We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous discovery thanks to tripadvisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau de Rilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A gem of a compact chateau, a former mini champagne house, lovingly and sympathetically restored. High level of hospitality, genuine welcome from professional and friendly staff. Delicious and creative cuisine served in tranquil dining area overlooking well kept garden and vineyards. Elegant, practical, and wonderfully clean en-suite bedroom. A delight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Château de Rilly

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Le Chateau de Rilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 301 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is under new management, and the previous owners made a mess of it. The present management cannot be faulted. A wonderful Jacuzzi room with sauna, a great bar with a 1930s Parisian cafe feel, and did I mention the restaurant? This is a gem. The only fault is rubbish WiFi, which frankly is nonsense in 2013. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for all these nice compliments about our house.
This is very encouraging for all this new staff. It's all about trying one's best, to offer a traditional and refined cooking made with local products.

Hoping to welcome you a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were extremely pleasantly surprised (and lucky) to find this lovely hotel in a beautiful region. The hotel was charming, and our room was large, well accomodated, and with a very nice bathroom. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the hotel grounds, and was perfect for a leisurly breakfast. Don't remember the room number, but would definitely request "the room with the balcony overlooking the gardens" ( I think ours was the only one fitting that description).

In addition, the whole area was beautiful and peaceful, and an extremely welcome change of pace from our other stops. Would have spent more time there if we had known ahead of time.

The restaurant was nice, but very expensive,and not very accomodating to English speaking customers. We knew a little French, but would have enjoyed the experience much more if they had met us half way. Probably wouldn't dine there again if we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found the Chateau when looking for an over-night stay while travelling from Rotterdam to Beaune.

Excellent accommodation, a fine meal, an exquisite bottle of local Champagne, extremely friendly and helpful service, a comfortable and firm bed, what more could you ask for?

We returned to the Chateau for a weekend trip to visit the local Champagne suppliers in December. The staff at the hotel recognised us when we arrived and made us welcome, then helped us plan our visits and arranged appointments for us with the local Champagne houses.

The weekend was delightful and extremely educational, I thought that I knew something of champagne but I know a lot more now. Favourite suppliers were Stephane Herbert (try the Blanc de Noir, they have it in the Chateau restaurant), and Roger Manceaux.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace for a view north of the vineyards, or south of the village, the Church an...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms are all nicely renovated. Sauna and whirlpool area are very nice. Staff is friendly and always eager to help. We had dinner the first night in the hotel and it was excellent. Best lamb ever, cooked to perfection. Perfect stay for a short trip In the champagne region.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place was the highlight accommodation of our week touring WW1/11 battlefields across northern France. Although parts of the chateau renovation seem a bit modern hotelish, the place has real charm and many lovely features and finishes. The staff was all wonderful and service at our meal was superb. We loved our 3rd story room with the huge terrace overlooking the grounds and the town. We really enjoyed most of our meal and definitely our breakfast on the patio the next morning!
OK, the reason for the 4 rating....Although the room and bathroom were big, beautiful and light, the bed was so hard that I did not sleep well at all. The other very European (and not preferred by me) arrangement in the room was the very separate toilet room from the bath/shower/sink room. So, you go in this "water closet" and then have to go across the room and access the bathroom to wash your hands.
The other reason I couldn't give it 5 was some of the dinner. While both my husband and I both loved the cold asparagus "soup" (really a whipped cream lovely savory starter) and thought our meats were delicious and well prepared, the "sides" on the plate left something to be desired. The starch was forgetable and the veges? (couldn't tell for sure if it really was) were a brownish overcooked mushy puree...really poorly executed. I even saw the French woman at a table next to me leave hers uneaten. The creme brulee was great - but that's hard to do poorly. We really had a great experience and enjoyed the ambiance, but it rated average on the value index.
ps. It's not easy to find by the directions we had...we found it by accident! GPS is a must next time.
Yes, we would go back in a minute though!!! :))

Room Tip: All rooms will be lovely and quiet. Ask about bed firmness tho, I think we were in 206?...very har...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta_J924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night this week whilst visiting Epernay and Reims. Was a beautiful chateau, has a lovely spa area, a very welcoming reception and the building itself is stunning with views of the vineyards, huge gates and a gorgeous garden.

We had room 109, it was large and light. We had a beautiful bathroom with a shower and seperate large bath tub, robes etc etc. The TV only has news channels but we weren't there for that!

We had dinner in the restaurant, was lovely, we had two amuse buches and petit fours as well as a yummy two course dinner.

A car is a must but I would definitely recommend this as a relaxing break!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRE517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rilly-la-Montagne
21.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,192 reviews
6.0 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
12.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
4.3 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Rilly

Address: 38 rue de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range: $209 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Chateau de Rilly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing