We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I usually stay at budget hotels when on business around the UK so staying at Norton House came as a very pleasant change from the usual corporate blandness that I;ve been used to.
Character and comfortable rooms with an excellent breakfast made my stay excellent value.
I'll be back for a weekend break soon!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

A charming house set in a very convenient position for access to the Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, surrounding countryside and market towns. The room was very comfortable with a full range of facilities. There was a restful sitting room if one wished for a change of scenery. It was very dog friendly, with washing facilities in the laundry, should they be required, and even a dog biscuit provided with the usual tea and coffee making equipment in the rooms! A bonus was that the tea, coffee and drinking chocolate was Fairtrade. The hosts, Bill and Jayne, couldn’t be more friendly, helpful and accommodating, with an excellent choice and quality of breakfast provided at the guests’ convenience, advice on walks, supplemented with plenty of maps and leaflets on places to visit. It is a very pleasant place to spend a few days, whatever the weather.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic, everything you could possibly need in a holiday cottage and more, even the dogs were catered for. First class hosts.

An excellent base to see the local sights, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed for one night only but were made to feel very welcome. The hosts, Jayne and Bill could'nt have been more welcoming and helpful. Both rooms we stayed in were comfortable and spacious and the breakfast excellent. Ideal location for the local sights, especially symonds yat, which had the most spectacular views. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsbunnyNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Norton House is a wonderful place to stay, from the moment you arrive you are greeted by two wonderful hosts, with a pot of tea and home made brownies. I was traveling alone and felt very at home here. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard, everything and more has been provided, to make your stay extra special. Breakfast was also fantastic, all locally sourced produce. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friend and I staid at Norton House for a short break, we booked it on the web as we were looking to stay near the Wye . Ideal location , close to the river for walks and also near the Forest of Dean,we had a lovely twin bedded room. We were made to feel very welcome, given lots of info and tips about the area and where to eat. The breakfast was superb as we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit , cooked traditional english breakfast, tea or coffee. For dog lovers it is ideal.For people who do not care for dogs it is not a problem as the owners dogs are very well behaved.We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a base for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anelysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this on line and was not disappointed in the facilities. The main plus for me is that it was dog friendly although mine stayed in the car. A beautiful garden with a stream and fountain made sitting outside with a coffee and newspaper very relaxing.

The room was very large as was the bathroom and kitted out with all the usual facilities plus a bowl of fruit and proper size shampoo and bath bubbles etc.

The breakfast was absolutely superb and the hosts were friendly but not intrusive the same as the resident poodles.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#4 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
227 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing