We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - Nepenthe is closed until Mid-may due to road closures north and south. But we have a skeleton crew here for the duration cleaning, repainting, repairing, and preparing for the day we are back in business again
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great position with amazing views. Good food and fast service. Try and get a place outside to take in the view. Very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanieBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    916
    329
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Halfway into our drive through Big Sur on Route 1, we worked up an appetite. Several friends had urged us to stop at Nepenthe, and their advice was excellent. While the parking lot was full, our handicap hangtag allowed us to drive right up the hill and park adjacent to the restaurant. While the restaurant was crowded, the view is so spectacular that the short wait, with time for some photos and a drink, was just the thing. We were seated outside on a long bar facing the mountains and the ocean, and were entertained by the local red-crested woodpeckers. The signature burger, fish and chips, and accompaniments were especially tasty, and the desserts looked delicious, although we opted to stick with our diets! The service was excellent, allowing us a few minutes to visit the interesting gift shop before continuing our journey south to Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical location for a restaurant on Route 1, California”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We arrived at Nepenthe and felt like we'd been transported into a time of peacefulness and magic. Travelling with our two sons it was a magical spot with a simple successful formula- great food cooked well! 1950's and contemporary architecture of the building is impressive, clinging to the cliff side. Art gallery and sculpture beautiful. Try the Nepenthe Burger. Deliciousness personified!
And the gift shop is gorgeous...lovely wind chimes, cushion covers, clothing, jewellery, books and music. If i had more baggage allowance would have bought the lot!!

Definition:

nepenthe
[ni-pen-thee]
Word Origin
noun
1.
a drug or drink, or the plant yielding it, mentioned by ancient writers as having the power to bring forgetfulness of sorrow or trouble.
2.
anything inducing a pleasurable sensation of forgetfulness, especially of sorrow or trouble.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliceBilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of a kind cliff top bar in Big Sur”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This bar and restaurant on a beautiful scenic cliff top overlooking the ocean and forests of Big Sur is not to be missed. We went early around 5 pm to get a good outside table and the staff is so chilled out here they immediately draw you in to the relaxing mood and feel of Nepenthe which means "no sorrow". On a clear night like we had the views are amazing and we found the food and cocktails very good. Bar was designed and built with wood and glass by a Student of Frank Lloyd Wright which gives this place it's unique character. I can't wait to go back !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good views and fast”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Good view, good and fast service, food was not bad, but it is too crowded and very touristical place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Matvienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing