We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Customer Service!”
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Menlo Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Customer Service!”
Reviewed September 5, 2006

The staff at this resort is awesome!! They are so nice and are all completely committed to the guests having a wonderful time. They are the best and the most friendly and caring staff I have ever experienced at any hotel worldwide.

We had a problem there in that there was this super noisy and rude large family group, both staying in the yurt next to ours, and taking over the lodge as if it were their own.

The staff went way above and beyond the call of duty to make us happy, including upgrading us to a yurt with a better view one night, and then putting us up in the Birdhouse another night. To do this, they had to completely empty out the Birdhouse, clean it from top to bottom, set it up for guests, and then use their own brand new airbed to make a bed for us. This was after setting up and taking down the other yurt for us. They even let us keep our stuff in the first yurt until the awful family left, and they really advocated on behalf of all the guests to get that family to shut up!

The facility is great, the location beautiful, the food excellent, and I love the yurts, but honestly, this fabulous staff made my stay. They are wonderful and because of them, I really, really recommend this place.

Also, the owner and his charming kids are now living on-site, and they are all sweethearts.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Sharing a bathroom that was not always perfectly clean
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a fleece; it can get foggy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    205
    49
    27
    17
See reviews for
118
501
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I am loathe to praise Treebones too much because everyone will want to go there....but it is fantastic. Yes you have to use shared loos and showers, but they are classy and clean. We had a family sized yurt (number 13) which faced the ocean directly ,and the views were breathtaking, at night and in the morning - fortunately no fog the day we were there. Food on site is quite limited in terms of choice, but tasty, and if you are from the UK, pretty good value.

The yurts themselves are beautifully done - lovely beds and warm covers. Chairs to sit by the fire if you want. There is quitet time after 9 which was welcome, as the key point about Treebones is the tranquiliy of the place. Breakfast waffling was fun and generally the staff were really friendly and helpful.

We wished we had booked for more than one night as this was the best place we stayed in during 2 weeks in California. Yes, it is relatively expensive (we paid $250 for the night) but is is a fab place.

  • Liked — It is different - a yurt is much better than a tent and more intresting than a hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — We drove straight past - look very carefully for the small sign at the roadside
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Absolutely loved it. We stayed here for two nights during the second week of August and were fortunate enough to arrive on a beautiful, sunny day without a hint of fog. We had yurt #11, which is listed as "partial ocean view", but we had a terrific ocean view from our deck.

The dinners smelled wonderful, but we didn't partake in the dinners at the resort (my girlfriend is a vegetarian, so we ended up driving up the coast to a restaurant that had ample vegetarian fare). If you don't want to eat at Treebones, we highly recommend eating at the Bakery, about 40 minutes north of Treebones.

As for the bathrooms/showers, they are very conveniently located and are very well maintained (much more like a high scale gym locker than a camping site's bathroom/shower area).

The staff was wonderful and very helpful with many suggestions (i.e. where to eat, where to go hiking, horseback riding, etc.)

I would definitely recommend this place, but hopefully there won't be too many people who discover Treebones because that will make it harder for us to stay there in the future, which we will definitely be doing again soon.

  • Liked — The views (and the staff)
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay more than one night
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OC_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I loved the Treebones Resort. This was the closest I could get my teenage daughter to a camping experience. We had Yurk #9 and the staff all told me it was one of their favorites - I'd have to agree. We were fortunate to have beautiful blue skies which was rare the 10 days we spent on the central coast. We only spent 1 night - I wish we could have stayed longer. Dinner was good - the pool/hot tub was great - gift shop was great - bathrooms were clean and close - the beds were very comfortable and I'm picky about beds. Great staff. I highly recommend Treebones, visit the area beaches especially the Julia Pfeiffer Burns Beach (bring a chair, picnic, and great book).

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — no private bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — get an oceanview yurt
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fun-on-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Firstly, I nearly gave this place 3 out of 5 stars, but then thought that maybe it's me that has the odd issue with Treebones, rather than the place itself having any significant problems.

To give you a little background, I'm more of a hotel person than a camping person, so damp mornings, shared showers and the odd spider in the room is not top of my list. Given that I experienced all of the above in Treebones, this might have taken away from the fact that the Yurts are of a pretty good size, with a very comfortable bed, there's a good, clean sink, and an excellent gas fireplace (which could elimate the damp morning issue I guess!). So actually it's a pretty good experience if you can put up with the very small issues I've mentioned.

The other bits worth mentioning:
*Apparently, It's often foggy in the summer months. It was when we stayed, which meant that the extra money spent on a seaview was a waste. Not the fault of Treebones, but a shame none-the-less. If it's not foggy, I'm sure the views are great, although I wasn't expecting Highway 1 road to be between the ocean and the Yurts, which takes some of the 'isolation' away from the experience.
*The food is a tad expensive for what it is, it's OK, but nothing more.
*Staff are great, very friendly.
*The lobby / lounge / restaurant area is a great place to spend a few hours. They have many board games, and now sell cold beers and wine.
*Maybe it's me, but the place feels like it needs a little bit of a clean up....the dust had settled on out clear rooftop dome, the edges of the inside of the Yurt were a little bit dirty...OK, I'm probably being picky now, so I'll stop!!

I admit it, I'm a Holiday Inn / Marriott person. If you're not a hotel loving loser like me, you'll love Treebones!!!

  • Liked — Yurts interesting experience
  • Disliked — dusty
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Toberlerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

We stayed at Treebones for two nights in early July 2006. The setting was fantastic. From our full ocean view yurt we could see the sun set over the Pacific and listen to sea lions barking . The skylight in the yurt allowed us to view countless stars in the evening. The location of the complex is certainly secluded. There is no real town anywhere nearby.

The yurt itself was beautifully decorated and larger than our room at the Hilton in Union Square, SF. The gas fireplace made for a cozy, romantic environment. The bed was quite comfortable.

Staff at Treebones were always courteous and helpful. They allowed us to print the boarding passes for our next day's flight from the front desk computer; a small gesture but one that many travelers, including us, certainly appreciate. Staff members were quick to recommend various parks, hikes, trails, and beaches in the area running the gamut from hardcore climbing to sauntering strolls.

The out-of-the-way location of Treebones proved to be a double-edged sword when it came to food. There is a restaurant on-site but it was a bit overpriced. Make-your-own waffles are available for breakfast. This makes for an excellent opportunity to meet your fellow yurt-dwellers - and eat a big, hearty meal. This proved important as there are no grocery stores within an hour's drive. There are some small convenience stores within driving distance but they too are pricey. Next time we'll likely bring a cooler and stop at a grocery store in the Monterey area.

If you are going to Treebones I would recommend spending the extra money for a full-ocean view yurt. These provide more privacy than the partial-ocean view and mountain-view yurts which are placed in very close proximity to one another. View the map at the Treebones website to see what I mean.

All in all, our Treebones experience was wonderful. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirby3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed at Treebones for 2 nights as we traveled California for our honeymoon. I cannot say enough great things about this place. Not only is it such a unique, beautiful, romantic setting, but the staff was soooooo welcoming and nice! We had an amazing view (we stayed in Yurt #9). Breakfast each morning was also great. You can make your own waffles and they provide fruit, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. It was one of our favorite spots to stay!

A must for anyone traveling Route 1!!!

  • Liked — Accomodations and view
  • Disliked — little to do in the area
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,131 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
305 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
401 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing