We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hostelrie at Goodrich
Ranked #1 of 1 Goodrich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Rang to book a table for 4. On arrival bar man quite pleasant. The only positive. Had a table in bar....thought there was a restaurant? Menu on boards, no children's menu??? Had to order at bar. Very limited staff knowledge of menu. Food at best ok. Mushy peas rancid...in edible! No check back from staff, no extra drinks offered. No customer care evident at all. Hardly surprising that very quiet especially compared to cross keys a few mins away. Cannot comment on rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyP260772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    48
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
109
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyable stay, friendly staff and helpful. The food was of a excellent standard, tasty and well presented, both from the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was included, and again very nice, the portions were just right, and a choice of full English, cereals and toast. The bedroom was a nice size for a double, with en suit clean bathroom. Could have done with a clean around the skirting boards and carpet edges, in the room. the free view kept cutting out, but that's my only complaints. Very comfortable bed clean covers, and slept well. The location not to far from Ross and the river, in a quiet country village. The manager was quick to help with any questions, in a friendly manor. We shall visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirensned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just had a short break here. Very impressed by the overall welcome when you arrive. Ayrton made a special point of introducing himself to us. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped with a good walk-in shower and ample thick towels.
Very quiet village with one small shop but Monmouth & Ross are not far away if you need a newspaper etc. The Forest of Dean and Symmonds Yat are just two places to head to to appreciate the amazing scenery in this part of the world. The car park is nice and big, and easily accessible from the garden, which is large, well kept & has plenty of tables/umbrellas.
We had dinner on one evening which came quickly & was good - the home-made pannacotta was delicious! Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it! My only niggle was that there was no fruit, just boxes of cereals. However, bearing in mind the reasonable cost of this B&B it was very good value overall.
Would definitely return if in that area again.

Room Tip: We were in Coppetts which had views over the roof tops to Coppett Hill. Not a huge room but very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just had a 2 night Break staying at THE HOSTELRIE, I must say we had a lovely stay...the new owners only took the place over last December and are striving to make improvements...the bar is very welcoming as are the staff, it has a beautiful restaurant with a great menu. Breakfast on both days were very good, I'd go so for to say one of the best we''ve had while away....we dined there on the Sunday night and we both thought the food was lovely, as I'm a right foodie thats very good coming from me....the room we had was very clean and comfortable and very quite so you can get a really good nights sleep, all in all a very nice place to stay we will definitely go back...well done to you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieandmick2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was clean and well presented and the staff were very attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was freshly cooked and filling. Bar pleasant with a good choice of local real ale and other choices. Is well located for touring the local area. All in all, very good value for money. Will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MynameisnotEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This B+B is good value for money. The location is good, staff very friendly, and the rooms are clean, basic but satisfactory.
A safe choice.
Breakfast is good. There are other good pubs and restaurants nearby.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had an overnight stay and will definitely stay here in the future
A very warm welcome on arrival for both us and our dog.
Bedroom was comfortable with all the usual facilities.(the owner informed us that eventually all the bedrooms will be getting a make over to match the one the downstairs has already received)
The Bar and Restaurant are well decorated and welcoming,the bar serving a selection of real ales and ciders.
The menu was small but had something for everyone with some interesting choices alongside the more usual.
Our evening meal was good as was the breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodrich
2.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostelrie at Goodrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostelrie at Goodrich

Property: The Hostelrie at Goodrich
Address: Goodrich, Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Goodrich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goodrich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostelrie at Goodrich is a country inn with rooms, a restaurant and bar. The 18th century gothic style building is situated in the pretty village of Goodrich, which is in the stunning Wye Valley close to the edge of the beautiful Forest of Dean surrounded by many historic market towns such as Ross on Wye and Monmouth the gateway to Wales. The Hosterlrie is family owned and run by the Landlord Ayrton. We want to make your experience with us memorable by providing a warm, friendly atmosphere along with great food, a fine selection of local ales and good wines.We look forward to welcoming you at the Hostelrie. Ayrton Lowther ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hostelrie at Goodrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hostelrie At Goodrich Hotel Goodrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing