We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break in a beautiful setting”
Review of May Hill View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Hill View
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton Bishop B&B and Inns
Nr Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing break in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed in the self-catering opition. Very clean, comfortable, tasteful and well maintained. Cannot fault it. Elaine was very warm and welcoming . The pool was great, our kids loved it.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your great review of May Hill View - judging by today - you were very lucky with the weather ! Look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I don't normally write reviews on TripAdvisor but I felt the need to after our wonderful weekend at May Hill View. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and we had a lovely time. We originally wanted the B&B option but this wasn't available so we opted for room only, which was fine as there is plenty of places to eat out and a harvester just down the road. Elaine was so helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived (offered to put our wine in her fridge and got us some blankets from her home to use for our picnic) There is lots to do near by and lots of brochures in the rooms to help you decide. The whole area is just so beautiful and peaceful. The spa by candlelight is a must, very romantic! We can't compliment May Hill View enough and will definately be returning in the near future.

Deeanne & Ashley

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Lovely quiet spot, accommodation clean and well equipped with lots of personal touches. Access to a lovely big garden, and pool by arrangement. Close to A40 and Ross-on-Wye. Two dogs very friendly and quiet.

Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Admachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We found this place towards the end of a tour of Herefordshire and we're so glad we did! Elaine is really welcoming and makes you feel at home straight away. We made use of the pool and visited the Moody Cow pub (a stagger away) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We hope to come back again, maybe with the kids and will definitely be recommending to family and friends. Great value for money and a beautiful place, thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilstarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for your review - I hope to welcome you back some time as you say - with the children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Fantastic self catering accommodation, very well equipped and full of character. Elaine is lovely and always on hand to help. The leisure facilities are an added bonus and were a pleasure to use.
Thank you Elaine and hope to see you again soon.
Neal, Emma and Max

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you staying at May Hill View - so glad you enjoyed yourselves and made full use of the pool. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Well placed for local places of interest. Quiet location. Very clean. Moody Cow pub close by, good food. Room only basis was fine. Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyWestmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your great review - I will look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is self catering accomodation of a superb standard , everything that you would normaly take with you is already there from kitchen to shower room and Elaine replenishes it all every day for you . The swimming pool is perfect for parents with very young children and to jump in the hot spa in the evening looking across open fields with a back drop of the Forest in the distance , Enough said bring on the return visit. Kevin ,Anna and Emily Parker

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArtfullLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the pool and hot tub. I hope baby Emily never loses her beautiful smile! Would love you to come again sometime...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton Bishop
6.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
178 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raglan House
Raglan House
#20 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hill View

Property: May Hill View
Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upton Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hill View offers 4 star boutique accommodation. The perfect peaceful retreat and excellent base for exploring the beautiful Herefordshire Countryside, The Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, Cheltenham and Gloucester. A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests to May Hill View with many making return visits. Couples and families alike enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and private use of the Indoor Swimming Pool and other Leisure Facilities onsite. May Hill View is available for Bed and Breakfast, Self Catering or Room-Only Accommodation throughout the year. Long or short breaks, romantic getaways or business trips. Small dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing