We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughly enjoyable meal!”

The Swan Inn Woolpit
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Woolpit
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Throughly enjoyable meal!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Swan was recommended to me by the owners of the Drinkstone B&B. It was very easy to find, parking was easily accessible on the street and the service was very good.

The menu is written on blackboards around the walls of the restaurant. As my eyesight isn't the best, I felt a bit awkward staring above the heads of other diners trying to figure out what was written (I wish they had something printed out.) I realize this might be because their menu changes, but it was nicely displayed and you had many choices to choose from.

While they have an extensive wine and beer offerings, I had hoped for more variety for the wines. The glass I had was very nice and a compliment to my meal. I choose a fish entrée with a chile/lime sauce versus the hollandaise, which was great. I appreciated their willingness to change the menu to accommodate their guests preference; so nice to see in a restaurant. I had hoped to have a fresh salad to accompany my meal, but none was offered on the menu. I think that would have been a nice addition to their daily menu.

As others have noted, their prices are above average, but the quality is certainly worth it. I look forward to eating at the Swan again and having another enjoyable meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backstreets1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    13
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Popped in here for a meal after being let down by the state of the bull inn Woolpit, we were greeted by smartly dressed staff who were only to happy to find us a table, we then had 2 beers, 2 glasses of wine and 2 of the best tasting 2 course meals we have ever had and all for less than £50. loved this classy restaurant so much we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful starter and best chocolate brownie!

Decor very interesting, our waitress had the whole floor on her own with a few big tables but managed to keep her cool, impressed with the whole place

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best food ever”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I must say that I have eaten here for the last week and every meal has been amazing . I would say one of the best ever meals i've ever had . I would well recommend this pub for all occasions for the food, atmosphere and price . we are off there again today as we know the food will be superb..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 949tottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurante”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have eaten in a lot of pubs and restaurants in this country while i have been visiting here.The swan is definately in my top 10. The menu shows that the chef has really traveled and although its not cheap its certainly much better value than a lot of places.The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming and i just love the log fire.Certainly the best place i have visited in Suffolk.I really loved the grilled halloumi cheese, the fantastic lamb burger and my friend ate Nile perch for the first time and loved it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn Woolpit also viewed

Woolpit, Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Swan Inn Woolpit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing