We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Ross on Wye”
Review of May Hill View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Hill View
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton Bishop B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is self catering accomodation of a superb standard , everything that you would normaly take with you is already there from kitchen to shower room and Elaine replenishes it all every day for you . The swimming pool is perfect for parents with very young children and to jump in the hot spa in the evening looking across open fields with a back drop of the Forest in the distance , Enough said bring on the return visit. Kevin ,Anna and Emily Parker

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArtfullLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the pool and hot tub. I hope baby Emily never loses her beautiful smile! Would love you to come again sometime...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a B&B with extras. I thought it was very good value for money.
A perfect location to discover the Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley.

Elaine made us feel very much at home and little bit spoiled! How often does a B&B offer a smart, new pool to swim in and a night time spa in the secluded garden overlooking fields complete with candles and wine.

This was our first weekend away as a couple and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Elaine is pretty flexible - B&B turned out to be access to the whole appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. The Spa by Candlelight is proving to be very popular and I am happy to be able to offer rather a different way to celebrate a special occasion. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and considered yourselves 'spoilt' at May Hill View!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I were drawn to this region because of the forest and really wanting to get away somewhere special for our 1st year anniversary. Upon arrival we were welcomed with all the personal touches to make you feel like you were staying with family/friends. Elaine has a lovely property and when inside you feel like it's you and the meadows and that's it. There is s a swimming pool to use, lovely laws to lounge on in the sun and the local pub 2 minutes up the road. I highly recommend the outdoor candle lit spa package for a lovely way to celebrate or just be romantic.

Inside the cottage you have everything to really feel at home and gorgeous exposed beams to feel in the country. Clean, tidy and definitely exceeds expectations with the personal touches.

A place we will definitely return to...
Thanks Elaine for making our stay so memorable.

Kim and Georgina O'Mara

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

What a super review Kim and Georgina - it was lovely to meet you and make your first anniversary memorable. Come back soon ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Self-catering cottage in attractive location. Size and location really suited our needs.
Only drawbacks were not having wi-fi (although it was possible to log on at the owner's house) and not having own washing machine (although again it was accessible for an additional cost).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennyb050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are in a very handy position to get out and about exploring this beautiful part of the countryside. Just to clarify - guests requiring internet access are happy to pop across the garden to the main residence and any emergency laundry requirements on short break stays are dealt with free of charge if requested (particularly if there are young children staying). There is however, a charge for using the laundry facilities for stays of one week or more when bedding and towels etc. would need laundering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Accomadation clean, everything we needed was there.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi were a real bonus.
Elaine was very helpful and friendly.
Ideally located to explore the wye valley and forest of dean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithbutroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here as part of anniversary weekend away.
Had a lovely, comfortable stay and was well looked after.
Very reasonablly priced for B&B with a pool (though weren't told until we arrived that the pool was an extra £5 PP per hour) but had the pool to ourselves and it made for a relaxing swim (/float) before heading out to dinner.
Elaine was very helpful and recommended / booked a local pub - The Glasshouse (great pub).
Didnt get breakfast but were told about that prior to the stay - Premier Inn down the road sorted that. I believe most people do get breakfast though.

Overall thorougly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomElaineWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at May Hill View and Elaine's hospitality was very welcome. The breakfast that was prepared for us was fresh and included a selection of choices. We were impressed with the size of the accomodation and enjoyed having the extra space to sit and relax in the front room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamj6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to May Hill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hill View

Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upton Bishop
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hill View offers 4 star boutique accommodation. The perfect peaceful retreat and excellent base for exploring the beautiful Herefordshire Countryside, The Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, Cheltenham and Gloucester. A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests to May Hill View with many making return visits. Couples and families alike enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and private use of the Indoor Swimming Pool and other Leisure Facilities onsite. May Hill View is available for Bed and Breakfast, Self Catering or Room-Only Accommodation throughout the year. Long or short breaks, romantic getaways or business trips. Small dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing