We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taghkanic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Taghkanic B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. This charming farmhouse was welcoming and immaculate. Loretta was extremely inviting. The only issue was there was no wireless internet signal in the D'artagnan room (it is detached from the rest of the house). I am looking forward to returning when I am in town visiting family!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic! The D'artagnan is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopbjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChangingTimesBB, Owner at Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It was great having you as our guest and meeting Lucy! We sincerely apologize for the internet issue. When we first bought the B&B in 2006, we had to use dial up and totally understand how frustrating staying anywhere without internet access or spotty cell phone service can be. It's one of the challenges being out in the country, which is why earlier this year we invested in a new Cisco Router and purchased the most powerful one we could for home use. We also relocated the router from the basement to our office in the Antique Shop specifically to ensure our Garden Rom has as strong a signal as possible. It seems to be working now, but thank you so much for letting us know. We'll be sure to follow up with future guests after check in to ensure they are connecting alright and monitor this problem closely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent last night at the Changing Times B&B. I am so happy we have discovered this charming gem. We were greated so graciously by our hostess Loretta. She was so welcoming and helpful. Her home is very beautifully decorated and spotless. Our room was spacious yet cozy, the beds a dream! This morning we were served a huge, delicious breakfast by Loretta in her lovely dining room. Our stay was topped off by a successful visit to the antique shop located in the barn at the B&B!
We had such a wonderful time staying here that my husband and I have booked again for a weekend in the fall to go "leaf peeping". I cannot wait.

Room Tip: Our room, the Aramis was perfect. Loretta was kind enough to show us her other rooms and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChangingTimesBB, Owner at Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It was so nice to meet you and your family and it was truly just as delightful for us too! We understand guests have a lot of choice when it comes to choosing a place to stay and that some people are leery of B&Bs in general. So we work extra hard to try and provide an exceptional experience down to the smallest details and really appreciate your taking time to write such a nice review! Looking forward to seeing you again in the Fall. Loretta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay in Rhinebeck, NY for the Country Living Fair, but everything booked up quickly. So, we found Changing Times B & B in Columbia County, online and Loretta told us it was about 30 minutes north of Rhinebeck. So we booked with her. As soon as we arrived on Friday afternoon, she greeted us outside and told us that we were being upgraded to her family room. That was a wonderful surprise! This room is separate from the main house behind her antique barn. You walk through a very lovely garden to its outdoor patio, with a great teak table and chairs. Inside, the room was decorated so beautifully. It has a queen sized bed, great linens, plenty of pillows, tiled floors throughout, claw foot tub, bunk beds, fridge, microwave, dishes, glasses, coffee machine, table and chairs, TV, separate heat and air conditioning, and lovely windows with great views. It was spotless! Loretta left us a lovely vase of fresh flowers from her garden, (such a delightful touch) candy, nuts, bottled water, ice tea, soda, cookies (all complimentary). There was also, hot chocolate, coffee pods, tea, creamers, and even a wine opener. She gave us great wine glasses, too.

Loretta asked us what time we would like to have breakfast. It was three courses including coffee, tea, juices, baked goods, fruit, eggs any way you like, waffles and pancakes. Bacon, sausage and home fries were served family style. Also, available were cereal and yogurt. Everything was delicious and plentiful! Plus, the guests were wonderful, interesting people.

Loretta and Jim were very pleasant, cordial and informative. Loretta gave us excellent suggestions on restaurants and nearby towns and events. There was a town-wide garage sale in Catskill just north of her that was lots of fun. She suggested a great Mexican restaurant in the town of Hudson which we probably would not have visited, if she had not recommended it. Also, the local Italian restaurant, which you could walk to, was casual with really good pizza!

We skipped the Country Living Fair on Friday due to the rain, but visited antique shops in Hyde Park, Rhinebeck, and Red Hook, all in the Hudson Valley region. The fair on Saturday was amazing and so was the weather. On Sunday, before we were leaving, Loretta and Jim opened the barn and antique shop. So all the guests had a fantastic time shopping and everyone went home with some special treasures.

Even though our room was separate from the main house, we were welcomed to relax in the living room, where there was also coffee, cookies and fruit. The terrific front porch with wicker furniture was another option, too. We loved our room, it was spacious and gave us lots of privacy and conveniences.

We had such a great time exploring the area and Loretta and Jim made everything so comfortable and pleasant. Changing Times B & B is very charming with Loretta's own fabulous decorating touches! It's immaculate, too, which is a big factor for us.

So don't delay planning your next getaway at Changing Times B & B! You will be wonderfully treated by gracious hosts in a home away from home!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChangingTimesBB, Owner at Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We loved having you both as our guests and appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay here at Changing Times. I knew I was with kindred souls that weekend as Country Living magazine is my absolute favorite quick read and there's a copy on hand in every room of the B&B. Our sign by the way stated out as the headboard to a queen bed, what can I say when inspiration strikes! Have a wonderful summer and thanks again for the tickets to the Fair on Sunday. We had a great time! Loretta and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaD_11
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Changing Times B&B for two nights in early May. We were beyond satisfied with our stay here. Loretta and Jim were incredible hosts. From the moment we arrived they were extremely hospitable, warmly welcoming us into their home.

The location of the B&B is perfect, close to the beautiful little towns of Hudson and Catskill but still in the lovely West Taghkanic countryside. The B&B itself is situated on a lovely block of land which is very well maintained. We were able to enjoy the view from the porch or from the outdoor seating provided.

The rooms were lovely and very cosy, just what a good B&B should be like. The decor was elegant and it had a lovely antique feel to it. Everything was immaculate (and I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness!). When Loretta found out we were on our honeymoon, she upgraded us to the larger sized room as it was available that day. When we moved all our luggage across we found that she had left us a bottle of champagne and two glasses as a 'Congratulations'. It was such a lovely gesture. Although one room (our first room) was slightly smaller than the other, both were beautiful.

The three course breakfasts each morning were a treat and so delicious! We were presented with a selection of fruit, followed by a delicious pastry (Jim's grilled blueberry muffins were amazing!!!) For third course, Loretta gave us many delicious options. Eggs any way we wanted with a choice of english muffin, whole wheat toast, french toast (Jim's specialty!) and waffles. Each choice was served with a lovely share platter of bacon, sausage and home fries. Everything was made from scratch and everything was very fresh and tasty. An amazing way to start the day!

Both Loretta and Jim were happy to share their knowledge of the area and gave us many great tips for how to spend our time in the Hudson Valley. They also gave us several tips of what to do in NYC which was one of our next stops. They are originally from Long Island and gave us several good suggestions. They are both very knowledgeable about the Hudson Valley area. Loretta has started up a website about the Hudson area to assist guests with finding accommodation and also give some helpful hints about what to see and do. The link is:

www.hudsonarealodging.com

I used it myself before our arrival in Hudson and found it to be very useful and thought it deserved a mention on this review.

From our arrival to our departure everything at Changing Times B&B was perfect. Thank you Loretta and Jim for making our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: All are lovely! If travelling with a family, they have a beautiful suite that has a king bed and bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChangingTimesBB, Owner at Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Changing Times and for taking the time to write a review. We always enjoy when guests are celebrating special events with us and there is none sweeter than Honeymooners! I'm glad HudsonAreaLodging.com was helpful planning your stay. I created the site so visitors know what's good and don't miss the best this amazing area has to offer. Jim and I wish you both many more adventures and a wonderful life together .

Loretta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we came to view the fall foliage. The house is lovely, the bedroom nicely decorated with a wonderfully comfortable bed, and the shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. Breakfast was delicious and so large that I skipped lunch. Loretta and Jim are charming hosts and make you feel welcome and well cared for. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Changing Times is a very nice Columbia County B&B, well-located to take in both Hudson River locations and sights near the Massachusetts border. It is reasonably priced and well-run by cordial hosts Loretta and Jim. A old but renovated historic house, the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts terrific.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler3793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

There was a slight mistake with our reservation (honest mistake) BUT it is how Jim and Loretta handled that really impressed me. They went far above and beyond to make up for it!!!! The rooms was nice, clean, and the breakfast was excellant. We would definitly recommend Changing Times and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNABabylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChangingTimesBB, Owner at Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We often upgrade our guests to a bigger room if it's available, but you were the first time I actually down graded a guest by putting you in a smaller room than you had booked. I still feel terrible about the mix up and look forward to your return so we can make it up to you. Loretta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taghkanic
12.2 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
9.1 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
1805 House B & B
1805 House B & B
#1 of 2 in Claverack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
9.8 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B

Property: Changing Times - Boutique Country B&B
Address: NY SR 82, Taghkanic, NY 12521
Location: United States > New York > Taghkanic
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Taghkanic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location and beyond comfortable..... Experience a unique and memorable stay combining the charm of a Country Inn, the romance of an historic B&B with an attention to detail one expects at a fine hotel. Our mid-week rates start at $99, so why stay anywhere else? Only 10 minutes S of Hudson, 20 miles N of Rhinebeck, Omega and Bard College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing