planning the next day’s activities.

The proprietors were always available and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

It must be said, however’ that the hotel lies up quite a small unsurfaced road and having your own transport, in my opinion, is a necessity. This said, Storfjord Hotel is very well situated for visiting Alesund, Molde, Geiranger etc.

In conclusion I would not hesitate to stay at the Storfjord Hotel again & I would recommend anyone to stay there to experience it’s many delights.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancsRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were recommended Storfjord Hotel by a friend of ours who had stayed there last year and raved about it. True to his word, this really is the most wonderful hotel.

The owners have paid attention to every little detail, and really went out of their way to make us feel like the place was ours. You really get the feeling that no expense has been spared and nothing was too much to ask. My wife's special dietary requests were kindly received and an exquisite alternative was prepared for her every evening. We had trouble with our rental car and the owners went out of their way to help us deal with the situation and drove us personally to a couple of spots we really wanted to see.

I went with my wife as a romantic getaway because I wanted something completely unique, not just a typical city break or beach holiday. The setting is absolutely beautiful, within lush forest on a mountainside overlooking a huge fjord. We kayaked around an island in front of the hotel as the sun went down and returned to a fantastic dinner and fantastic room.

The hotel was uncomparable to any other place I've ever seen and without a doubt, gets my highest recommendation! We shall most definitely be returning next time we're in Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mishou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The Storfjord hotel is set in a stunning location however there are distinct problems which make me unable to recommend this hotel.Despite being a 'family run' hotel during my stay of 5 days I did not see the owners once.Therefore despite the best efforts of the 'chalet girl" the hotel was soulless.We were unable to ask anybody for their ideas on where to go or the best places to visit.
The set dinner at 395 nkr per person(about £40) was uninspiring and not the quality expected for the price.The breakfast included in the price was poor.No local fruit eg strawberries rasberries.Very little choice.A hot breakfast was extra.
The rooms whilst comfortable(I stayed in the Blabaer room).At nearly £300 per night there were some glaring omissions.
1.Despite wifi being advertised it was not available in the bedrooms
2. No mini fridge to keep drinks cold.(essential after a day's hike)
3. No proper shower.
4No fans available(rooms were exceptionally stuffy and hot)
5.Inadequate lighting in the bedroom.
6.Towels of poor quality and small

All in all a posh website and a stunning location are not enough.
If the owners want to make a success of this fledgling business then they had better make an effort to show their guests that they care by letting the guests see them as well as worrying whether there are a few crumbs under the table

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank balloffire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastalBoat, Owner at Storfjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2008

Regretably this is a fundamentally misleading and false review. This guest claims to have never seen the owner and yet I was in fact personally assisting them every day of their stay. Regretably one of the serving staff members we had during their stay was poor and but they have since been replaced. They certainly noticed me supervising breakfast as noted at the end of the review. The critisism about the rooms is either false or exagerated: Ventialltion is comprehensive in every room with the balcony doors, many windows and extraction fans in all the bathrooms. Wifi was available in their room ( the signal strength is dependant upon the modem). We provide ample guest refrigeration in the lobby honesty bar. Lighting is both practical and atmospheric. Our towels are standard for all the hotels in this area and the breakfast is full of fresh fruit, smoked salmon and quality meat. Special breakfast orders are indeed extra but catered for.
I distinctly remember this guest telling me personally how much they have enjoyed the hotel and that they would be returning next year. I find this baffling and cannot guess what the agenda was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorfjordHotel, Daglig leder at Storfjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorfjordHotel, Daglig leder at Storfjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews