We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Moody Here !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing Moody Here !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had heard that this according to Tripadvisor to be the number one country pub in the area so our expectations were higher than usual.
However these were exceeded and we cannot praise this establishment enough.
The staff were quietly efficient but most importantly the landlord gave every diner his whole attention which was no mean feat on a busy Friday evening with the car park totally full (another good sign).
The menu is interesting without being too fussy & everything was cooked to perfection.
We were one of the latest bookings so naturally the last to leave but there was no hurry to see us leave & in fact we had a long & interesting discussion with the landlord re the naming of the restaurant & it’s subsequent by word of mouth popularity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow It was our pleasure to serve you and your recommendation is appreciated greatly.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back when you next visit Ross on Wye.

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    129
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely foo and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Four of us had a meal (evening) here last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is varied and the landlord explained that he does not have large amounts of any one choice as this is a better way of ensuring that the food is fresh. For me as a vegetarian, it was nice to have a choice of dish both for a starter and a main course. The service was excellent and there were comfy sofas to relax on after the meal. The pub has some extra little touches that make it interesting, but you will have to visit to find out what they are!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We always strive to have at least two vegetarian options for each course and we are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on the basis on good rating on trip advisor, went for Sunday lunch, good quality food however took an hour to come out, we were kinda left and had to go to the bar to ask for more drinks. The meat was lovely n the vegetables but i couldn't cut up the roasters but partner had to do it for me. I doubt we be back for Sunday lunch as I believe there be better out there for 14.95 per lunch however we may try one night in the week when it's quieter.
The two young waitresses were running around, felt sorry for them and from the atmosphere from paying the bill. The owner gives them a pretty hard time.
Gorgeous restaurant tho.

Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really very sorry that aspects of our service to you last Sunday let us down.

I know that at one point service was a little slower than usual although I was not aware that anyone had waited more than forty minutes for their main courses, but in any event we should have done much more to keep you informed and we do not expect you to have to come to the bar to get your own drinks, we are here to serve you and on this occasion we let you down.

You are quite right to raise the issue regarding our roast potatoes, we are having difficulty getting consistent supplies of maris piper potatoes from our suppliers and the marquis potatoes that we roasted last Sunday developed a rather leathery texture on the outside which is less desirable than the crunchy fluffy potatoes that we pride ourselves on.

We are working very hard with our suppliers to source the right variety of potato and can't wait for this seasons crop to be harvested.

I note your comments regarding our waitresses, last Sunday we had three waitresses on duty, one of which was undergoing her third on the job training session and working on a Sunday for the first time, this will involve a degree of coaching throughout service and a debrief session at the end of service when we all enjoy a drink together and review our collective performance through the day. I think your overall rating and your need to come to the bar to get your own drinks demonstrates that there was a need for us to learn some lessons but I am very sorry if this spoilt the atmosphere for you.

I do hope that you will visit us on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We called in before you were ready to open for lunch but were made very welcome; dog-not a problem, larger vehicle-not a problem. A great menu, great service, great food, great staff, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Went to The Moody Cow last night for my future mother in law's birthday. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the steak was lovely! They were very accommodating when we asked them to bring out a cake as well. First class, very much looking forward to another visit.

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home cooked food and our hospitality.

We really enjoyed your company and it was our pleasure to serve you, our waitresses thought it was so kind of you to share the birthday cake with them.

We do hope to see you again soon,

Kindest regards,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing