We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem with an amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A gem with an amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

My girlfriend and I just got home from an amazing weekend at Treebones. The drive up from LA is beautiful. Stop in Cambria and grab a bite- cute little town- check out Robin's - a charming restaurant. Anyway, when we got there the staff, Pete, was incredibly friendly. Really made us feel welcome. Helped us unload our car and packed a golf cart and brought us out to our yurt. We opened the door and were so excited. A beautiful round yurt with wood floors, a great bed, propane fireplace, large table, sink, places to store our clothes- clothes hooks, another space heater, large skylight at the top of the dome. We were in heaven. Since it was raining slightly we didn't really get to use our deck with two aidirondack chairs- but the view was great. We could hear sea lions in the morning an everything. The lodge is great and if you opt to eat dinner there (I would) you get a great meal and intermingle with the other guests. The lodge has great games, books and awesome views- very comfortable. It is like upscale camping. Bathrooms are clean and showers are fine. If you want to do nothing but veg., you can do that- if you want to hike- its right there. The staff is totally cool and can give you all kinds of advice about the area. We ate at Post Ranch (good, but pricey) and were gonna hit the hot springs at Esalen, but couldn't stay up until 1am! All in all Treebones is awesome. From the friendly staff (felt like family), to the location (sweet views) and the amazing resorts (I want to go back next weekend!) this place is awesome. Enjoy.

Helpful?
7 Thank totallytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    201
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
107
474
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We stayed at treebones in March and loved it. It is in a great location, we stayed in yurt #15...it was wonderful...so cozy and romantic..it has a fireplace, is out of the way and close to the bathrooms.
The yurt was very clean and cozy.
The lodge was nice..we had a great meal...thanks to the chef..
The staff at treebones was wonderful...very helpful and cheery.
Was great to hear the sea lions from the yurt..
Overall we loved this place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

March 06

Stop 3 on our Highway 1 journey

Arrived after tiring but very enjoyable day driving down Big Sur.

It is only 65 miles from Monterey BUT there are so many things to see and with a winding road, we should have stayed at somewhere like Big Sur Inn as well as Treebones and taken 2 days to do Big Sur.

However, all tiredness was forgotten once we were esconced in our cosy Yurt (#6 with a sink). They are a good size with heaters if required.

As advised by other reviews we had booked a standard Yurt without sea view. Even so we had a part view and a few paces gave you superb views across the Pacific. There are no ensuite facilities but we were prepared for this and it is no problem.

Best part of the stay was a dip in the hot tub looking out over the ocean watching whales go by on their migration north. A highlight of our holiday!

Unfortunately it rained the next day but this still did not spoil this lovely place. There is an activity room where you can play games etc.

The only slight negative was that there was no food that night as it had not arrived! One of the problesm of being remote I guess. We ate at the "Whale Catcher" down the road.

Take a nice bottle of red or two and enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank tashy50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

The word unique, often overused, is well suited to describe Treebones. The name Treebones Resort may be a little misleading as resort often implies a 4 star hotel with all the bells and whistles. For those used to such overindulgent pampering you may be a little disappointed here and may want to stay at some of the $400 per day places up the coast. However if you’re interested in a place that will stimulate your appreciation of nature and open your glazed cookie cutter hotel eyes, then you can’t go wrong coming here. The lodgings consist of round tents called yurts which are patterned after a Mongolian design. Nestled in among woods but providing unobstructed views of the vast Pacific just outside their doors, the yurts have canvas walls but are not drafty and are solidly braced against the often strong winds on the Big Sur coast (“Big Sur” refers not to a specific location but about a 70 mile stretch of coastline). Add beautiful wooden floors, bright skylights, and sumptuous bedding and you have the makings of roughing it in style. Each yurt has a sink and running water (watch out the hot is really HOT) but no rest facilities. The lodge bathrooms have showers and are conveniently close by. The lodge itself is nicely done with fireplace, veranda, and some of the most friendly and positive staff we’ve seen.

Fill up your gas tanks before you drive down to Treebones though as gas in nearby Gorda comes in at over $4 per gallon! Gas drops back down below $3 in Cambria to the south which also has shops and restaurants. Food service at Treebones is just developing and while the limited entrees are tasty, they cost about $17-$19 and are served on plastic plates. We preferred the Whale Watchers Café in Gorda which have about the same prices but a wider selection of food and real dinner ware! If you get cold easily consider a yurt with a propane heater rather than those with just space heaters which don’t do much to warm the ambient temperature (about 50-55 degrees in March). Or better yet, just hang out in the comfort of the lodge and just go back to the yurt to enjoy a great night of sleep in the cool air.

Treebones’ location is convenient enough to serve as a base to explore nearby Jade Beach, as well as Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seal Beach at Piedras Blancas. If you get one of the ubiquitous Big Sur news brochures lying about, you can learn about the many hiking opportunities nearby. About thirty miles up Pacific Coast One, there is Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park with its Canyon Trail winding through redwoods. A little further north is spectacular Pfeiffer Beach which is a national seashore but is accessed through an inexplicably unmarked Sycamore Canyon Road (first road on the left about two miles north of the Nepenthe Restaurant).

All in all a serene place which we would go back to again and recommend to all jaded travelers in search of something different!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank NLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

We stayed in a beautiful yurt, with plenty of room. The owners are great and there is the largest jade beach a short jog away. Going back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

Ahhh...the ocean looks so big from up here...this is the kind of place you almost don't want to write about so you can keep it a secret all to yourself. It would a selfish shame to do so, though. So here goes:

If you come here expecting a resort with all the typical resort amenities, you will be disappointed. This is not the Ritz-Carlton.

If you come here as if you planned to camp in a tent, you will not only be better prepared to enjoy your stay, but also ecstatic by what you find.

Treebones, another word for firewood or driftwood, is composed of 16 yurts (Mongolian-style tent accommodations with queen beds, pine floors, sinks and gas fireplaces in some) set on a hillside overlooking Highway 1 and afore-complimented ocean. Some have patios / decks with direct ocean views. The lodge is at the top of the property, where you check in. In the mornings, you make your own waffles. During the day, you can enjoy the small pool and hot tub (or go day-tripping and hiking up and down the coast). In the evening, you have a costly-but-delicious BBQ dinner with the rest of the property guests, with the lodge feeling like a communal area of relaxation (people reading books, playing Scrabble, spacing out at the fireplace). Then everyone retires to their yurt and goes to sleep because "quiet time" is a policy that makes sure you understand your yurt is like a tent fantasizing about being a cabin. Obviously, the best yurts are isolated from the main cluster for privacy and views.

This part of the coast is lacking in food sources, and the lodge does not have a restaurant (a chef from the only restaurant nearby comes up to make up to three dinner choices each night). You can find a package of Oscar Meyer bologna at the nearest gas station for $5. Better: bring your own in a cooler. Depending on how long you are staying, bring anything you think you might need as if you were going camping...bread, peanut butter, bananas, yogurt, trail mix, string cheese, dried fruit, chocolates, cartons of juices and iced tea, bottled water, poison oak medication, etc. Bring books to relax with, journals to record your moments of serenity, binoculars to watch the pod of 50+ dolphins swim by each morning, and cameras to capture incredible photos for memory's sake.

We visited Treebones just after a weekend storm. The Santa Lucia Mountains were covered in snow, but there was not a cloud in the sky and cold evenings quickly warmed up during the day. Yurting may provide the harshest (and coldest if you don't have a gas fireplace) sleeping conditions I am willing to tolerate, but Treebones rejuvenates the spirit a thousand times faster than any fancy, high-end resort. I truly miss my yurt.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank schienni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

Wow. It's hard for me to explain how much I love this place. I've been to Costanoa (near San Fran) and was so disappointed in the amenities and lodging, I was a little hesitant to try something similar. I had nothing to worry about.

From the moment we arrived, the lodge itself was instantly comforting. The staff was all smiles and so helpful with information. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the resort that night of grilled chicken and tri-tip with some wine we had brought along, over a game of Scrabble. Highly recommend eating here at least once during your trip.

The yurt (we were in #15) was so much more than I ever expected. A great porch with a full ocean view, tucked away yet a close walk to the bathroom (a nice bonus). The bed was wonderful, with extremely comfortable linens and a gas fireplace that kept the room toasty and warm.

Both nights, we enjoyed a dip in the heated pool and hot tub (which were perfect even in the chilly January early evening) and the peace and quiet under the stars was truly comfort food for the soul (their words, I'm not that poetic). We came for my boyfriend's 30th and it couldn't have been more special. I can't recommend Treebones enough. I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jumrungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing