We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adrian D
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second trip to this cottage, and like our trip in March we were extremely jammy with the weather so once again had a fantastic time enjoying the walks and scenery.

The location of this cottage is excellent for us as there are two very good pubs in the village, the Cross Keys which was our favorite and we had an excellent meal there and also the Hostelrie which is very nice too which you can both walk to, and a little further out is the Inn on the Wye and Mill Race in Walford which are both well worth a visit.

The other reason we loved the location is that there are plenty of walks right on your doorstep and we really enjoyed the views from Coppet Hill (which you can see from the cottage) and if you are up for a bit of a walk,Symonds Yat is approx 80 minute walk from the cottage.

As for the cottage it is beautiful, a very peaceful location in the grounds of the owners house, it has a very well equipped Kitchen and we loved the big comfortable bed. The only issue we had was that the weather was so good we did not get to use the log burner but we certainly enjoyed that on our visit in March.

The owners Liz and John are both lovely and helpful and a pleasure to deal with so we thoroughly recommend this both for the quality of the accommodation and the excellent and very pretty locale that it resides in.

Just one point, if WiFi is important to you it is worth checking with the owner whether the fibre optic upgrade this is imminently due has sorted out the issue that you cannot really get Wifi inside the cottage as we had to use this in the owners garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom Kitchen Location Peacefulness
Liked least: Could not get WiFi inside the cottage, how was I to boast to my Facebook friends what a great time we were having :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londongal...
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just back from our visit to Goodrich and our stay at the Granton Coach House. A really tastefully refurbished property, retaining lots of character. I was particularly struck by the imaginative use of lighting. There is plenty of space and the kitchen very well equipped. (There is also a utility room). Spotlessly clean and very comfortable bed and sofa. We had fresh eggs left for us on arrival and other home grown produce during our stay which was much appreciated and just one of the little touches that makes this place so special. It's in a great location - easy driving for all Wye Valley sites and beyond, we didn't have to spend hours in the car getting from A to B which was nice. Two good pubs within walking distance but you will need a torch to see your way home. There is one at the property but not very bright so if you don't have a torch app on your phone I'd recommend just taking a torch along with you. Ye Hostelrie was our favourite pub - a short cut through the local church graveyard in daylight, up to you if you want to do that at night! The other pub, the Cross Keys seems to be more of a restaurant but good food and very popular. I'll review them separately if you want to check them out. Supermarkets in Ross on Wye and Monmouth depending on which way you are travelling from, for a shop before you arrive. We didn't need to use the local shop (opposite Ye Hostelrie) so can't comment on that.

I would say that the only reason that I haven't given a full marks is because the DVD player packed up (we were planning a bit of a boxset binge for a couple of evenings!) However I understand that's been replaced so all should be fine now in that respect.

All in all a super little find and will definitely be recommending to friends and family. Thanks to John and Liz for providing such a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Patchy wi fi in the area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizziewye...
wye valley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely setting, very peaceful, loved listening to the birds in morning. Great pub within walking distance, lots of places nearby to visit.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east Lancashire
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rugby
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crawley
Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nick b
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FANTASIC, FANTASIC, FANTASIC, FANTASIC,”
Reviewed January 14, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We were looking for a get away for the week over new year 2011 - 2012 and we found this fantastic place, the owners were on hand if we needed more wood for the fire, other than that you never saw them.
The Hostelry is the local pub; it’s fantastic if you go say hello to Alan and his family and Give Bob there lab a stroke from us.
Cottage was as you see it in the pics, its fantastic, clean and warm, very warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and peice
Liked least: wifi didn't work so we couldn't resurch where to go easly
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing