We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks, a must for Celiac's”
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited Moody Cow twice in August, food as always first class. A quality pub / restaurant where the staff ensure that eating here is a memorable experience. The fillet steak starter ( yes starter ) is not to be missed.
My wife is Celiac & is completely spoiled for choice with the menu, it not the case as normal, that she can have this or that dish ( apart from steak or fish ), but her she can have everything but this or that dish.
Discuss your requirements with Chris, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank skiclub11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for another excellent review. It does seem that intolerance to certain ingredients is an increasing trend these days and at the Moody Cow because we cook everything in our own kitchens we know exactly what ingredients we have used in each and every dish.

Nothing pleases us more than making our guests happy and nothing makes us happier than when our guests return to us again and again.

It is always our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 731 of 977 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not visited for several months, but pleased to say that when we went last Saturday, the welcome was as always very friendly and the service and food top notch.. Wont leave it so long next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always rewarding when our guests return and tell us they want to come back again, next time you visit us I hope we will have fresh free range eggs from our own hen's and we may even be smoking our own meat, fish and cheese!.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fab belly pork. Had scallops and chorizo starter, too much chorizo for me, strong flavours overpowered the scallops. Good wines and conscientious host. Clean and classy. Will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mariominers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our slow cooked belly of pork and also grateful that you gave us your feedback on the scallops you selected as your starter. I can remember discussing this with you when you visited us and as a consequence of your comments we have now modified the dish by incorporating the chorizo and black pudding into a tiny fritter, this has enabled us to achieve a better balance of flavours so that the subtle flavour of the scallops is not overpowered.
I hope we will have an opportunity to visit you in your restaurant soon.

Kind regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here on recommendation, and boy was it worth it .... a lovely leisurely Sunday Lunch. The pub and dining areas are immaculate. Clean, polished and obviously well loved. The owners and their staff are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
The home made tomato soup (made with tomatoes from their own garden) was divine, beautifully seasoned. The chicken liver pate and toasted brioche complimented perfectly with onion marmalade. The salmon and chorizo fishcakes were almost mousse like inside, cooked to perfection. Very well priced indeed and I couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Thank you to the Moody Cow for a very pleasant Sunday afternoon - next time we will pop back in the week and bring our dog, as they are mode most welcome by the proprietors .....
PS if I could give them 6 stars for the quality of the ingredients of the food I would.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home made soup and fishcakes. We love it when we are able to use fruit and vegetables from our kitchen garden as ingredients in our dishes, it makes such a difference.

It was lovely to see you on Sunday and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If a rural place is almost full at 7.30 pm on a week night then it obviously is appealing. Firstly you notice the good quality outside furniture ,the warm welcome and baronial setting of the restaurant. The food lives up to expectation..a starter of scallops with spicy black pudding fritters was excellent. My main of Belly Pork was beautifully crafted as was my wife's lamb.
We would not usually choose an Ice cream sundae for dessert but it proved to be delicious including sloe flavour and very good caramel sauce.
Overall a lovely experience and proof positive of how to run a successful rural pub .

Thank DangelaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for writing your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and the overall experience. It was our pleasure to serve you and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Moody Cow again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing