We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, friendly and fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful building both inside and out. Very warm welcome and friendly attentive service by Bill and Jayne who obviously really love what they do. We stayed in the Monmouth room which was spacious and well equipped with a VERY comfortable bed! Great selection of breakfasts - have never been offered pancakes before and delicious they were too! The auction at the village hall was a real bonus and well worth visiting for some serious bargains. Home made cake in the lounge was a lovely touch. Highly recommend this B and B on all counts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Good to hear you had a good time even though we are all still awaiting spring you were able to enjoy your stay and the fantastic Wye valley, hope you can visit us again in the future.
All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

As soon as we arrived at Norton House we received a very warm welcome from Bill who showed us up to the Cider Loft where we stayed for 11 nights. Jayne had left us a very nice welcome pack of fresh baked, cake, sausages, bacon and jam and butter which was a very nice touch. We could tell straight away that our stay was going to be a very relaxed and enjoyable experience. The Cider Loft was very comfortable with our own little garden which my pooch really enjoyed, with it being all closed in I had no worries letting her out to play. There was everything you would need in the accomodation. I would say there are a few steps up to reach the loft so if you struggle with steps it maybe isnt for you but the main house has rooms also so that could be an option for people in that situation. The local area was amazing and me and the dog has a great time exploring the local walks and trails while my husband went to work in the area. All in all an amazing holiday and we will definitely be back for another stay when my hubby can enjoy the local area too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We think the Cider loft is really special and where glad that you were both able to enjoy your time there. Walking is such a joy in the area and you certainly made the most of getting to know some of the best walks around. Hope you can come back and stay again in the future.
All the best.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

best b and b we have ever stayed in. we were made to feel very welcome, the food was delicious and the room very comfortable. jayne and bill were very friendly and helpful and the house is a wonderful building. we had a lovely relaxing time.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your anniversary at Norton House and celebrate it with a delivery of such lovely flowers at breakfast. I will have to remember our anniversary soon or I will be in big trouble. Hope we will meet again in the future.
All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The two essentials for excellence in a bed and breakfast are a comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast; Norton House passes on both counts and more besides. I stay in many hotels and have come to understand when I'm receiving value for money. Jayne and Bill are the perfect hosts, being very friendly, but unobtrusive. Norton House is a lovely home, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was also very good, with a excellent range of creams and gels. When we arrived Bill brought fresh coffee and biscuits to our room- a nice touch, even though we had an excellent range of teas and coffees in the room.
The breakfast, served in a beautiful dining room, was an array of locally sourced produce and cooked to the highest standards. The choice of cereals and homemade jams and marmalades was incredible. I would challenge anyone to find a better breakfast anywhere!
This is an absolutely top class bed and breakfast and along with Clow Beck Farm in Croft, the best we have ever stayed in. If people find fault they must be extremely nitpicky. Top class for £40 per night, per person

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, along with a great time a Cheltenham races. If only I could have picked a winner! Hope you decide to stay again in the future.
All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found Jayne and Bill to be perfect hosts. Most of what you eat is homemade and excellent.
The property is a few hundred years old and has everything that you would expect, except a ghost.But then we didn't ask.
It was a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four-poster which was very comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELGIBB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

The Doward is such a lovely room and when the sun shines through the windows in the morning the room just fills with light, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you both again in the future.
All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent two nights at Norton House and would recommend it without reservation. Jayne and Bill made us very welcome. It was cosy, clean, relaxed and very comfortable with a host of extra little touches such as fruit and bottled water in our room which all made for a lovely stay. Our hosts were most helpful in suggesting where to go and things to do in the area as well as local places to have evening meal. The breakfasts at Norton House were a real treat and of the highest quality.
A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Great to know you enjoyed your stay and we really hope you enjoyed your first visit to the Wye valley, hope we have given you a taste for the area and one day you will choose to visit again.
Thank you again
Jayne & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really pleasnt stay with very welcoming hosts that were willing to take the time out to show us walking routes, maps etc. Nice touches like home made cake and the breakfasts were yummy. The room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay and most importantly that you was able to spend time walking in the beautiful Wye Valley.

Hope to see you again soon.

All the best

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $94 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing