We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was delightful and the breakfast first class. Jayne was extremely helpful with lots of good advice about the area and even gave me a lift. This is what a good bed and breakfast is all about! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

What an idyllic cottage absolutely perfect for the two of us and our dog - all made to feel so very welcome. Thank you to Jayne and Bill for such a warm welcome and such lovely, unexpected touches - homemade brownies and bread and the makings of a wonderful first breakfast, even treat for the dog. The cottage was an absolute delight with everything we could want or need, all self enclosed and private - just what we wanted. Norton House is in a lovely setting with plenty to do in the area - walking, fishing, etc. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our break at the Cider Loft and hope to return sometime.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful location, and beautiful place to stay. Jayne and Bill were wonderful hosts, offering advice from the moment we started enquiring about the area/property. Homemade treats greeted us and a delicious breakfast in the morning helped us go on our way.
One extra that might have been useful would be wifi, as the internet might have helped us explore the area a little better. However, a comfortable stay and we are already trying to work out how to incorporate another visit in our next trip.

Room Tip: The Cider Loft was really special, very secluded and has it's own garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Caitlin, My fault if I did not mention it on arrival but we do have wifi available throughout the house and even have a computer available in the reading room for guests that wish to have access but do not have a wifi device available. For our cottage guests, they have a key for the main house and I am trying a wifi extender to provide access there, but this can be a bit flaky.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you can visit again soon.

All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Only stayed one evening, but that was enough to enjoy the welcoming atmosphere and homeliness of Norton House. Bill and Jayne run a very friendly house and I felt most welcome. Breakfast was an experience not to miss also! Very relaxed and not at all rushed. All sitting around one large table was just like home. I see some reviewers have mentioned the scrambled egg, well try it with the salmon in a croissant if it's on the menu while you're there, you won't want to leave the table. It's totally delicious!!
Also Bill and Jayne have plenty of ideas for you if you're looking around the area with plenty of brochures covering a very wide area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Geoff, Firstly thank you for sending us some of the photo's you took of the area they are great. Glad you enjoyed your stop over and hope you decide to come again soon..
All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Having read other reviews I feel there's nothing to add. Here is a lovely, classy B&B run by a couple who clearly love what they're doing. They know how to make scrambled eggs - my litmus test of any breakfast. And they know how to make you feel at home. It's been a pleasure staying here and it can be recommended without reservation, so-to-speak!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetRecorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We enjoyed your company whilst you were working hard in the area and are glad we could provide a place to relax in. We both hope we can meet again in the not too distant future and look after you all again.

All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely fabulous.
Good clean and very comfortable accomadation with hosts that were the embodiment of all we were led to believe from friends who recommended them to us.
The whole experience enhanced with little touches around the house made the four days we spent there enough for us to make a return stay with friends in the future. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Bill and Jayne who did everything to make our stay run smoothly. Breakfasts were simply devine and made a great start to the day. Their knowledge about their own local area helped plan our time. Return! definately.

Room Tip: Pick anyone, you will not be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Its great to know you had fun whilst at Norton House and we try and provide as many ideas of things to do in the area to help everyone enjoy their stay. See you again in the near future, we hope.

All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing three nights stay. Norton House is a spotlessly clean, spacious delightful home filled with character. We slept peacefully and comfortably in the beautiful king size four poster bed. The breakfasts were scrumptious!!! Each day we walked for miles around the nearby area, enjoying the beautiful views, wildlife and countryside. It was lovely to meet Bill and Jane who made our stay so enjoyable! They are a lovely, non intrusive couple who know the area very well and are therefore able to give good advice and recommendations if needed. We would certainly stay there again and will most definitely be recommending Norton House to family and friends. Thank you both so much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen_fOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Walking is one of the best ways to enjoy the Wye valley and we hope some of our suggestions worked out well. I have often told Jayne that I am perfect in every way, however she has a list of exceptions to that... Really glad you enjoyed your stay and we both hope you will visit again in the future.
All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing