We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location & excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purulia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WBFDC Nature Resort - Garhpanchkot
Ranked #1 of 9 Purulia B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“superb location & excellent food”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

stayed many times with friends & family in one word exceptional location.All cottages are in the middle of a jungle and slope of a hill.Beautiful Panchet dam is in a km distance,never miss the sunrise/sunset view from the dams bridge also visit the pictorial garden maintained by DVC beside the hydel plant(panaromic top view fom top of the dam).Awesome chicken pakoda or tandori chicken is a must in evening snacks where as bon murgir jhol never to miss with dinner.Restaurant guys are soft spoken but cooking is sumptuous & service is prompt.one can also try the fish items which are very fresh & tasty buy it from local fisherman & tell the restaurant guy to cook for u.

Room Tip: sun bird is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDUTTA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were a group of twelve friends and booked six rooms little knowing about the vast difference in quality of rooms. We got four rooms in Cottage V and two rooms in Cottage VI. Cottage VI rooms were simply horrible in comparison to that of Cottage V.
The place is otherwise quite nice in the foothills of Panchet Hill. It is a good place to visit in a group.
Food is ordinary - nothing great about the choices. They could not make proper Chicken Pakora or Veg. Pakora.
There is practically nothing for sight seeing around the place except Maithon and Panchet Dams.

Room Tip: Baronet in Cottage V is the best. Otherwise Cottage V is okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The WBFDC resort is wonderfully located at the foot of Panchet hill. Stayed with family on 16th december 2013 at "KUSUM" the costliest cottage. But damped walls shabby furnitures and floor tiles, worn out dirty towels, spotted table and almost paint less door and window panels speak volume of the apathy of the management towards its maintenance. Of course the well maintained garden adds beauty to the resort complex. The most frustrating part of the resort is the quality and quantity of food served at the canteen run by BAGHMARA BONOSURAKSHA SAMITI. They charge Rs 60 for 5 almost fuchka sized Luchis with very little aloo sabji, 1 piece of small apple, 1 rasgolla and a cup of tea. I would only blame the management for marring the beauty and serenity of the place. Making money cannot be the sole aim of the WBFDC, a state run organization.

Room Tip: Some cottages are at steep positions, Sunbird, the Pansy blocks and kusum are better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 657amitava_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went to Garpanchkot in December during a short 2-day trip. The only option available here is West Bengal Forest Department bungalow, but its worth a stay. The rooms are very well maintained and clean. You need to do reservation well in advance (2-3 months). Since its on the outskirts, be prepared to shell out extra bucks for every ride as u have to book the entire car. The bungalow is surrounded by beautiful mountains and the parks are very well maintained within the complex. Food is good. They have a small restaurant where they serve all the meals. The rooms are equipped with both AC and room heater (as per the season). We hired a car to visit the nearby places. I would highly recommend this place simply for peace of mind and picturesque.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Surojit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited WBFDC nature resort at Garhpanchkot in the month of Aug this year along with my family for spending pure holiday for 2 days away from hustle bustle of city life. It is quite straight forward to reach the place through Durgapur highway from kolkata and took around 6 hrs for us to reach there. The resort is located totally in the lap of the nature just beside the Panchet hills. The entry seemed restricted as they don't allow vehicles inside unless you are carrying a valid booking reference, which we took as good security measure. We have been assigned an AC four bedded bungalow accommodation on first floor which was quite specious and neat except the AC was very very old. Later we found that the room furnishes and windows are poorly maintained too and full of dust. There was a dressing area and a very big bathroom which is probably the best feature of the cottage. But again geyser was very old and poorly maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience in staying there in the day time but shock came at night when we found rats roaming around the bedroom. Electricity was not constant as power cut was happening frequently, no cable channels were being shown on the first night of our stay which made us feel bored since at night there is nothing to do except hearing the sounds coming from nearby jungle sitting idle in the bungalow balcony. The bungalows have all the possible amenities and could have been great place to stay if it would have been maintained well.In spite of having s many issues, we enjoyed our stay there since the place is very close to nature surrounded by jungle and gives a special feeling in night time. The WBFDC campus is very large and beautifully decorated with lots of trees and flower beds all around. There are plenty of site seeing spots around the place like Panchet Dam and lake, Rajar Garh, Joychandi Hills etc which keeps one busy for the entire daytime.
The best thing we experienced in the Nature resort was the food. There is not much option and whatever is customized has to be announced very early before you actually want it. BUt the canteen guys make amazing food , be it veg or non veg from breakfast puri chapati, to lunch mutton curry till Dinner time Paneer or Chicken dishes, all were simply superb in taste and ideal for food lovers taste buds. Apart from being close to nature food is the second reason for which I shall recommend this place for a weekend trip. This is the ideal place for nature and food lover people who can adjust in adverse situations even, but it is definitely not for those who can't leave without perfection and luxury.

Room Tip: Look for first floor r.ooms in AC bungalows/cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Robanerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

WBFDC's resort is situated at the lap of Panchet hill. The air was cool and bracing and the location of the cottages meant that rustling of leaves, coll breeze and ample greenery surrounds you. If you don't need extravagant food delicacies, then you will be satisfied to get a sumptuous meal of normal bengali food. We stayed in a/c cottages.The service was good and every day the cleaning staff cleaned the room and bathroom. The bathrooms was well maintained and the beds and furniture were grand in space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrinmoyRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we had an excellent experience in the WBFDC nature resort. inspite of being a govt undertaking, the service is very good specially at the restaurant. Food quality is also excellent. if u want to enjoy two silent nights, there can be no other substitute in WB than this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShrayanSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Purulia hotels
0.7 mi away
PearlTree Hotels & Resorts
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akash Sarovar
Hotel Akash Sarovar
#2 of 9 in Purulia
19 reviews
22.2 mi away
Chhowburu Tourism
Chhowburu Tourism
#3 of 19 in Purulia
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WBFDC Nature Resort - Garhpanchkot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WBFDC Nature Resort - Garhpanchkot

Property: WBFDC Nature Resort - Garhpanchkot
Address: Garhpanchkot, Purulia, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Purulia District > Purulia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Purulia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing