We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Norton House is a lovely old House full of charm and character. Bill and Jane are such good hosts it was like staying at a friend’s. They both have a great knowledge of the area so make sure you ask them. Great 4 days, would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micksalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
169
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A late arrival was accommodated by a very polite son of the proprietor. Tea and coffee was offered, and we were shown to our room. This was at the front of the house. Sash windows, shutters, window seat, soft White bedding, fresh white towels all made the room instantly appealing. iPod dock, flat screen tv with free view and wifi let you keep in touch with the world. Breakfast was fresh fruit salad then either beautifully cooked full English, freshly made American style pancakes, or a selection of top brand cereals.

The proprietors could not be more friendy or happy to help with local attractions, places to visit or things to do.

A very pleasing stay at a well run clean welcoming house, would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely two night stay at Norton House.
Bill and Jayne were the perfect hosts - very friendly and helpful with tips on local walks, places to eat, as well as leaving lovely treats for the guests in the lounge such as home baked brownies! Jayne's breakfasts were delicious and there is plenty of choice of what you'd like to eat. The bedrooms are very cosy and comfortable and it's like a home away from home feel which is perfect for a relaxing break.
There are plenty of stunning country and river walks nearby, and a trip to Monmouth or Ross-on-Wye is only a 5 minute drive away, where there are many good eateries.
Bill can advise you on local pubs which serve great evening meals within walking distance if you don't want to drive too.
Tintern is only a few miles south; a truly stunning setting next to the river, with the Abbey an interesting and pretty excursion well worth a few hours.
I can't recommend Norton House highly enough for a perfect break in beautiful surroundings with perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salt-Cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on a frosty night in early December. Once the door was opened and we walked into the festively decorated hallway we knew that we had booked our type of place. It had that welcoming feel to it.

The house itself is full of character and was spotlessly clean. The guests lounge was really cosy, with those squishy settees and they had stoked up the fire and logs were crackling and burning brightly. We sat, whilst enjoying home made cakes and tea and chatted with our hosts Bill and Jayne who were relatively new to Norton House, they regaled us with stories of their time spent in America. Our bedroom was really well kitted out, with lots of those important little extras such as bottled water and quality biscuits and if you require them, an iron and ironing board along with a good hair dryer. The bathroom too had an assortment of quality soaps and shampoos.
We had requested dinner and this was served in style in the dining room. The food was expertly cooked and included fresh vegetables from the local farmers market. How many B&B's serve locally grown Curly Kale? With a delicious Steak and Kidney Pie. Norton House is not licensed, but we were encouraged to bring our own wine, which was opened and ready for us when we came down for dinner. Lemon Sponge Pudding which was heaven sent and which my wife asked for the recipe for, was our dessert. To top off the evening our hosts brought out a complimentary plate of local cheeses which they had also bought that afternoon at the local market. We enjoyed coffee and chat and went off to bed believing that you couldn't get better. That was until they served breakfast. I expect many readers agree that this meal can make or break your stay, it does for my wife and I. It was sensational, truly a memorable full English. Local, local and local. Sausage, Bacon and Eggs that is.
When we got our bill, we both agreed that Norton House was one of our best finds of the year and very good value for money. We have already booked to return with friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpool1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

First of all we are not normally B&Bers, perceptions of being too chintzy and rooms being too small to relax in (realise that this is not always the case). However, after searching local accommodation and finding that even the budget accommodation offer was £60 per night we decided to extend our accommodation search and following favourable TA reviews, decent photos of the rooms showing lovely furniture and what appeared to plenty of space we decided to give it a go, it was just £10 per night more that the budget offer but a million miles away in terms of quality.

A lovely friendly welcome from Jayne, followed with tea and cake (the latter always being a winner with me) being brought to our room, we were given a key to the front door and told that we could come and go as we pleased. There was loads of information in the two guest lounges for us to pour over in terms of finding where to go and eat/visit.

After a good night's sleep (the only negative comment I have here is that the accommodation is near a dual carriageway and the noise does permeate into the rooms (that's not Norton House's fault though).

Breakfast was fantastic (Bill does the cooking) and Jayne skillfully managed to get us to advise a time that we might want to have breakfast the next day (there is a little form that we should have filled out and put out the night before), we remembered to do it the next day.

We had actually come down to compete in a fell race over at Llanbedr, well one of us had, I had planned an assault on the bookshops at Hay-on-Wye. Bill suggested a lovely route over the tops to HoW and then a drive back through the Golden Valley to Llanbedr which were both great.

When we retuned to NH there was some homemade fudge put out in the lounge, yum yum. After a meal at the Misbah Tandoori - fantastic, the evening was finished off with a lovely hot bath which you could stretch out in (I'm 5'10" and that doesn't happen to often).

Next morning we had fresh blueberry pancakes for breakfast, stuffed our faces and left. Our perceptions of B&Bs changed forever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trouble_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

when you walk into the building you feel settled straight away it has such a comfortable feeling. This is helped with a friendly welcome by bill and Jayne. A cup of coffee and home made brownies. The rooms are well apponted and cleaned to perfection. There are lovely little touches around including the provision of wine glasses and corkscrew. The house itself is comfortable to relax in. Plenty of advice from Bill regarding the area which we thankfully took. This led us to what I consider some fabulous parts of Britain. Good meals are available close by at the Old court Hotel and pub is just 100 yards away. The breakfasts are very good with the smell of home baked bread reaching your senses when you awaken. Another nice touch is home made preserves. Jayne the goosberry and elderflower was the one for me! Better than a lot of hotels that we have used spacious, friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling UK
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is truly more than a 'B&B'. from the welcoming coffee and cake, comfortable rooms and first class breakfasts we couldn't have asked for more. Jayne and Bill truly care that visitors enjoy their stay and do all they can to help achieve this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing