We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but ambiance only goes so far for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - Nepenthe is closed until Mid-may due to road closures north and south. But we have a skeleton crew here for the duration cleaning, repainting, repairing, and preparing for the day we are back in business again
Fremont, California
1 review
“Great view but ambiance only goes so far for lunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went to Nepenthe for lunch after a hike at Point Lobos. It is the most visually delightful restaurant I have ever been in and the bar selection was outstanding. With that said, I wish the food aspect of the restaurant would step up their game just a little bit. I had the Shrimp BLT. The shrimp were good but it came with no tomato--and on an untoasted French roll. The Cole Slaw was bland and runny and tasted institutional. My partner order the ground burger sandwich and it was good.

My margarita and outstanding service was the only reason I gave this place 4 stars.

Please visit this place, but first maybe eat somewhere else or just have the burger and a drink.

Cost of this experience: food and drink= aprox. $80.00

Yes I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ca9je1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    912
    327
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, wonderful food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I recently stopped here on my way from San Luis Obispo to Pacific Grove. It was the perfect stopping place and offered beautiful views of the coastline, as well as delicious food. I would recommend it to any traveler who appreciates beauty and wants a good meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barlee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMBIANCE pays for itself!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant has one of the most amazing views I have ever experienced while eating dinner. My boyfriend and I had an AMAZING dinner here, with wine, cheese plate, salads and desserts. The restaurant was mostly empty (we were there on a Sunday evening) and we were provided great service. The food was simple but great--the cheese selection and wine pairing was outstanding. We gushed about this restaurant for days. Not the easiest to get to, but the wait is well worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claregrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a cheese course and a half-bottle of wine just before sunset. The wine list is good. The cheese was cold, just out of the refrigerator, unfortunately, as they were excellent choices (Point Reyes, Humboldt Fog and Monterey Jack).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Burger EVER!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A gorgeous place to stop and admire the views. We didnt book in advance so we didnt get to sit outside - but we had a nice table inside looking at the mountain views. Not only is this a wonderful place to admire the views but the venison and blue cheese burger was a sensation!! The BEST burger ever. Wonderful quality and really tasty. I recommend you visit :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing