We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close your eyes, free your imagination....”
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - Nepenthe is closed until Mid-may due to road closures north and south. But we have a skeleton crew here for the duration cleaning, repainting, repairing, and preparing for the day we are back in business again
Kent, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close your eyes, free your imagination....”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place looking for somewhere to watch the sun sink down on a warm March evening, after spending the afternoon buffeted by the wind on Pfeiffer Beach!. As we walked up onto the deck area next to the restaurant.......I could sense something rather magical. Not just the crowd drawn to witness the daily sun down ritual....but a real gathering of like spirits taken by the beauty of Big Sur . We took advantage of the cushions and rugs across the decking and settled in for unashamed people watching...and cocktails!

Maybe it was just the heady mix of ozone and tiredness but with strains of music from another age I couldn't help thinking it was perfectly possible we'd transported back to the 1960s.....and we were quite happy to stay there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_hungry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    918
    330
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Classic”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I love this spot. The view is really worth it. I love everything I have ever had there. The food has always been very good, not extremely fancy but very very good. The feel of being there is the draw. Check out the giftshop down below.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Big atmosphere in Big Sur.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stopped here for lunch the last few years when hiking Big Sur and no matter what the weather conditions it does not disappoint. Service is fast and even if there is a waiting list...it's worth the wait. Ambrosia burger is a favorite, beet salad great and basket of fries enough to share with 4. Made in the traditional French fashion, super crisp Hint...you can order a half basket. Special of the day was Hawaiian pulled pork that was yummy and I've had the prawn BLT twice it's so delicious. Great wine list. the place is fun and hip with a great vibe and food. Store below has a great gift selection and good book selection . I had to but the cookbook, My Nepenthe, which is filled with pictures and history of the restaurant and some of the yummy recipes. It makes a great souvenir of a wonderful experience. Top recommendation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vista - Good Eats”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Saw reviews of this on my TripAdvisor app and, frankly, they don't do it justice. The location is spectacular and to be here for sunset, even with the large crowds, is a once-in-a-lifetime experience for an East Coaster. Eats are good but the views and the people make the place truly worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltonOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“unbeatable in every way”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We love this place and have returned several times! The view is unforgettable looking south along the coast. When it's foggy, it's still beautiful to watch the clouds moving by and the hills nearby. The service at Nepenthe is excellent; everyone is very friendly, helpful and polite. The menu is limited, but the specials we had were delicious, well worth the slightly high prices. Try the homemade desserts if you get a chance! The best lunch we've had in a long time! Don't forget to check out the little shop downstairs and enjoy the gardens.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing