We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place

A fantastic place with so much to do for everyone of all ages. A great place for summer walks or... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Hollyncharlie
,
Essex, UK
via mobile
Great place

Great for everyone, My only big moan is there is a charge for parking which I totally think is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jenn N
,
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Read all 420 reviews
  
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
220
150
31
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
150
31
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play equipment all ages open space dog walkers great for kids nice walk country park nice cafe fresh air on site year olds great afternoon few hours lovely place toilet facilities on arrival plenty of space
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A fantastic place with so much to do for everyone of all ages. A great place for summer walks or muddy puddles making it enjoyable what ever the weather. The different equipment is varied and fun. Give it a go :)

Thank Hollyncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great for everyone,
My only big moan is there is a charge for parking which I totally think is wrong.im lucky as I live very near so don’t have to use my car.
The cafe I think is reasonably priced,which was a great surprise and thought very good.

Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went over to get some exercise on the wheelchair accessible walks. Unfortunately, the layout is not at all accessible to wheelchair users who are on their own, and quite difficult even if they are with someone to help them up the hills, etc.
The reception, disable loo and start of the trails all involve a steep climb and equally tricky descent. The accessible section of the main walking trail become impassible when it reaches the sandy play area. There's no way across the sand to rejoin the trail on the other side.
A great shame. It's a superb play park for non-wheelchair users but it really needs some thought for those of us in wheelchairs.

Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is really nothing much to add to the heading. The cafe sits on a hill in the discovery centre. It serves typical cafe food. The guys do it well.

Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite a nice place to walk around but to be honest there is not very much there. There is a lake which is quite nice and a visitor centre and the park occasionally holds cycling and running events but unless you are a dog walker that's about it!

Thank paulsymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to jog, walk with dog , spend quality time with partner or friends. Some nice event are organised there too like outdoor cinema and afternoon tea. Done both recommend to all

Thank Nati W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this beautiful park during the summer and was really impressed. About £5 to park for the morning which isn’t bad considering that is all you pay for. Lovely lunch in the cafe which was good portions and price and the kids loved the ice cream. Lots to do and you are welcome to picnic, great also for dog walkers. Has a really positive feel about it and great to see so many families there. Definitely going back

Thank 903audreyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for the first time today whilst we waited for our car to be serviced at a garage nearby. What an amazing place. The dogs loved it but I think my husband loved it more as there are playground pieces scattered all over and he had a go on most of them! The lake was sublime and teaming with fish and we finished it all off with a delicious breakfast in the cafe. Loads to do for all ages. Highly recommend

Thank justjoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The Country Park is huge, free to enter (though there is a charge for car parking & for aerial rope walk.) It has a cafe, toilets and plenty of places for a picnic. However, the park authorities make it clear that there are no bins for ice cream wrappers, food and the like, and they ask that it is taken home. I cannot see any issue with this though sadly one or two visitors have chosen to ignore it.

There are a number of walks, some fairly level and other quite exhausting. The Park is hilly in places but the view from one of the highest points - market with a Bird of Prey sculpture on a plinth is worth the climb. For youngsters there is plenty of safe play equipment at various points within the park.

It is popular with dog walkers and for them, the park authorities have provided waste bins for doggie toilet bags.

On a pleasant warm day as it was when I visited it is a lovely place to come and chill out with a book or just to sit and relax as the world goes by. Even on dry days in the winter it would be a place to enjoy (wearing warm clothing of course)

Handy to get to, there is a main road close by, it is easily reached from Braintree and it's environs as well as Chelmsford.

Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Great day out with the kids huge open spaces, playground for the kids isn't an excellent facility which is well maintained to a high standard

Thank raymondos6os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews