We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Food was great, but service was slow.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernwood Grill

Fernwood Grill
Ranked #17 of 21 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food was great, but service was slow.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stopped here on a drive up the coast. It was the weekend between Christmas and New years, so every place to eat was really crowded with long waits, so we kept driving. We stopped here and there was no wait, but didn't realize there was only one server for the whole place until after we were seated. Poor girl did her best but the place ended up getting really full with a wait before we were done. We ordered a spinach salad and Steak Quesadilla. They were both excellent. large portions and very tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reallyreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently had a few days down in the Big Sur area, and we had an evening meal at the Redwood Grill.
Both meals were very good, prices were reasonable, and the waitress was nice and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fresh well prepared food, not your average bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant has that relaxed Big Sur type setting. It feels like an old saloon. It is very woody inside but the food is very fresh and very well prepared. However, if you prefer food that is not at all unique, i would not suggest eating here. The grilled veggie wrap uses brown rice, for example. The mixed green salad was adorned with figs and goat cheese. The caeser could be dressed with a home smoked lox. Get it? We loved it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulupink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food here is excellent and the portions are huge. We started with the hummus & pitta and it was pretty much a meal on its own. Appeared to be freshly home made, we took half away in a box for the next day. Our mains were burritos, and they were delicious, again freshly made and tasting superb. They were far too big but we both kept going because they were so good. Our waitress was great, she kept us informed on a slight delay in our meals being ready ( we had arrived just after a large group of hungry walkers) and was very friendly and chatty - thanks to Liz. Prices are very good too. Great value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had stopped up the road at the Big Sur Bakery/Restaurant only to find that they weren't serving food. We are so glad that we found this place instead. The menu was quite impressive and it was easy to see that the chef loved good food. It had an interesting choice of food and we settled on the sliders with a side of fries. There was more than enough for two. There's also a little store connected and it is also a Motel which mainly seems to cater to bikers of all kinds and people hiking in the area. Really quaint, excellent food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing