We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our b&b and we were very glad we followed it up and booked. The room has a lovely atmosphere, nice staff and the food was excellent! Well worth booking for this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home made food, the atmosphere and service.

I do hope that we will see you next time you visit Ross on Wye.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    134
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Dinner last night with my Father - food delicious - We both had the Burgers , only negative point, we sat by the door, otherwise a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are really very pleased that you and your Father enjoyed our homemade burgers. I know that it can sometimes be a little draughty by the front door and if we are able to we will always offer an alternative table.

We do hope that we will see you again next time you visit Ross on Wye.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive Service and Amazing Attention to Detail”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of 11 muddy walking friends descended upon this restaurant and we were greeted by a very warm welcome . Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and clearly passionate landlord and his staff also shared this ethos.

The food was outstanding quality, beautifully cooked and presented and we had a fantastic time. We are indeed planning our next trip back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. We are delighted that all of you enjoyed lunch with us last Sunday.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and great food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Called in for lunch on Friday. Very busy - always a good sign - and very helpful as we hadn't booked. Sat us in front of a log fire and sorted out our drinks whilst getting a table ready. Food was excellent and service pleasant and prompt. Will definitely be back again next time we are passing that way and the friends we met in Cardiff are going to visit on our recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9290steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed lunch with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Moody by name but not by nature!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've just eaten out at the Moody Cow whilst down here on a flying visit. The staff were all very welcoming and attentive. The menu was imaginative and varied, and it could have made several choices. We had a wait for our food which confirmed that it wasn't being heated in the microwave but being cooked fresh. Neither of us minded the wait as it gave us time to talk in the sociable, pleasant surroundings. Tony had the duck with rosti and I had the belly pork. Both dishes were very well cooked and delicious with just the right amount of meat and vegetables for us both. We had enough room left for dessert...just...I chose the profiteroles which were yummy, and Tony had a very light, tasty sticky toffee pudding with proper ice cream. We would certainly go there again if we were down this way, and probably room there too as one of the staff pointed out that they also do accommodation. THANKYOU to everyone for a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are all really delighted that you enjoyed our food. Our young team of chef's work very hard to ensure that every dish is prepared with great care and it is most rewarding for us all when that is recognised by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing