We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food - large portions!”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Peterstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. Gluten free, celiac etc meals available, speak to a member of staff.6 Real Ales, ice cold draught lagers and guinness and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good pub food - large portions!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of Steph at Red Rail Farm, where we were staying. We understand the pub is under new management. The food was good pub fare - I had a very good steak and ale pie! But the portions were huge! We were really hungry having been walking all day, so we ordered a starter but then couldn't finish the mains.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    94
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"We will be back"”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

With friends, we have not been camping here since we knew it as "Charlies" a couple of years ago. Camping field is always firm even after downpours. New hosts in the pub are making the venue a place to re-visit, good value food, nothing negative to report, a big A+ from us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lancepar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm welcome but needs a little TLC”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A good rating on trip advisor led us to the Red lion and I have to say I think it's a little over rated ... But don't take that as it's poor... I just expected more.

Service was very friendly and my meal was generous and well cooked (sea bass), my partners curry was not as good...But I did feel as though more could be made of the interior ... The feel of the place did not match the service and standard of food.

We would not hesitate going again, but I'd also look for somewhere else first.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_7Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“last minute booking”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were staying in a campsite nearby and wanted to celebrate my son's birthday. We rang to book and thank goodness we did-we were a table of 15. The food was outstanding and no complaints from anyone including my fussy son! Portion sizes were extraordinary...... only downside - no room for pudding!!!! We will definitely be booking again if we visit this area again. Well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Loverly Hidden Jem”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Myself & some friends were on our way back from Simmonds Yat when we passed the Red Lion & thought it deserved a visit as we were hungry. From start to finish the overall experiance was great. Great beer, great service , great food & great atmosphere, as you can guess by now i think the Red Lion is great ! The waitress was so friendly & helpful, some of my fussy friends asked would it be possible, this was not only done very well but other options were made available, nothing was a problem. Thats what you call proper service. When the food arrived it was fresh, hot & colourful, even the salad chopped apple in , nice touch , great chef. We had ribs, sandwiches, fresh pies & the chicken with basil mash & tomatoes, all were superb, better than discribed, full of flavour. A real pleasure & even though we live 50 miles away , we will be back at sometime soon. Everyone should try the food here. The mix of tables & chairs outside was a nice idea, well thought out. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing