We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant

The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Goodrich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hostelrie at Goodrich is a country inn with rooms, a restaurant and bar. The 18th century gothic style building is situated in the pretty village of Goodrich, which is in the stunning Wye Valley close to the edge of the beautiful Forest of Dean surrounded by many historic market towns such as Ross on Wye and Monmouth the gateway to Wales. The Hosterlrie is family owned and run by the Landlord Ayrton. We want to make your experience with us memorable by providing a warm, friendly atmosphere along with great food, a fine selection of local ales and good wines.We look forward to welcoming you at the Hostelrie. Ayrton Lowther
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

As a family or a couple, we've been to The Hostelrie about 8 times this year. A new chef has been brought in and is making a fantastic impact.

To date, not one bad meal. Burgers are very tasty, steaks are very tender and beautifully cooked, pies are excellent. The menu is simple but uses local produce and is well presented. Last week I had ham, egg and chips - simple, the ham was probably the best I've ever tasted.

The new owner is turning the place around and we are very happy to be part of this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maturin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    37
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Rock solid mushee peas and "Half a Burger!?!"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I decided to book a table for Saturday lunch as there were 7 in our party including two children and after looking at their impressive website and reviews on Tripadvisor I assumed it would be busy.
They didn't reply to my booking enquiry by email, there was no answer when i phoned, so I had to pop in to book the table...and I don't live locally! so not the best start!
When we arrived on the day booked, the place was completely empty (so was no need to book ironically!) but we were greeted by a friendly lady.
The menu was not the same as on the website (which is why we booked, again ironically!) Instead of the locally sourced beautiful cuts of simply cooked meat etc. the menu they gave us was just a bog standard mish mash of a pub menu.
They had run out of three of the mains chosen by our party! and as i initially agreed with the pub owners view on serving children the same food as adults (not chicken nuggets etc) we ordered a burger for one of the children.
However, when the food arrived she was not impressed to receive an adult burger that had been cut in half! ...where was the other half, we joked about it being kept on ice for the next child ordering a burger?! Or was it the chefs snack?!
I had the worst meal of fish and chips I had ever eaten, the mushy peas looked they had been sitting on the plate for days and then nuked in the microwave for an hour the crust was so thick and hard!
A friendly man chatted to us while we ate, which turned out to be the new ish owner! But he did not ask us if we were enjoying our meal or needed anything. He was more interested in telling us about the new climbing frame he had just bought for the pub garden!
Very nice for the kids, but maybe he should have sorted out the basics like food, menu and service first!
After we had finished as we all wanted desert or coffee, but there was no one around to order from and no dessert menu or board to be found, so we left! and will definitely not return or recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortheloveofpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steak cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The new landlord Ayrton is very welcoming and truly makes a customer feel at home. I sat in a lovely spot next to the wood burner where I ordered a Rib Eye Steak from the specials board and I have to say it was cooked to perfection. I feel I must comment on the presentation as it was very eye catching with an array of salad, mushrooms and a whole fried tomato accompanied by a bowl of chips.

The wine menu is extensive and I could easily have drunk too much :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice little pub great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

10 of us had a great meal in a small village nice log fire nice staff lots on special board apart from vegaterian options would return

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank missbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Came here a few times during the new year period, found the food superb and at good prices, staff and landlord are very helpful and friendly. Shall stay here on business when back in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianfromhildenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing