We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels right for Big Sur”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Campground and Cabins
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feels right for Big Sur”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Normally I'd say it was pricey for what is a very simple cabin in a campground.... but compared to all our other options, this was very affordable, and ultimately, very enjoyable!

We ate our dinner at a table near the creek/river, and in the evening made a fire in the firepit by our cabin in the evening. We drank wine, and walked out of the woodsy campground onto the road, in order to find a clearing. Above us, countless stars twinkled in the night, a very rare car or two drove by, and we broke into the champagne we'd been saving for our next night in a "nice hotel".

Sunlight streamed through the trees in the morning, and we sat at our picnic table and drank coffee from the campground's little shop.

Our stay was short, the cabin and campground were simple, but they were also perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mam916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in The Studio for a weekend in January and we were very pleased. The room itself was small but very elegant with room for storage and a modern toilet. There was a lovely area outside for a campfire and somewhere to sit and eat food.
There is not a huge amount to do at the site itself but we were most pleased by the attentive nature of Pam who works in the office there. She was extremely warm and accommodating and is one of the main reason for the five stars. She took 30 minutes away from running the office one evening to come and help us with our fire and to tell us about her time at the site.
Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the studio and were glad to have paid a bit extra for the toilet and half-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Never go here I had such a horrible experience. Extremely rude staff, the sites a not very nice and several hidden charges they like to spring up on you.For two nights with 8 ppl and 2 dogs on 2 sites with a total 4 cars ended up being $380 dollars with all the hidden charges such as extra person fees which is applied to any party over 2 people per site which is absolutely ridiculous. Plus there is a large and loud group campground right next to it with only chicken wire fence separating the two campgrounds. I highly suggest trying the other campsites around like Fernwood and Pfeiffer state camp grounds which are wonderful places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharnsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at cabin 6. Our stay was as perfect as it can get. Lovely location with creek by the side.Washrooms were clean and Staff was very courteous and help me change my reservation from cabin 9 to 6 since my friends decided to join us. Heater in the cabin worked nicely and we were warm at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelophile_Banjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The campground is accessed by way of a very steep narrow roadway that upon leaving will drag your trailer hitch on a Class A motor home (ours was 32 feet) and if you are pulling a trailer requires that you drive the RV up to the steep incline, detach the trailer, drive the RV up the steep incline until the hitch has sufficient clearance to reattach the trailer (pushing it up the incline a bit, need some help) then exit up the hill. Once on top you will need to turn north only and turn around a few hundred yards later to go south. The owners really should warn RVers of this, Also, the Wi-Fi, like so many parks, was really bad. For tenters, smaller RVs without trailers it was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this campground in our 24' trailer - our back window looking directly onto the river about 25 feet away - beautiful & peaceful. The campsite had electric and water hookup, but no 'dump' station (closest being in Marina, well north). Pets are allowed (at add'l fee). The electric hookup required a converter plug which was supplied by the park. The bathrooms are a bit primitive.

Our campsite neighbor told us one night he was visited by a skunk wanting to get warmed up by the fire in his firepit. Lesson - do not assume the little furry thing sitting by your side is a puppy from the next campsite over - look before you pet. Thankfully he thought of this before he pet the pooch and all crises averted.

We used this campground as our home base for 3 nights - heading south to the Monastery in Lucia for some of their homemade fruit cake and the spectacular views along the way. The Monastery is very high up a mountain in Lucia (and I'm not kidding) ultimately being above the fog line at the very top.

The second day we headed north to check our Molera State Park and Pfeiffer Burns.

Suggest checking out the Nepenthe restaurant while in the area and don't just drive by all those galleries - stop in and be prepared to be wowed. Say Hi to Steve at the Nepenthe - a very personable waiter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the camping cabins, Cabin 11. Our stay was flawless. Pam in the office was very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable with her personal touch. Cabin 11 was very cozy, rustic and comfortable. The only thing that would make it more comfortable was if they added a small microwave to the kitchenette, and a different showerhead. But those are minor things. We enjoyed the jays that visited our deck, and the skunks that passed by (harmlessly) in the evenings. The only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars is that there is not really much to do in the campground itself. Other than the small river (stream?) that flows through, there are no other activities. So we used it as out base camp, as we visited scenery up and down the nearby coast.

Finally there is the price. You can get a very nice hotel/motel room for the same price, and don't have to deal with the dirt. We did it the once, as a novelty, but would opt for a motel room if we visit this area again.

Room Tip: If you want a camping cabin, we can recommend Cabin 11. It has its own bathroom and a small kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
3.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,122 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,636 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Campground and Cabins

Property: Riverside Campground and Cabins
Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Riverside Campground And Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing