We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
141
30
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
30
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingjunior suitewould return in a heartbeatluxury hotelset menucar tripnorwegian stylefishfjord countrykind of placesister hotelnew buildingenjoy your staymodern amenitiestwo nightsfjord viewamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 180 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2011

In an otherwise magnificent setting of unmatched natural beauty and lovely, ancient construction design, the hotel was disquietingly absent in its help to get us there by car. It was nightmarish: they didn't answer my frantic voice mail from the road at 5:30 PM, and consequently we never found it that night. The map we were sent was totally useless, and led us to go two hours and a ferry ride further than we needed. At 11:45 PM, we called again and were told to call back in 30 minutes. Naturally we tried to find a police station to direct us. No help. The only ace open in Standa, Norway at midnight was a hotel that thankfully had room for us. When we got to the proper place the next morning, they were very gracious in their words but offered no discount for the trouble we'd been put through. In fact the man at first wanted us to pay for the room and dinner we had missed - because of their negligence! One other thing: the claim that they make that one can drive from Bergen to the hotel in 7 hours could only be done if you drove the Batmobile or had a boat car to avoid the ferries! Count on 9 hours, minimum. Better yet, spend a night on the way because the drive (especially if you include the stave kirke in Vik) provides fabulous scenery! Please note: we're still glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 10, 2011

Dear Guest. I do sincerely apologise and regret that we were unable to answer the phone calls you made. That is a highly unusual situation unfortunately caused by higher than normal demands on reception that day which triggered voice mail.

However I do not feel the hotel was responsible for your problems navigating. We must assume that guests travelling here by car will take some responsibility for their journey by taking a road map or GPS. Google maps estimates the driving time from Bergen to be approx. 7 hours. I understand it took you 13 hours to reach Magerholm (10 mins away from the hotel), which suggests you were touring and not just driving. You then boarded the Magerholm ferry to embark on a 1 hour journey in the wrong direction to Stranda. This was not instructed by the hotel.

We did provide you with the correct road number to take from Bergen at the time you made the reservation (E39). For a journey you are not familiar with it's best to allow some extra time, especially when ferries are involved.

On your arrival it was graciously made clear and without hesitation that you would not be charged any 'no show' cancellation fee for missing the first night of your reservation. Expecting a discount for your disorientation seems unreasonable.

Regardless of the travel problems you encountered we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Annbjørg Brown,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

An exquisite mountain resort lovingly and attentively built and run by its owners. The wooden planks were imported to meet the highest standards for sustainability, the food is locally grown and the rooms are simply elegant. There is no clutter or noise. In fact we received an e mail from the owner warning us that there would be some construction and apologizing in advance for any possible inconvenience this could cause.
The hotel is beautifully situated although hard to find. There are a couple of marked trails that leave from the door and take you up a lovely mountain path where you are rewarded by 180 views of the fjord.
We had two dinners and felt very pampered. The guest book is filled with similar testimonials of adoring fans and many end with the promise to return. Given the distances these people have travelled I would be surprised if they do!
In booking a room you need to know they are all different and that fjord views have a slight additional charge but are well worth it.
It reminded us of old English hunting lodges and luxury cabins in the American West. It is just spectacular for anybody looking for quiet, beauty and inspiration.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aripacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was probably my least favorite property in 2 1/2 weeks in Norway. It is not that the place is not physically very attractive. They have that going for them.

Here's a few things I found troubling given the high price point of this property.

1. Breakfast. Once again, in their price range the offerings are basic. There are a few meats and cheeses, bread, and cereal. The "fruit" was chopped into small pieces which you could attempt to transfer onto your plate with a small fork. My biggest complaint - the price list for any type of cooked item - to include soft boiled eggs. This was the only property in Norway that charged for this item - by egg no less. Many other properties offered fried eggs and bacon.

2. Mis-Information on The Website. The website describes the rooms as having television, DVD, and Wi-Fi. Televisions - yes, but no channels. Too bad if you assume television means watching something other than DVDs. Wi-Fi. Barry said - well, that does not work very well if at all in the rooms. However, these features are listed as a feature of the rooms.

3. The owner-managers. Anna was cordial and helpful. Barry was a non-entity. On my arrival, as he was dealing with some issue, he just let me stand for 10 minutes. He never once bothered to say hello or I will be with you in a minute.

4. Location. Isolated. You are at their mercy for drinks, meals, etc. All of which are very expensive.

I would look elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 30, 2011

We are very sorry you had a negative experience and will take on board your comments where we think it maybe necessary. It is not our intention to mislead in anyway.

Regarding your grievance over our pricing: we honestly feel we are competitive and comparable with other hotels.

We take pride in providing a small but fresh breakfast to our guests who are generally very satisfied with our emphasis on high quality ingredients such as local smoked salmon. As for the fruit being cut up into small portions, the chef has prepared this based on guest preference. We now serve cooked breakfast on request without extra charge.

Wireless internet access is available in all public areas of the hotel free of charge. In the rooms smaller wireless devices such as phones may struggle to find a signal as the timber walls absorb signals. RJ45 sockets and cables are available in most rooms as an alternative for laptops that cannot connect wirelessly.

We will always do our best to prevent any delay in service but kindly ask that people wait their turn if they can see we are attending to another guest who might be taking more time than usual.

Annbjørg Brown, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a nice one night stay out at this quiet remote property. It's an interesting hotel, new wood construction on a beautiful site on a hillside with a view. A nice rural retreat. The staff and owners were quite friendly. Enjoyed the dinner, too, a simple set menu but prepared better than you'd expect for such a small place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stunning views, rooms superb, excellent breakfast in the morning, nice DVD selection, free wi-fi, the best hosts your are likely to find (Anna and Barry) and with new Norwegian airline there is easy access at a good price from London.

Everyone should visit Norway and this location and hotel should top everyones agenda!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimBH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews