We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau de Rilly
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were extremely pleasantly surprised (and lucky) to find this lovely hotel in a beautiful region. The hotel was charming, and our room was large, well accomodated, and with a very nice bathroom. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the hotel grounds, and was perfect for a leisurly breakfast. Don't remember the room number, but would definitely request "the room with the balcony overlooking the gardens" ( I think ours was the only one fitting that description).

In addition, the whole area was beautiful and peaceful, and an extremely welcome change of pace from our other stops. Would have spent more time there if we had known ahead of time.

The restaurant was nice, but very expensive,and not very accomodating to English speaking customers. We knew a little French, but would have enjoyed the experience much more if they had met us half way. Probably wouldn't dine there again if we stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    89
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
24
191
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found the Chateau when looking for an over-night stay while travelling from Rotterdam to Beaune.

Excellent accommodation, a fine meal, an exquisite bottle of local Champagne, extremely friendly and helpful service, a comfortable and firm bed, what more could you ask for?

We returned to the Chateau for a weekend trip to visit the local Champagne suppliers in December. The staff at the hotel recognised us when we arrived and made us welcome, then helped us plan our visits and arranged appointments for us with the local Champagne houses.

The weekend was delightful and extremely educational, I thought that I knew something of champagne but I know a lot more now. Favourite suppliers were Stephane Herbert (try the Blanc de Noir, they have it in the Chateau restaurant), and Roger Manceaux.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace for a view north of the vineyards, or south of the village, the Church an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms are all nicely renovated. Sauna and whirlpool area are very nice. Staff is friendly and always eager to help. We had dinner the first night in the hotel and it was excellent. Best lamb ever, cooked to perfection. Perfect stay for a short trip In the champagne region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place was the highlight accommodation of our week touring WW1/11 battlefields across northern France. Although parts of the chateau renovation seem a bit modern hotelish, the place has real charm and many lovely features and finishes. The staff was all wonderful and service at our meal was superb. We loved our 3rd story room with the huge terrace overlooking the grounds and the town. We really enjoyed most of our meal and definitely our breakfast on the patio the next morning!
OK, the reason for the 4 rating....Although the room and bathroom were big, beautiful and light, the bed was so hard that I did not sleep well at all. The other very European (and not preferred by me) arrangement in the room was the very separate toilet room from the bath/shower/sink room. So, you go in this "water closet" and then have to go across the room and access the bathroom to wash your hands.
The other reason I couldn't give it 5 was some of the dinner. While both my husband and I both loved the cold asparagus "soup" (really a whipped cream lovely savory starter) and thought our meats were delicious and well prepared, the "sides" on the plate left something to be desired. The starch was forgetable and the veges? (couldn't tell for sure if it really was) were a brownish overcooked mushy puree...really poorly executed. I even saw the French woman at a table next to me leave hers uneaten. The creme brulee was great - but that's hard to do poorly. We really had a great experience and enjoyed the ambiance, but it rated average on the value index.
ps. It's not easy to find by the directions we had...we found it by accident! GPS is a must next time.
Yes, we would go back in a minute though!!! :))

Room Tip: All rooms will be lovely and quiet. Ask about bed firmness tho, I think we were in 206?...very har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta_J924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night this week whilst visiting Epernay and Reims. Was a beautiful chateau, has a lovely spa area, a very welcoming reception and the building itself is stunning with views of the vineyards, huge gates and a gorgeous garden.

We had room 109, it was large and light. We had a beautiful bathroom with a shower and seperate large bath tub, robes etc etc. The TV only has news channels but we weren't there for that!

We had dinner in the restaurant, was lovely, we had two amuse buches and petit fours as well as a yummy two course dinner.

A car is a must but I would definitely recommend this as a relaxing break!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRE517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at Chateau de Rilly for three days. Had asked them to organize a taxi from the train station as it was a Sunday night and did not know if there would be a taxi rank. They confirmed. There was no taxi or if there were they certainly did not find us and we certainly did not find them. One would assume that there would be a person with a placard waiting outside. I ordered dinner in advance and had it confirmed by the hotel. On arrival we were informed that the dining room is not open on a Sunday. They managed to find some cheese and bread and then charged us R80 per head on checkout for this. If you are expecting bacon for breakfast then picture something that resembles bacon which has been pre-cooked and left on a plate. One is then expected to put it into a steamer (usually used to keep food hot) and to cook it this way. They did have eggs cooked and pastries. There is a machine for coffee. The rooms are clean and warm and the bathrooms well equipped.

Room Tip: We had a room with a patio and it was a large patio - which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but ate at the restaurant, which is not listed on Tripadvisor. It was so good, that I just have to write a review even if it's on the hotel page. The four of us had a variety of dishes. I had the Brill (flounder). My wife had the cod stew. Both were outstanding. Wonderful chocolate cake for dessert. Service was over the top. Chef came to the table for pictures. I know this sounds ridiculous, but the butter they served was the best I have ever had. EAT HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonden-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rilly-la-Montagne
21.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,143 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
685 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
481 reviews
6.0 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
504 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Rilly

Property: Le Chateau de Rilly
Address: 38 rue de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Chateau de Rilly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing