We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and inviting”
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service and attention to detail. The food was well presented, tasty and well prepared. The host and hostess made every one welcome in a warm and friendly manner.

Thank MeditatingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It delights us when one of our guests lets us know when we are getting it right, Dawn and I often feel that it is like having friends around for dinner and that is the atmosphere that we try to create.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moody Cow soon.

kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 829 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited the restaurant for a family birthday. Wonderful food with so many choices, amazing decor. Everyone was so friendly and could not do enough for us. It was very child friendly and the waitresses were so obliging. The owners take pride in giving you excellent service. We all had a great time and will definitely be visiting again. If you are near the area call in, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your family celebration with us. it was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited recently with some friends. The menu offers quite a large choice, but I suspect this can be managed by a high turnover and creative use of ingredients rather than resorting to a large freezer of bought-in stock.
For a starter, I had a spicy beef salad. The beef was in fairly small strips and "dressed" within a sticky spicy/sweet sauce and sat on a simple leaf salad. The result was delicious. I have never had anything like it before and it was a really good start to the meal, In fact, it was so good, I have completely forgotten what everyone else had!
For main course, I had the slow-cooked belly pork. Real comfort food. Most of the fat had drained out of the meat during cooking leaving succulent moist pork that melted in the mouth. The strip of crackling was appropriately crispy and the accompaniments were just fine. One of my companions had a vegetarian roulade as their main course and found it superb. It is great to see sucha high level of care and creativity going into vegetarian food.
Desserts were also great. I stuck to the chocolate brownies, but elsewhere at our table, the dohnuts were demolished with rapidity and enthusiasm.
At the end of the meal, the bill was pleasantly modest for food of this quality. The staff were consistently charming and helpful. The pub itself is attractice and relaxed in atmosphere. What's not to like? Keep it up. A great place to eat out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. It is so rewarding for us when a guest appreciates the care we put into our cooking and shares such fantastic feedback. We have a young team of chef's that are passionate about the food they create and when I share reviews like yours with them their faces light up.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've have been to the moody cow three times now and loved it every time. The food is superb, especially the steak and fish & chips. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The owners always take time to check how you are and take pride in what they do, unlike most pub/restaurants!!!!
If you are ever in the area then you must drop in and have a drink and some great home cooked food!

1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. it is very reassuring for us that on each of the three occasions that you have visited us we have delivered each time. We promise that we will all work as hard as we can to ensure that each time to come you will enjoy it at least as much as the last time.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Met up with my Girls Friends and had wonderful time.... We all had main and pud, which both, I must say were excellent! I enjoyed my Fish and Chips - GREAT CHIPS, light batter, succulent haddock, fab tartar sauce and... lovely mushy peas - perhaps it should really say in the menu that they are minted - they were delicious - I normally avoid MUSHY food.... ;-), plus i had a side salad which was just as nice as the rest - with lovely dressing, which often is missing on the salad.... Pud? - hmhmmmmm choc and orange tart with salted caramel and almonds... REALLY NICE!!!! (found banana milkshake a bit ... say: random? to go with it - but it was nice too..... - maybe coould be served with ice cream? or creme frais? not sure...
All was truly tasty, maybe a tiny bit pricey? it wont happen too often i suppose, but as a treat? great place to eat. THANK YOU :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aldona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow. We hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing