We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A warm welcome from Bill and Jayne complete with tea and cake awaited us at Norton House. Our room was large, comfortable and had many thoughtful extras like fresh fruit and mineral water. Breakfast was delicious and with a great selection on offer. Jayne and Bill's knowledge of the area was superb and we were able to make the most of our two day stay in that area. Altogether a great place to stay and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylviejbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Norton House is an ideal accommodation, like an island of antique tranquility. The hosts are very friendly and generous. I would and I will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Monmouth room is facing towards the high road, but it does not affect the quietness of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Fantastic 3 nights in this beautiful old house with delicious breakfasts and many other homemade treats. Bill and Jayne are very friendly, welcoming and helpful - they made suggestions about the different activities on offer in the area and had plenty of useful leaflets, maps etc. Really nice room and excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Doward room has a very nice four-poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the England Rugby win, hope to see you both again in the future.
All the best.
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Jayne and Bill are delightful hosts; very welcoming, friendly and relaxed. Bill is an excellent cook. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts - the banana and blueberry buttermilk pancakes were exceptional - and homemade cakes at tea time.
The rooms are well-presented, very clean and include thoughtful touches such as bottles of water and toiletries in the bathroom.
We particularly appreciated Jayne and Bill going the extra mile to help us enjoy our stay. This included suggesting scenic routes for drives, lending us maps and torches, and arranging an extra light in my mother's room.
We would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

It was great to have you and your Mum stay with us for a couple of days, we enjoyed your company and particularly listening to your Mum sharing some of her life experiences with us. Hope to see you both again next year.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

On a number of occasions we have stayed around the Monmouth area and always been very disappointed with our accommodation. Luckily we have found Norton House. bill and Jayne are wonderful people and their home is stylish and comfortable. You won't find a better B & B anywhere.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Gerardiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay and I am sure you enjoyed the Welsh Grand Slam even more.
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I were meeting friends not far from Monmouth and Bill and Jayne were able to accommodate our short notice booking. They were brilliant: we were met by warm chocolate brownies and a lovely pot of tea. Bill could not have been more helpful in providing local information and making us feel welcome. As for the breakfast - wow both the full English and the pancakes. Everything was local produce or home made. As for the accommodation - it was a wonderfully characterful house with clean, comfortable and cosy rooms. We stayed in the Monmouth room which had traditional shutters and a window seat which was great to sit at and watch the morning sun. Highly recommend a stay at Norton House and we hope to head back later in the year for a weekend in one of the two cottages.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Glad you both enjoyed your stay and the wonderful spring weather all helped for a glorious weekend, hope we can welcome you back soon.
Thank you for choosing Norton House.
Jayne & Bill Lapping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Bill and Jayne couldnt have been more friendlier and helpful. Their selection of walks in the area is amazing! The food was very good (so many breakfast mueslis!), the bed was comfy, we had use of a lounge (great!). Couldn't fault any of that (although we missed our power shower!)...but as they say...location, location, location! It was disappointing that this lovely building was so close to the A40...( I couldnt tell from the map)..a very busy road..I couldnt have the window open at night for the noise of the traffic and you looked out on to it from the Doward room..dont get me wrong, we kept the window shut (although we were too warm) and the noise was bearable..so if this is not an issue for you then you'll be fine. And I cant stress enough how friendly Bill and Jayne were...thank you to them!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pswWoking_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

We are glad you really enjoyed your recent stay, that you enjoyed the breakfasts. Spending time in front of the log fire in the lounge during winter is a lovely way to spend an evening. Our house along with other properties is on the old Monmouth road which is very quiet and nearby is the A40, although as soon as spring arrives this road is shielded from view, the Doward room also has a beautiful view of the surrounding hills.
We are sure that all who stay with us enjoy the location with its great access to all that this area has to offer. Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Bill & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
601 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
605 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
860 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range: $107 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing