We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoil yourself and stay here, it is delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau de Rilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our group stayed in 2 rooms at the beautiful Chateau and we wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are really lovely, elegant, clean, and well appointed. The gardens are very nice. Loved the small town setting, 10 minutes from Reims and 20 or so from Epernay. The staff was very nice, very friendly, and very helpful. We needed to change a champagne house appointment time and they took care of it for us. The restaurant was closed when we were there, but the breakfast was the best we had our entire time in France. The crepes and housemade preserves were delicious. I would definitely go back, and found the price competitive or better than some lesser quality lodgings we had on the trip. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it and especially your room's comfort and the breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 311 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel itself is in attractive settings (although the large fountain in the garden was drained dry),the rooms comfortable with a huge bathroom and the staff (bar one) were very friendly
Having read very positive reviews about the cuisine,we booked one dinner before arriving.
The meal was poor and for what it was, expensive.All courses were unimpressive and when I complained afterwards to the manageress, she was sullen and we got no satisfaction at all. Very poor customer service.
This spoiled our stay and was easily the worst dinner we had in 5 days in the Champagne area
I would therefore not recommend it and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort and the decoration of your room.

However, you didn’t like the catering of our restaurant and we are really sorry. We are taking the measures to improve our food quality.

Your comments are extremely important and will help to progress.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again among us

Very sincerely

Patricia Dottore
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A beautiful small chateau set in peaceful well-laid out gardens, within a short distance of some of the finest champagne houses.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, elegantly furnished and very clean and we enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep.
Dinner in the restaurant was of a high standard with a good choice of wines and champagnes to choose from.
Again, at breakfast there was a good choice of hot and cold food offered.
If you are looking for a romantic break I would strongly recommend this hotel in the midst of Champagne country

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it and especially your room's comfort and the restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Looked for something special in Champagne , found this chateau on the internet When we arrived were not disappointed. The staff are welcoming and are so helpful and friendly.The room was. Clean with a wonderful view,(even though it was though the balustrade ).
At dinner in the restaurant.. great food at a representative pice, my companion is vegetarian and the kitchen was able to prepare a tasty dish at short notice that was not on the menu.
The property is newly restored and the owner takes a personal interest in the comfort of her guests
. Peaceful comfortable in a Lovely part of France .Internet is available...by cable in room and wifi in public areas,but in such a romantic place do you need to surf the net! Rather enjoy the ambiance and drink champagne .

Room Tip: We had room 201 facing the garden.perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLDGOAT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly..

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The building, its garden and terrace and the room we were given are not bad. Actually they are nice and pleasant. However, we had not the best of nights... starting from 6 AM somebody at the floor above ours started walking back and forth in her high heels shoes, making sleeping impossible. Breakfast was quite frankly poor in terms of quality and choice, while prices are quite high for what you get. We were not impressed. I think that just setting straight a few details would tremendously improve customers' experience here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am sorry for the short night due to noise made by the guest staying at the top floor.

We offer a wide selection of fresh and homemade produces for breakfast such as jam, fruit salad, artisan honey, scrambled eggs, bacon and pastries. At your request, we have also served fried eggs.

Nevertheless we consider your comments and reflects on ways to improve our buffet.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A gem of a compact chateau, a former mini champagne house, lovingly and sympathetically restored. High level of hospitality, genuine welcome from professional and friendly staff. Delicious and creative cuisine served in tranquil dining area overlooking well kept garden and vineyards. Elegant, practical, and wonderfully clean en-suite bedroom. A delight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Château de Rilly

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is under new management, and the previous owners made a mess of it. The present management cannot be faulted. A wonderful Jacuzzi room with sauna, a great bar with a 1930s Parisian cafe feel, and did I mention the restaurant? This is a gem. The only fault is rubbish WiFi, which frankly is nonsense in 2013. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for all these nice compliments about our house.
This is very encouraging for all this new staff. It's all about trying one's best, to offer a traditional and refined cooking made with local products.

Hoping to welcome you a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rilly-la-Montagne
21.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,213 reviews
6.0 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
544 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chateau de Sacy
Chateau de Sacy
#1 of 1 in Sacy
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
9.4 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Rilly

Address: 38 rue de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range: $190 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Chateau de Rilly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Le Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing