We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop on drive down to Cambria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - Nepenthe is closed until Mid-may due to road closures north and south. But we have a skeleton crew here for the duration cleaning, repainting, repairing, and preparing for the day we are back in business again
Atlanta
Level Contributor
311 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice stop on drive down to Cambria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

It had been probably close to twenty years since my last stop here at Nepenthe. Seems they added tables and umbrellas at the top but as usual, very long lines to eat and of course overpriced menu. My family found it a better value to eat at the lower level where they had a decent salad and some sandwich choices, no wait and glad we didn't eat upstairs. Views are lovely and if you haven't been, worth a stop on your way through Big Sur but be wary of prices and wait times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,307
    912
    327
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
“Like being in a bus station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful typical weather, sunny/foggy and so crowed and loud you couldn't hear yourself talk. Sitting at an outside table you are stared at while you eat by other patrons waiting for a table. A incredibly LOUD speaker announces when someone's table is ready and music is piped over the yelling kids. The nicely cooked chicken was served on dry bread, salad was so-so and the fries were tasteless. The bathrooms haven't been updated since the '70s and we were stuck in a traffic jam in the parking lot for 20 minutes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Views! Great Wine List! Historic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Be ready to wait for a minimum of 40 minutes for a table. Incredible views of Big Sur. The food was decent for a tourist based restaurant. They are known for their Burger. The fries were fantastic. Loved the half bottle wine list. Some really great choices. Sit at the bar and no wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch to a spectacular view of the ocean and a very casual lunch. It offers good food and a great view of the Big Sur area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
486 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views of the Coast, ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place is worth dining at just for the spectacular view of the Big Sur Coast. I think it's a bit pricy for what you get, but the food is also decent, but not amazing. We had a simple lunch with a basket of french fries and a couple of sandwiches. My boyfriend ordered the BLT with shrimp, which was really very good. I ordered the tuna sandwich special, which coincidentally, wasn't very special. I found it pretty bland and didn't care for it much. We enjoyed a few glasses of champagne and a bottle of wine. On a sunny day, you really can't beat the experience.

Go for the view, not so much the food

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing