We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Dovecote Barn

Dovecote Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton Bonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dovecote Barn
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I had one night at Dovecote Barn when we were meeting up with family who live in the area.
I cannot say anything negative about the accommodation at all. Everything is finished to a very high standard. The suite we had was very clean, comforable. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
It's a pity we were only there one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shorty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I meant to write this review ages ago- we stayed here for a friend's wedding in May 2011- the wedding was in Sutton Bonnington hall and this location was amazingly convenient- literally over the road. The room was gorgeous, our host was friendly, breakfast delicious (and vegetarian catered for), we couldn't have asked for more. And I think the fact that this place has stuck in my mind for over a year shows what a lovely time we had. If i was ever in the area again I'd definitely go back. Highly recommend. And thank you to the host- sorry it's taken us so long to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. My friend and I was attending my friends wedding in Sutton Bonnington Hall searching loads for a place to stay and we came across the Dovecote Barn.
Thank goodness we did because we both were absolutely stunned at the homely feel and look. The decoration and wooden beams gave such a warm feeling to the place. The bed very comfortable. The jacuzzi so refreshing in a very large modern bathroom.
The breakfast was out of this world. It was so tasty and filled us up for the day ahead with a plate full of fresh fruit in decorative style and then a full cooked breakfast a huge pot of tea, toast, cereal and orange juice. David, the proprietor, gave top class customer service and made us feel so very welcome, offering any assistance required and went well above expected service.
Words here doesn't give it enough justice, I can only recommend that you must try this. As well as being a magician, I write in my spare time and will be looking in the future to stay at Dovecote Barn to continue writing my novel. Everything about it is interesting and peaks inspiration.
A truly great icing to a true wedding cake few days :)
Thanks
Paul and John

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Dovecote Barn last weekend when attending a wedding at Sutton Bonington Hall (just two minutes walk away). Dovecote Barn is fantastic, really homely and warm, with a really comfortable bed, a jacuzzi bath and a guest lounge where you have breakfast and can sit and relax in front of the TV.
David was a great host- he upgraded us to the suite downstairs as there was no-one else staying and he could not have been more welcoming.
The breakfast was fantastic, starting with a lovely fruit plate which I could eat every day, followed by a cooked breakfast.
I would not hesitate to recommend this great place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Possesibling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Warm welcome, and excellent breakfast provided all we could want during a short stay at this carefully restored residence, which is filled with interesting things. Warm and comfortable, very clean. The owner David obviously enjoys meeting people, and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alderney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is a very well appointed B&B in Sutton Bonington. I was booked in here when attending a meeting at the Nottingham University campus in the village.
My room was actually a small flat with a lounge, fitted with a massive TV, a bedroom and a large bathroom containing a shower and a large jacuzzi. A pity I was to spend only 12 hours here.
Breakfast was excellent-the fresh fruit plate was a work of art. I also got a large pot of tea, which is my normal start to the morning and I hate it when a tiny pot appears.
The proprietor was extremely helpful, and there's a pleasant pub just across the street.
Pity I hadn't time to really appreciate the excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob_M325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The best B&B I have ever stayed in - as good as 5* hotel. From the moment you arrive at this quaint character converted barn, you are warmly welcomed by David and Karen. The main bedroom downstairs is like a large suite comprising small lounge with huge Sky TV, large double bedroom, walk through dressing area and huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. Nothing is too much trouble and it really feels like home from home. The barn has been very sympathetically and beautifully converted and the courtyard garden has so many nooks and crannies to look around and imagine a lovely place to sit and have a drink on a summer evening. A fantastic breakfast is served in the morning - cereals, lovely fresh fruit individual platters, followed by full English and toast with homemade jams etc. We have actually stayed here twice now, will definitely stay again and would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank l0lly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Bonington
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
2.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,726 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#1 of 2 in Long Whatton
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecote Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecote Barn

Address: 141 Main Street, Sutton Bonington, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Sutton Bonington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Bonington
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing