We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brussels Sprouts to Brag About”
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - Nepenthe is closed until Mid-may due to road closures north and south. But we have a skeleton crew here for the duration cleaning, repainting, repairing, and preparing for the day we are back in business again
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Brussels Sprouts to Brag About”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had a salad and sandwich at this restaurant, which is by no means cheap, but probably has one of the best views in the world: the Big Sur coastline. Anyway, I decided to take a chance and order the Brussels sprouts salad - it sounded terrible but the waitress told me it was her favorite item on the menu...and it was awesome. I lived in this area for about 7 months a long time ago, but never had much cash. It was fun to come back and have a beautiful lunch here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    916
    329
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will Not Disappoint”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had a glass of wine looking out at sunset. Beautiful area, but it does get quite crowded. Parking can be a bit of an issue.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calitraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a dissapointment”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have driven the CA1 road a few times and have always stopped here for the view, the rest and a beer before going on my way. Until now, my stops have been outside of restaurant serving hours. This time, my wife and I deliberately timed our drive so as to have lunch at Nepenthe.

It pains me to say that this place is all view and no performance. The food is unimaginative and mediocre at best. Better can be had at any number places. The staff borders on surly and the wait was long.

I wish we had never had lunch here so I could maintain my fantasy of how good it must be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and nice in Big Sur”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a gay restaurant in Big Sur. It also has a cafe, but if you're in for lunch or dinner you should probably choose the restaurant. You can eat inside or outside. If you eat outside choose the part facing the ocean. It's a terrific view.
The waiters are frIendly and amusing and give you good recommondations. We had three different meals and we were all very satisfied! The restaurant serve several good wines, but if you are driving it is not a good advice!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The view comes and goes depending on the weather (fog), but when the fog lifts, wow, wow, wow! The food is average but worth it just for the view if it's not too foggy. This was my second time here and I'll be back, even if it's just for the ambiance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nevr2old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing