We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Picked this family-run B&B due to a combination of reviews and it's proximity to a local function that I was attending. Pleased to report that it lives up to expectations! Jayne and Bill are very welcoming - and Jayne's flapjack was even more welcome! Rooms decorated to a good standard with lots of extras - bottle of water, fresh fruit, etc. Beds comfortable. Lounge with television, books, log burner and cake (mentioned that already!) - perfect location for a blustery evening. Wifi available - fine in the lounge, though due to the thickness of the walls (17th century) signal was a bit erratic in the bedroom. Not a problem for me. Breakfast excellent with a very wide selection of options. Jayne and Bill provide a wealth of local knowledge with plenty of suggestions as to how to spend a day out. The only disadvantage I may see for some visitors is the unavoidable noise in the front rooms from the nearby main road - not an issue for me (I slept well) - but could be for light sleepers.

Not the cheapest B&B in the area, but in my opinion well worth the extra. Would very much like to return in better weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Jayne & Bill are very experienced hosts, which shines through in all the little added extras afforded to a guest at Norton House. From the warm welcome over tea & brownies by the blazing log-burner in the very charming guests lounge to the plethora of walking guides/ local activity guides freely available; you know your precious time away is off to a great start! Our room was charming, full of character & had been made up with great care. Jayne's attention to detail is fantastic: choice of 7 different teas (including decaff - yeah), wine glasses with corkscrew, cotton buds & pads, fluffy towels, immaculate linen ... Torches were even supplied for the pitch black walk to the Court Hotel for dinner - really thoughtful :-)
Breakfast was lovely & aga baked to boot, no unhealthy fry up at this establishment! Bill served his home-made jams with great pride & both of our most charming of hosts, ensured we were set up with local knowledge for the day ahead.
I've oft observed, that true class is not in the materialism of the building but in the warmth & hospitality of the hosts. At Norton House its First Class all the way with the bonus of a beautiful building too - a real gem!

Room Tip: There are 3 B&B rooms available, we had Doward which is a King Size Four Poster bed room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Norton house is an idyllic place to stay even during a stormy rainy weekend. We were welcomed to a beautiful 4 poster bedded suite then relaxed in front of a log fire eating freshly baked chocolate cake and coffee. Bill and Jayne were perfect hosts and took a genuine interest in us as guests. Breakfast was lovely, the room was perfect and the hospitality superb. Thank you very much .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were very lucky to spend a few days over New Years at this wonderful B & B,
And from the moment we arrived until we drove away nothing was too much for our super hoists, Jayne & Bills hospitality was second to none, and their knowledge of the local area was fantastic,
We arrived to tea & home made cakes, and breakfast's were to die for, not just your normal full English, it puts lots of top hotels to shame, with its quirky undulating floor boards and wooden shutters on the windows this was more than home from home, many thanks and look forward to staying with you again,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Doward room with 4 poster bed, this faced the A40 but with the wooden shutters we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Norton House B&B and it was incredibly lovely.
Jayne & Bill were very welcoming, hospitable and helpful. We felt very looked after.
Our room was cosy, comfortable, and felt very private.
Breakfast was hearty and generous and Jayne's baking is magnificent :)
They were always available to provide advice and guidance on what to see and do, no matter the weather.
Excellent value for money. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Bill and Jayne couldn't have been more helpful - from being flexible with our needs (and dietary requirements) through to providing plenty of advice and suggestions on the local area. A beautiful location and house which is truly historic - would love to come back again. (Great breakfast...) :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having stayed at Norton House B&B several times before, this time we tried a 7 night stay in the guest cottages...we stayed in the Cider Loft. There were all possible comforts there and we had the most enjoyable week. There is walking from the doorstep as well as so much to do within a stones throw. We walked along most of the river at Symond's Yat ...it was messy in parts but still as fabulous as ever. My elderly aunt joined us for the last 2 nights with her little Yorkie ....she, like us was bowled over by the beauty of the surroundings. My husband caught his 1st Wye barbel and was over the moon. We had a day at the races at Chepstow on the Saturday...a successful one too! Thanks to Jayne & Bill for providing a perfect retreat. We came home relaxed and rested. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank silverwedding2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
0.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
144 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
855 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing