We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House and wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The house and facilites were great and Bill and Jayne were wonderful hosts and made you feel at home. The tea and cakes were to die for and a great breakfast to set you up for the day the home made jam was excellent to !!!!
Bill was very helpful with things to do and see, pity we couldn't get into the cross keys for evening meal ( need to book i think ) but the old court did fantastic food as well !! Will definitely be back and recommend to family and friends. Keep up the good work on the AGA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, We are both glad that you enjoyed the area and some of its great places to eat and drink as well. Hope you can visit again soon.
take care.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a wonderful weekend! To start, the hosts Bill and Jayne were so welcoming and made us feel at home instantly. Warm home made brownies were waiting on our arrival. The house is beauitful and authenic and the rooms perfect, they had everything in you can think of, the old fashioned keys added a lovely feel. The breakfast was to die for, such a fantastic spread ranging from local granola to a hearty full English. The area itself was beautiful with lots of walks and stunning view points, Bill and Jayne were very helpful in telling us all the great places to see and visit. You must have a meal at The Cross Keys, the food was delicious and the atmospere very friendly and welcoming. We will deffinitly be staying with them again - thank you for a great relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms traditional and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for such a nice review, it was great to have you all stay with us and enjoy the house. Glad you enjoyed the cakes and I think you even managed a game of chess. Hope we can look after you again some time in the future.

All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here as a group of friends, every one enjoyed the stay and felt relaxed. We were welcomed on arrival with tea and a lovely home made cake. The quality of breakfast was excellent. The area is very nice for driving, walking, birdwatching etc. Bill provided good advice in this respect. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

It was a good weekend and we enjoyed everyone's company and hoped some of our suggestions helped make it enjoyable.
Till the next time.
All the best.

Bill & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This B & B really is excellent just as stated in all other reviews. We stayed for a weekend with friends and couldn't have felt more comfortable with the room, service and great home cooking. We have today had tea at The Ritz to celebrate our wedding anniversary and Jayne's lemon drizzle cake surpassed theirs by far! Thank you and we hope to return soon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write, Jayne was very happy that you liked her cake so much and has not stopped telling me about it. It was fun hosting a family reunion and made a great weekend for us as well. Hope to see you again soon.
All the best
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a lovely stay, a very friendly welcome from Bill. The house is very homely and full of character. Bill gave us useful advice and directions in respect of places to dine. Jayne's breakfast was perfect. Would most certainly stay again if in the area. Thank you Bill and Jayne for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireLass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks for choosing Norton house, we are both really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. With the warmer weather within touching distance we are sure that you will enjoy the area even more if you can visit again soon.
All the best
Bill & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Norton house is like home from home Jayne and Bill provide everything you need for an enjoyable stay, there were even water bottles in the bedrooms, that is a first for me.There were lots of choices for breakfast .It is a beautiful place to stay. I could not fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junecharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

You certainly managed to pack quite a lot into your car from the auction, which I hope did not prove to be to expensive and will prove useful. The auction is every six weeks and another great reason to visit the lovely area that is the Wye valley. Hope to see you both again in the future.
take care.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful building both inside and out. Very warm welcome and friendly attentive service by Bill and Jayne who obviously really love what they do. We stayed in the Monmouth room which was spacious and well equipped with a VERY comfortable bed! Great selection of breakfasts - have never been offered pancakes before and delicious they were too! The auction at the village hall was a real bonus and well worth visiting for some serious bargains. Home made cake in the lounge was a lovely touch. Highly recommend this B and B on all counts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Good to hear you had a good time even though we are all still awaiting spring you were able to enjoy your stay and the fantastic Wye valley, hope you can visit us again in the future.
All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing