We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty slice of country life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

FIRST WORDS: Spectacular Seclusion
BEST FOR: A couple (or 2 couples).
HIGHLIGHT: Fire place roaring with a glass of Stonehurst port.

It's a shame that some areas of the Hunter Valley wine region are spoilt by big producers, hotels, and touristy gimmicks – because it really is beautiful Australian countryside. In saying that, there is still lots of raw bushland and some real treasures hidden amongst the gums. Stonehurst (Cedar Creek cottages) is definitely one of them. Rustic old cottages amongst the vineyards, surrounded by wildlife, farm animals and fresh country air.

We stayed in 'Timbercutters'; a beautiful old-style wooden cottage with a serene view over the vines. Although you feel completely isolated, Stonehurst is a short drive to some incredible restaurants (such as Bistro Molines) which are well worth your hard earned pennies. Our favourite evening was spent drinking wine in our cottage, eating fresh produce bought from the locals, and then tucking in to the complimentary bottle of port by the fireplace (Stonehurst knows how to make a good drop) .

The hosts are incredible and invite you to walk around the farm, always accompanied by one of their friendly dogs, through the paddocks and creeks. I recommended this to a friend of mine who has been back 3 times, and in my humble opinion it is the best place to stay in the Hunter Valley. Off the beaten track and a fair-dinkum great place. If you can do without a few of the creature comforts of a fancy hotel, then this is your spot.

OTHER STUFF: The breakfast hamper was filled with fresh eggs, bread, bacon and other goodies and there is a relatively well equipped kitchen to prepare in. Fire place for the winter, air-con for the summer. BBQ area, outdoor dining, and a huge property to discover. Short drive to town, wineries and restaurants.

LAST WORDS: If it weren't for the blanket of stars at night, you would be in dead blackness. No city lights, no sirens, no dramas. A great escape from the city.

Fork-Yeah
M&D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fork-Yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have very fond memories of Cedar Creek Cottages.
I stayed there with my wife a number of years ago. It proved to be the perfect place to stay.
The cottages are exceedingly comfortable and the food and wine very good indeed.
The whole area is surrounded by beautiful countryside. We enjoyed some great walks and followed some rough forest trail roads to an isolated spot that provided panoramic views of the entire area.
Additionally we went to see Shirley Bassey perform under the stars at one of the local vineyards. She was simply stupendous.
All in all we had a simply great time.
You must go there:

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What an absolute delight it was staying at The Gatekeepers Cottage.
We were greeted on the porch by Shamus and Paddy, two dogs straight out of a fairytale. They joined us on walks, and quietly sat nearby loving any attention that they were given.
The cottage was well appointed with two large bedrooms, and could accommodate more with the trundle beds and fold outs. The open plan living/dinning area is immense and easily seats a group of eight. The kitchen has everything one needs including a large breakfast basket and has two refrigerators (one for food and one for beverages) Speaking of beverages, the selection of their wines all at very reasonable prices is available should you get thirsty, and the port is free for the drinking!
Highly recommended! the view from the porch is to die for.
We are looking forward to our next visit :)
note: very hard to get any cell phone coverage

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn_in_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spend 2 nights in Gardeners Cottage ...the view over the Vineyard was amazing, the sun, clouds and (some)rain added to the dramatic view. The cottage was clean, Bed was sooo comfy..........Kitchen basic but easy to make your own gourmet meal (prawn asparagus & tomato spaghetti with a nice bottle of Stonehurst semilion :) eating on veranda overlooking the vineyards ...Wine was the best even Walked to the Cellar Door to get some more :) breakfast basket such a nice touch. Phillipa and Daryl are doing everything they can to make it a pleasant stay...I will definitely return with or without friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da_Dutchy_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the gate keepers cottage mid December and overall enjoyed our stay. There were some things that let down the property, however I'll start with the pros. The cottage was really sweet, the rustic furnishings added so much charm. The view is amazing, you really do get taken away when you're sitting on the verandah overlooking the vineyards. It is remote, so if you're after a romantic getaway where you're un contactable, this is the place. The cons- the beds are very uncomfortable. Breakfast was provided and it included a generous amount of eggs, tomatoes, and sliced bread. This is where the big con comes. The bread was out of date, not by a day or 2 but by 5 whole days. I only realised when I put slices into the toaster and found it odd that the bread had a strong smell. It turned me right off, maybe I'm being a little dramatic but I really felt sick. Other than those 2 cons the property really is lovely, just check the dates before eating.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgette81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Gatekeeper's Cottage and loved our time there! The view from the cottage was gorgeous as it overlooked the vineyard. The cottage was nice and clean and had most amenities. Our hostess, Phillipa, was a gem :) She knew that we did not have any transport out and arranged a sumptuous BBQ dinner for us. She and her husband, also took us on a tour of the farm on their truck which my little one and parents were super thrilled with.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had 2 nights in Howells Cottage and just loved it. It was plenty big enough for the 2 of us and had a lovely romantic and relaxed feel. The kitchenette was small but well equipped and we had no trouble preparing a gourmet dinner (we had our own supplies). When we arrived we opened a bottle of Sparkling white from the fridge "mini" bar and sat on our balcony with a lovely cheese platter and enjoyed the late afternoon view over the vineyard - so peaceful and relaxing! It was a cool night so my hubby lit the fire which provided just the right amount of warmth. The breakfast supplies were plentiful and fresh. We went for 2 early morning walks around the deer paddocks and up the hill and also along the creek - it was a great way to start each day. On the first day we were lucky enough to have the 2 dogs from the property join us. Darrel and Philipa were very helpful with guidance on where to walk etc and even though we approached their gorgeous homestead (which is where the walk started from) at 620am in the morning they were already up and busy and more than happy to stop for a chat. They have done an amazing job with the cottages and winery and it was very interesting reading the history and information about them provided in our cottage. We went for a wine tour while we were there with 2 Fat Blokes Tours and we were picked up at the Winery Cellar Door - very convenient. We loved it here it really is a special place - very peaceful and very relaxing I only wish we could have stayed 1 more night.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaLa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine

Address: 1840 Wollombi Rd, Cedar Creek, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Creek
Price Range: $142 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 550 acres in the Wollombi area of the Hunter Valley, NSW. The cottages have wonderful views overlooking our vineyards and the valley beyond. Wood-fires, spa-baths, air-conditioning, privacy assured. Self-contained with kitchen and wood BBQ. Tariff includes country breakfast hamper, port and chocolates and midday checkout. Great location and hospitality. Relax on the verandah with a glass of our organic Stonehurst Wine and enjoy the wonderful birdlife, animals and night skies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing