We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The quiche is from heaven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant

Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The quiche is from heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Bakery catered an event for our group... The quiche was lovely, airy, and melted in your mouth. Lots of other fun baked goods...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    214
    72
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved this restaurant. It is cozy and romantic. The food was delicious. We ordered the eggplant pizza and the sea bass. Both were up to our high NY food standards. The service was fine...we had an overall great night. We stayed at nearby Glen Oaks Big Sur, and the hotel staff made us a reservation ahead of time. The restaurant is pricey, but worth it, as the other nearby restaurants were not as welcoming and were overpriced. The other recommendation we got from the hotel was the Deetjen restaurant, which didn't look bad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Bakery for Dinner....Say YES!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by the Glen Oaks for dinner. I was a bit hesitant at first since a bakery wasn't what I had in mind for the one night I was going to have a romantic dinner with my husband in the Big Sur. I am SO glad we gave this place a try and we were thrilled at the ambiance, service and food!! The restaurants has a trendy, romantic vibe and fit for a foodie. The pizzas were delicious and I wish we could have eaten here more than once on our trip!! The best part was at the end of dinner they had a basket of baked goods and said we could take as many as we liked since they have to bake them fresh every day! What a treat! :) I HIGHLY recommend trying this place if you're staying in or passing through the Big Sur...we can't wait to come back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IlliniFan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gastronomic paradise on the Highway One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped here for lunch as we had read the recommendation in the triple A Via magazine. We had a delicious turkey sandwhich on their home made sourdough bread. Also split a delicious green salad. Then had to have a cookie for dessert-both were fabulous one a chocoholics delight and the other a oatmeal treat. We had to stop on our way back up the coast for another taste of their baked goods-this time a classic sugar donut and a pumpkin scone-both hit the spot along with a cup of green tea.
The owners:Philip and Michelle Wojtowicz and Michael Gilson have transformed this place that was once abandoned house/restaurant tucked behind a gas station into a welcoming oasis. The bread and baked goods are as good as it gets. Their meals for lunch and dinner feature seasonal organic ingredients simply prepared-I was wishing we could stay for dinner but alas we had to continue on.
We visited my sister, Kelly on our way home and to my surprise she gave me a copy of the Big Sur Bakery cookbook-so delighted to have it ! It is a year in the life of the bakery, reads month by month with recipes and a glimpse into the folks that make this place so California Golden! Can't wait to try some of the recipes but... I'd rather be there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The only place you're going to want to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had several friends tell us the above, so we made reservations for 2 nights in a row. We also stopped in for a snack and a cup of tea each morning. Super cute place. Rustic and tasteful. And the food is GREAT. One night we went in the "entree & vegetable" direction and the next in the woodfired pizza direction. Can't go wrong.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing