We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best value for what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau de Rilly
Certificate of Excellence
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
828 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,420 helpful votes
“Not the best value for what you pay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The building, its garden and terrace and the room we were given are not bad. Actually they are nice and pleasant. However, we had not the best of nights... starting from 6 AM somebody at the floor above ours started walking back and forth in her high heels shoes, making sleeping impossible. Breakfast was quite frankly poor in terms of quality and choice, while prices are quite high for what you get. We were not impressed. I think that just setting straight a few details would tremendously improve customers' experience here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am sorry for the short night due to noise made by the guest staying at the top floor.

We offer a wide selection of fresh and homemade produces for breakfast such as jam, fruit salad, artisan honey, scrambled eggs, bacon and pastries. At your request, we have also served fried eggs.

Nevertheless we consider your comments and reflects on ways to improve our buffet.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
183
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A gem of a compact chateau, a former mini champagne house, lovingly and sympathetically restored. High level of hospitality, genuine welcome from professional and friendly staff. Delicious and creative cuisine served in tranquil dining area overlooking well kept garden and vineyards. Elegant, practical, and wonderfully clean en-suite bedroom. A delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Château de Rilly

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is under new management, and the previous owners made a mess of it. The present management cannot be faulted. A wonderful Jacuzzi room with sauna, a great bar with a 1930s Parisian cafe feel, and did I mention the restaurant? This is a gem. The only fault is rubbish WiFi, which frankly is nonsense in 2013. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for all these nice compliments about our house.
This is very encouraging for all this new staff. It's all about trying one's best, to offer a traditional and refined cooking made with local products.

Hoping to welcome you a next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were extremely pleasantly surprised (and lucky) to find this lovely hotel in a beautiful region. The hotel was charming, and our room was large, well accomodated, and with a very nice bathroom. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the hotel grounds, and was perfect for a leisurly breakfast. Don't remember the room number, but would definitely request "the room with the balcony overlooking the gardens" ( I think ours was the only one fitting that description).

In addition, the whole area was beautiful and peaceful, and an extremely welcome change of pace from our other stops. Would have spent more time there if we had known ahead of time.

The restaurant was nice, but very expensive,and not very accomodating to English speaking customers. We knew a little French, but would have enjoyed the experience much more if they had met us half way. Probably wouldn't dine there again if we stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found the Chateau when looking for an over-night stay while travelling from Rotterdam to Beaune.

Excellent accommodation, a fine meal, an exquisite bottle of local Champagne, extremely friendly and helpful service, a comfortable and firm bed, what more could you ask for?

We returned to the Chateau for a weekend trip to visit the local Champagne suppliers in December. The staff at the hotel recognised us when we arrived and made us welcome, then helped us plan our visits and arranged appointments for us with the local Champagne houses.

The weekend was delightful and extremely educational, I thought that I knew something of champagne but I know a lot more now. Favourite suppliers were Stephane Herbert (try the Blanc de Noir, they have it in the Chateau restaurant), and Roger Manceaux.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace for a view north of the vineyards, or south of the village, the Church an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms are all nicely renovated. Sauna and whirlpool area are very nice. Staff is friendly and always eager to help. We had dinner the first night in the hotel and it was excellent. Best lamb ever, cooked to perfection. Perfect stay for a short trip In the champagne region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place was the highlight accommodation of our week touring WW1/11 battlefields across northern France. Although parts of the chateau renovation seem a bit modern hotelish, the place has real charm and many lovely features and finishes. The staff was all wonderful and service at our meal was superb. We loved our 3rd story room with the huge terrace overlooking the grounds and the town. We really enjoyed most of our meal and definitely our breakfast on the patio the next morning!
OK, the reason for the 4 rating....Although the room and bathroom were big, beautiful and light, the bed was so hard that I did not sleep well at all. The other very European (and not preferred by me) arrangement in the room was the very separate toilet room from the bath/shower/sink room. So, you go in this "water closet" and then have to go across the room and access the bathroom to wash your hands.
The other reason I couldn't give it 5 was some of the dinner. While both my husband and I both loved the cold asparagus "soup" (really a whipped cream lovely savory starter) and thought our meats were delicious and well prepared, the "sides" on the plate left something to be desired. The starch was forgetable and the veges? (couldn't tell for sure if it really was) were a brownish overcooked mushy puree...really poorly executed. I even saw the French woman at a table next to me leave hers uneaten. The creme brulee was great - but that's hard to do poorly. We really had a great experience and enjoyed the ambiance, but it rated average on the value index.
ps. It's not easy to find by the directions we had...we found it by accident! GPS is a must next time.
Yes, we would go back in a minute though!!! :))

Room Tip: All rooms will be lovely and quiet. Ask about bed firmness tho, I think we were in 206?...very har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta_J924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rilly-la-Montagne
5.2 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
21.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
6.0 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Rilly

Property: Le Chateau de Rilly
Address: 38 rue de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Chateau de Rilly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing