We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage but needs attention”
Review of May Hill View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Hill View
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton Bishop B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Lovely welcome from the very friendly owner
Cottage is very tiny, but spotless and well looked after
Lovely shower room with electric shower.
Unlimited heating
Steep stairs up to cottage.
Kitchen is only a side of the lounge, a lot, lot smaller than it looks on the pics
TV is tiny, we had to move the sofa to within a foot of it to see it.
No wi-fi
Running machine needs repair. No display working on bike or cross-trainer. Gym tiny, cramped and cold
Pool very cold, showers lovely and warm
Felt uncomfortable and time limited in the gym/pool. Only allowed one hour a day and have to go to main house for key.
Didn't try the jacuzzi as £35 for an hour seemed steep.
Hot plate when switched on blew all the fuses in the cottage.
Dogs woke us at 7am with constant barking and were not told to be quiet - barking continued all day
Curtains in bedrooms very thin so you need an eyemask (and ear plugs for the dogs)

Summary - nice enough place for two people (top bunk has no ladder and bottom bunk on floor) but we wouldn't go again which is a shame as it is in a gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to cottage so no disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at May Hill View. I like to encourage both B&B and Self Catering guests to give feedback – preferably whilst here giving me opportunity to address any issues immediately – but also post visit as in your case which then enables future guests to make their own judgement when looking at all reviews.
It is always a good idea for prospective guests to check any particular requirements on our website where we try our best to give a comprehensive and honest description of our facilities. Any misunderstandings regarding facilities and pricing can then be queried if necessary prior to making the booking.
Perhaps we didn’t quite meet your expectations on this occasion but, even though not staying with you at May Hill View, I am glad your son was able to have a swim with you and that you were able to delay your check out until 3pm. Being independent means we can afford that flexibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 1 night during half term week as we wanted to see the Severn bore and chose May Hill View as it was recommended by a link from the Severn Bore website. Great place to stay, Elaine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and the accommodation is very clean, pleasant and quaint. We were a mature group but can definately recommend for families with young children as the indoor pool makes an excellent facility which we were able to use (lots of inflatables and water polo net supplied-great fun!) and the shower/changing areas were excellent. Could not use outside jacuzzi due to weather and time restraints but have no hesitation in recommending this as a base to explore surrounding areas. Breakfast (continental) style was ample and well presented. Very clean and tidy. Our friends stayed in the double bedroom in the main house and were comfortable there as well, with tea making facilities and en-suite. Would have been happy to stay longer had it not been for weekend committments, but definately have no hesitaton in recommending Elaine and May Hill View.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you Russell for taking the time to write such lovely comments in your review of May Hill View. A short visit as you say-but it was a pleasure to meet you all.... Hopefully you may return one day - you still have to try the hot tub!! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in the self catering option. We had a fun packed week of adventures and loved coming back to our home for the week. Elaine was very welcoming and gave us everything we wanted. The location was great for walking our collie 'Rolo' with an average 15 minutes drive to the forestry commission. The week ended perfectly with a dip in the pool and a long romantic soak in the spa. Well worth the extra charge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for the review - so glad you and Rolo enjoyed your stay here. ps The earring - found in the Jacuzzi - is on its way !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed in the self-catering opition. Very clean, comfortable, tasteful and well maintained. Cannot fault it. Elaine was very warm and welcoming . The pool was great, our kids loved it.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for your great review of May Hill View - judging by today - you were very lucky with the weather ! Look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I don't normally write reviews on TripAdvisor but I felt the need to after our wonderful weekend at May Hill View. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and we had a lovely time. We originally wanted the B&B option but this wasn't available so we opted for room only, which was fine as there is plenty of places to eat out and a harvester just down the road. Elaine was so helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived (offered to put our wine in her fridge and got us some blankets from her home to use for our picnic) There is lots to do near by and lots of brochures in the rooms to help you decide. The whole area is just so beautiful and peaceful. The spa by candlelight is a must, very romantic! We can't compliment May Hill View enough and will definately be returning in the near future.

Deeanne & Ashley

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Lovely quiet spot, accommodation clean and well equipped with lots of personal touches. Access to a lovely big garden, and pool by arrangement. Close to A40 and Ross-on-Wye. Two dogs very friendly and quiet.

Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Admachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We found this place towards the end of a tour of Herefordshire and we're so glad we did! Elaine is really welcoming and makes you feel at home straight away. We made use of the pool and visited the Moody Cow pub (a stagger away) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We hope to come back again, maybe with the kids and will definitely be recommending to family and friends. Great value for money and a beautiful place, thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilstarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Thank you for your review - I hope to welcome you back some time as you say - with the children!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to May Hill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hill View

Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upton Bishop
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hill View offers 4 star boutique accommodation. The perfect peaceful retreat and excellent base for exploring the beautiful Herefordshire Countryside, The Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, Cheltenham and Gloucester. A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests to May Hill View with many making return visits. Couples and families alike enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and private use of the Indoor Swimming Pool and other Leisure Facilities onsite. May Hill View is available for Bed and Breakfast, Self Catering or Room-Only Accommodation throughout the year. Long or short breaks, romantic getaways or business trips. Small dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing