We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Gite les Carlines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gite les Carlines
Ranked #1 of 2 Les Vigneaux B&B and Inns
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent 3 nights with Sandrine and Gary on 13/7/13. What a wonderful place, relaxing, quiet and peaceful with beautiful views across the mountains. Very comfortable and clean with excellent beds. Sandrine and Gary were lovely hosts and Gary's home cooking was fabulous with 3 courses every night, examples:Irish Stew, Shepherds Pie, Tartiflette, Leek Tart and Rhubarb crumble, all amazing and probably the best food I had during the whole 13 day trip!

They have a lovely old dog, Luther, who is part of the family and is usually found fast asleep on the landing. The whole place felt like home from home and I really didn't want to leave!

A small tip for those of you who are not sure what a "Gite d'Etape" is, as I didn't. It was explained to me that 'Etape' means 'stage' and as the area is popular for hiking, many people hike, stay overnight ,move on, hike somewhere else and move on. So Etapes are, perhaps you could say, overnight staging posts for some, to be fed and watered with a comfortable bed. For others, who wish to see the area and stay longer, it is a lovely place to stay. Because of this, it is advisable to bring your own hairdryer, shower gel/soap, shampoo, towels (although you can hire a towel for 1 Euro) etc, as these are not provided.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor at the front of the Gite, with a balcony and beautiful views across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed three nights at Les Carlines in July. Wonderful setting in the heart of France. Owners Gary and Sandrine were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. Gary cooks the meals which are excellent. My wife and I highly recommend this gite and would love to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gavin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and loved it. Great food, great people, comfortable rooms and beds, and a beautiful setting. We stayed here because we were running a race in nearby L'Argentière-la-Bessée. The place was full of racers the night before and Sandrine and Gary accommodated us and made a delicious pasta dinner. My husband and I are vegetarian and they made us special vegetarian meals both nights. They also served breakfast earlier than usual on the morning of the race. We had a room with a beautiful view and a private bath. Gary and Sandrine are knowledgeable on things to do in the area and willing to help plan/coordinate according to your needs. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our third year staying at Les Carlines, summer mountain hiking in an enchanting setting.
The owners Gary and Sandrine are wonderful going out of their way as we had a baby with us this year, Sandrine lent our party hiking boots and socks and went to the Tourist office to find brochure on easy walks for the beginners.
Les Carlines is by far the cleanest,friendliest gite I have stayed in, we all thoroughly recommend it.
Gary's food is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodyjaqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I see that Andy Wing has already reviewed this gite and I can concur with his comments; Murray was my guide too. I had stayed there a year earlier, also ice-climbing. Sometimes I find unreasonable carping comments by some reviewers and they might consider the context of their stay. In my case I wasn't looking for a 5-star hotel. I wanted a room ensuite, good plentiful food (not a Michelen rated restaurant), friendly hosts who spoke English and knew their region, and could offer constructive suggestions (I borrowed a pair of snow shoes before the climbing began and walked to Vallouise & back), a comfortabke bed and warm room and, hopefully, other guests who were friendly and communicative. I had no grumbles and, if I am fit enough to climb again, I shall not hesitate to stay at L.C.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms were en suite, so ask about this when booking.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairneyhill, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed here on many occasions and can thoroughly recommend it. The food is excellent as is the hospitality, Sandrine and Gary are fantastic hosts and Sandrine who is french speaks fluent english. It is an ideal base for all types of outdoor activities in summer and in winter. The gite is situated in a fantastic setting, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have just come back from a long weekend ice climbing, staying at Gites les Carlines.
Nice room looking out over mountains with small en-suite bathroom. Drying room for gear, dining room was light and warm with a wood fuelled stove which created nice atmosphere. Great wifi.

Owners were really friendly and the food was superb. Other guests were a good mix of skiers and climbers. Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Vigneaux
2.9 mi away
Les Vallois
Les Vallois
#1 of 1 in Vallouise
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier Blanc
Hotel Le Glacier Blanc
#1 of 3 in Pelvoux
19 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel d'Ailefroide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B La Borella
B&B La Borella
#3 of 3 in Vallouise
7 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camping Huttopia Vallouise
Camping Huttopia Vallouise
#1 of 2 in Vallouise
16 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Saint-Roch
Hotel Saint-Roch
#1 of 1 in Puy-Saint-Vincent
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite les Carlines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite les Carlines

Property: Gite les Carlines
Address: quartier Beal Neuf | 05120, 05120 Les Vigneaux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Les Vigneaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Les Vigneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near L' Argentiere-La-Bessee, Puy-Saint-Vincent and Vallouise, Les Carlines is a friendly independant guest-house/B&B. Ideal for all your winter and summer mountain activities such as ice-climbing, hiking, snowshoeing, skiing (alpine, hiking and cross-country), canoeinig and kayaking and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gite les Carlines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing