We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
1 review
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Norton House is a wonderful place to stay, from the moment you arrive you are greeted by two wonderful hosts, with a pot of tea and home made brownies. I was traveling alone and felt very at home here. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard, everything and more has been provided, to make your stay extra special. Breakfast was also fantastic, all locally sourced produce. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
176
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friend and I staid at Norton House for a short break, we booked it on the web as we were looking to stay near the Wye . Ideal location , close to the river for walks and also near the Forest of Dean,we had a lovely twin bedded room. We were made to feel very welcome, given lots of info and tips about the area and where to eat. The breakfast was superb as we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit , cooked traditional english breakfast, tea or coffee. For dog lovers it is ideal.For people who do not care for dogs it is not a problem as the owners dogs are very well behaved.We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a base for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anelysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this on line and was not disappointed in the facilities. The main plus for me is that it was dog friendly although mine stayed in the car. A beautiful garden with a stream and fountain made sitting outside with a coffee and newspaper very relaxing.

The room was very large as was the bathroom and kitted out with all the usual facilities plus a bowl of fruit and proper size shampoo and bath bubbles etc.

The breakfast was absolutely superb and the hosts were friendly but not intrusive the same as the resident poodles.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We have just spent a lovely weekend here. The house itself is beautiful and our room was really lovely and spacious. On top of that we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast each morning, we had a full english both days but we could have had almost anything we wanted, it was great!

Our hosts, Su & Richard, could not have been more helpful (they gave us lots of advice on places to visit and walks etc) and the homemade cake and pot of tea on arrival was just what we needed after our journey.

Despite the weather (it was January!) we had a couple of great walks along the River Wye and spent a happy morning exploring nearby Monmouth which is a really sweet town. Symonds Yat Rock is not far either which is definitely worth a visit for the views. Altogether a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
0.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing