We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected oasis”
Review of Fernwood Grill

Fernwood Grill
Ranked #16 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
ooky57
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unexpected oasis”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

On our way down to LA from San Francisco, stopped at the first place we found for breakfast and what a find. Sat at the old school counter and had a delicious huge bowl of oatmeal with fruit and brown sugar, my better half claasic eggs over easy and sourdough toast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very understaffed but decent food”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We ate dinner here one evening and I definitely have mixed feeling about it. The wait staff were friendly but you could tell they were completely stressed to their limit. There were maybe two waitresses for the entire place. I felt bad for them and made sure to leave a nice tip even though we waited for what seemed like forever for our food to arrive. The food itself was good though. I had a BBQ pork sandwich and was very happy with it so no complaints there. Just hire some more servers!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andruckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Killer Breakfast”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I passed through here on a photo shoot between Carmel and Morro Bay. It was early morning and I needed breakfast. This turned out to be a great choice. I stepped outside my diet and got the biscuits in sausage gravy, coffee and orange juice. Basic fare, but it was fabulous. Staff were friendly and the service was fast. Redwood Grill is attached to a small but well equipped outfitter and a general store. The establishment is quaint and cozy. I'm going back next year.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food, pricey to justify large servings”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Convinent since we were staying at fernwood & travelling by bike. The burritos were tasty - with thier bbq meats- not not outstanding. In hindsite would have ordered 1 to share , it was huge! I still get a sore gut thinking about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M2f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“rustic decor, good food”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we went there for my birthday dinner. Not a lot of diners that night. The food was good- good portions and prices. most restuarants seemed overpriced in Big Sur- this one was a good value for your money

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tabgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernwood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fernwood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing